We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ballston
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A mixed review”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because of its close proximity to the hospital where my husband was having surgery early the next morning. We were able to get the "hospital preferred" rate which was nearly 1/2 of the cost of our "Senior Discount" rate online.

The best thing they have going for this property is incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff at the front desk. The next best things are that the room and bathroom were quite clean, and our room surprisingly had a mini-frig and microwave.

However, this is an older property and really needs some TLC. The lobby is flat out ugly. The TV reception on the older model (not flat screen) TV was so bad that we could not even see the major network channels. And the AC/heat unit didn't work well at all and was quite noisy when it did work. The walls in this hotel are thinner than in a lot of hotels we've stayed in, so consequently we heard a good bit of noise from other rooms.

Be sure to request an interior room (facing the courtyard-parking) because this hotel is at a very busy intersection, and the street noise would be something to contend with. It has immediate access to I-66, and is within walking distance of a number of eateries.

So for the purpose it served, it was fine at the "hospital rate", but I would have not been pleased at all had I paid the higher rate. The staff made the stay much better, and the convenience and location served our purposes perfectly. Hopefully the owners will upgrade this property so that it really "shines"!

Room Tip: Request an interior room that faces the courtyard/parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your coments. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our product and services. We will share your kind comments with our front desk staff. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    188
    67
    22
    17
See reviews for
193
66
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days the first week in October, 2012. We were very pleased with our stay. Our room was spacious and very clean. The continental breakfast had a nice variety of food to choose from and the food staff was pleasant and courteous. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly (especially Abdul), he helped us by recommending and making the arrangements with a limo service to the airport. The service was first rate and the driver was also first rate. Thank you all for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libby p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at this property for a Washington DC sightseeing trip. At check in, which was prompt and efficient, the desk clerk gave me a map, info on the Metro, which is a 15 minute walk and lots of his recommendaitons. We thought the hotel was very convenient, the Metro was great and in Arlington near the Metro station there are a number of nice restaurants.

The hotel is clean but no frills. The lobby is sparse, the rooms are clean but not elegant and the breakfast is typical Comfort Inn--continental breakfast with one or two hot items. Fine for us, and met our expectations.

The best part about this hotel is that it is an excellent value for the area and they have free parking, either underground in a lot or outside in a courtyard setting, I was told it is the only hotel in Arlington that offers free parking, which was a huge plus for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The front desk staff was so helpful and kind, but the amenities and the continental breakfast were awful. I personally found that the location was inconvienent. They offer shuttle services in one direction, however that is of no help when you are trying to get back to your hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We apologize we did not meet your expectations. These are not typical comments of our hotel. Please be assured we are using your feedback constructively. Your business is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance when visiting our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed twice at this hotel within the past year. The rooms are always comfortable and the staff is friendly. The breakfast was great. Highly recommend. Great location to visit my son at Marymount University.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your continued patronage. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here from August 24th to 28th.I choose this hotel after reading previous reviews. This is a very clean and simple hotel yet awesome customer service, FREE parking, breakfast and shuttle to the Metro station! I stayed with my folks, 4 people in a doubles , felt pretty comfortable, fridge and Microwave were a plus. I slept quitely. We walked around until late hours and never felt insecure. This hotel is about 10min walk from Ballston Metro (orange station) and about 25min from DC. Very easy to access from 66 and I-95.Lots of average places to eat around. I really recomend and would stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. Providing our guests with unmatched service and value is our goal. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarija, Bolivia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

In my personal opinion is a first class hotel, the service is excellent, people are always willing to help in any way. service quality is impressive. breakfast is very good because it has variety of foods to servirce. I love the location of the hotel that is near to Ballston mall and ballston metro station. is a quiet neighborhood, I would recommend this to anyone who can get to Washington to visit or business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omayra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#32 of 51 in Arlington
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#13 of 51 in Arlington
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
2.3 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 51 in Arlington
887 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Property: Comfort Inn Ballston
Address: 1211 N Glebe Rd, Arlington, VA 22201-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing