We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near I-66 and 4 blocks from Metro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ballston
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near I-66 and 4 blocks from Metro”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I came here on business driving a school group that was touring Washington DC. The Metro stop is only a few blocks from the hotel which is very nice.
Group Travel Planners, beware this hotel has a parking lot inside of a courtyard setting and you have to go underneath a 9 ft 6 in clearance. Therefore it is not a bus friendly property for mini buses and motor coaches. Largest van you can bring in is a 15 passenger van or a high top Sprinter van at best. The management was nice enough to let me park at another sister property of theirs that had room for my bus. Their shuttle drivers were nice enough to ferry me back and forth to and from my bus.
A few things I was disapointed about this property was that the TV had no HBO and Weather Channel on the channel line up, bummer. Chair in room lacked an ottoman and microwave and fridge did not have an adequate power supply. I would have to unplug fridge to microwave a tv dinner.
Plus side of the room was that there was a heat lamp in the bathroom and the A/ C unit was nice and quiet.
Comp breakfast was the same sausage and eggs daily. How about some variety? The milk is in small school milk containers, YAY! They also have a waffle iron and standard fare buffet such as cerials and rolls and apples and bananas.
Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, get a room facing the courtyard parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    192
    69
    23
    17
See reviews for
200
67
24
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel has friendly and attentive staff. The rooms are spacious and clean and have a refrigerator and micro-wave. The breakfast is excellent and very filling! It is within walking distance of the metro and is literally a few yards away from the highway! It also has a food court/shopping area within walking distance. I have stayed here a few times on a DC field trip with my students and will continue going back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

If you want good value for your money, stay here. The Comfort Inn Ballston is clean, nicely decorated, conveniently located--close to D.C.. Definitely stay here if you come to D.C. with a car and want the flexibility of car and public transportation.

We found the rooms up-to-date, nicely decorated, and roomy. We chose rooms facing the courtyard, which means a quieter room. There's plenty of free parking. Loading and unloading the car is easy as parking is near the elevator. Access to I66 is immediate. On the weekend, D.C. is a 15 minute drive, which means downtown is nearby. Remember: D.C. is a big city with traffic jams; your driving time may be different.

We did not use the Metro, but the nearest stop is a 10-minute walk. The staff was most willing to drive us to the Metro if we wanted.

There are nearby restaurants, such as the Melting Pot, which means guests can find dinner: the hotel offers no lunch or dinner. The hotel does offer a hot breakfast, which is the standard Choice chain breakfast. It's good.

The weekend prices are great. The hotel scales prices so peak business rates, Mon to Thu, are 20-40% higher. We're retirees so we moved to a lower priced Choice Inn: Culpepper, VA

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyG627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Have stayed at Comfort In Ballston a few times this spring. Clean rooms, convenient location and great staff. Edwin was terrific in assisting us-we were in town due to a relative's illness and he was very accomodating with any requests we had/directions,etc. The breakfast is also nice with both hot and cold selections. I recommend the Comfort Inn Ballston to anyone staying in the Arlington area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. Our goal is to provide the best value in the DC area and the best service, and it looks like for your stay we met that goal. We appreciate your business and we will be sure to share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have been meaning to write a review for the Comfort Inn Ballston for some time now and having spent over two months of my life staying here over the last decade, I feel as if I am pretty qualified to write this review. Here it goes:
I annually take a student group to Washington DC for a class assignment and every year we have used the Comfort Inn Ballston as our home away from home. Although we don’t spend much non-sleeping time at the hotel, we are always on the move into DC, I have always found my stays there to be pleasant with few issues. The location is safe and convenient to the Ballston METRO station and there are numerous places to eat and shop within walking distance. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is quiet.
The Comfort Inn Ballston staff has always been friendly to us and will work to correct any problems that may arise. One big positive for me is that they have been stable with their management team over the years. Victor always took great care of our group from the scheduling to the checkout. The new manager, Min, has picked up where Victor left off.
It would be difficult to spend as much time as I have in any one hotel and not have had the occasional problem. Although, I can tell you that the problems we have had were minor and they are outweighed by the helpfulness of the hotel management and staff. There have been occasions where they went above and beyond to help us out, such as the year when our flight was cancelled due to an ice storm and we had to stay two additional days. They saved us from a couple of nights sleeping in the airport. So while this place is not perfect, I trust it and I always know what I am getting for my money.
If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star place with upscale amenities and a spa atmosphere, this is not your place. I can say that it needs a little updating of the TV’s and the décor is not all shiny and new. However, if you are looking for a basic hotel in a convenient location, a safe neighborhood, clean rooms, and friendly management and staff then the Comfort Inn Ballston has what you are looking for. See you next year Comfort Inn!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dab88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe, michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were quite pleased with our 2 nights. The rooms are spacious and included a microwave, mini-fridge and safe plus all the usual. I needed help with three little personal chores and the staff was terrific. Great breakfast offering including make your own waffles, eggs and sausage, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt and more. Nice location close to all the restaurants and metro and right by the exit from 66. Parking space provided (a big plus over other more expensive hotels in the same neighborhood). All the employees were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonroeJabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed one night on business. The room was unexpectedly spacious. The bathroom was partially updated but still a bit dingy, with a rusty light fixture and door hinges, and a loose shower curtain rod.

There was some noise from the nearby freeway and adjoining rooms, but it was tolerable.

The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the hot water plentiful. Hallways were bright and clean.

Breakfast was basic but fine.

I guess it is a good value for the DC area at $200/night. It's not too far from the Metro stop, but a a bit of a long hike with luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our product and services. We apologize parts of your stay were not as expected but we are pleased you found our hotel to be clean and a good value. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
2.3 mi away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#32 of 51 in Arlington
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
0.4 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#12 of 51 in Arlington
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Property: Comfort Inn Ballston
Address: 1211 N Glebe Rd, Arlington, VA 22201-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing