We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Value/Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ballston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ballston
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value/Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Have stayed at Comfort In Ballston a few times this spring. Clean rooms, convenient location and great staff. Edwin was terrific in assisting us-we were in town due to a relative's illness and he was very accomodating with any requests we had/directions,etc. The breakfast is also nice with both hot and cold selections. I recommend the Comfort Inn Ballston to anyone staying in the Arlington area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. Our goal is to provide the best value in the DC area and the best service, and it looks like for your stay we met that goal. We appreciate your business and we will be sure to share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    161
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
165
53
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have been meaning to write a review for the Comfort Inn Ballston for some time now and having spent over two months of my life staying here over the last decade, I feel as if I am pretty qualified to write this review. Here it goes:
I annually take a student group to Washington DC for a class assignment and every year we have used the Comfort Inn Ballston as our home away from home. Although we don’t spend much non-sleeping time at the hotel, we are always on the move into DC, I have always found my stays there to be pleasant with few issues. The location is safe and convenient to the Ballston METRO station and there are numerous places to eat and shop within walking distance. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is quiet.
The Comfort Inn Ballston staff has always been friendly to us and will work to correct any problems that may arise. One big positive for me is that they have been stable with their management team over the years. Victor always took great care of our group from the scheduling to the checkout. The new manager, Min, has picked up where Victor left off.
It would be difficult to spend as much time as I have in any one hotel and not have had the occasional problem. Although, I can tell you that the problems we have had were minor and they are outweighed by the helpfulness of the hotel management and staff. There have been occasions where they went above and beyond to help us out, such as the year when our flight was cancelled due to an ice storm and we had to stay two additional days. They saved us from a couple of nights sleeping in the airport. So while this place is not perfect, I trust it and I always know what I am getting for my money.
If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star place with upscale amenities and a spa atmosphere, this is not your place. I can say that it needs a little updating of the TV’s and the décor is not all shiny and new. However, if you are looking for a basic hotel in a convenient location, a safe neighborhood, clean rooms, and friendly management and staff then the Comfort Inn Ballston has what you are looking for. See you next year Comfort Inn!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dab88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe, michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were quite pleased with our 2 nights. The rooms are spacious and included a microwave, mini-fridge and safe plus all the usual. I needed help with three little personal chores and the staff was terrific. Great breakfast offering including make your own waffles, eggs and sausage, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt and more. Nice location close to all the restaurants and metro and right by the exit from 66. Parking space provided (a big plus over other more expensive hotels in the same neighborhood). All the employees were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonroeJabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
344 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed one night on business. The room was unexpectedly spacious. The bathroom was partially updated but still a bit dingy, with a rusty light fixture and door hinges, and a loose shower curtain rod.

There was some noise from the nearby freeway and adjoining rooms, but it was tolerable.

The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the hot water plentiful. Hallways were bright and clean.

Breakfast was basic but fine.

I guess it is a good value for the DC area at $200/night. It's not too far from the Metro stop, but a a bit of a long hike with luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our product and services. We apologize parts of your stay were not as expected but we are pleased you found our hotel to be clean and a good value. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhiem, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Comfort Inn in Ballston, VA is certainly worth more than the two star rating that certain companies have put in their tour guides. The hotel is clean, friendly and just several blocks away from the Metro station. Edwin, at the front desk, does an excellent job in satisfying customer requests and is quite knowledgeable , efficient and polite. Abdul, the manager, takes pride in the hotel and works to meet customer requests also.
The Comfort Inn in Ballston competes with four star hotels in service, cleanliness and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KindnessWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Although I have stayed at this hotel in previous years, my most recent stay over this past Easter 2012 weekend reinforced my highly favorable opinion of it. In particular, the helpfulness of the smiling, gracious reception desk staff as well as that of the breakfast room staff caught my pleased attention. My courtyard-view room was remarkably comfortable and quiet. Once again, I would certainly recommend this hotel for visitors to this area.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a courtyard-view room to avoid outside street traffic noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel again for your stays into DC area, we sincerely appreciate your business. We are pleased you found the stay comfortable and the staff friendly, that is our goal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years and it seems to keep getting better. The rooms are more than adequate with comfortable bedding and pillows. Housekeeping service does a nice job of keeping the rooms clean and well stocked. As others have said, the outside of the hotel isn't a whole lot to look at but the service is what keeps me coming back. The breakfast is very well done for a free continental breakfast and offers many options. The front desk staff were among the most helpful of any hotel I've stayed at. The staff went above and beyond to help our group's stay to be convenient for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pe2te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We will let our front desk staff know about your kind comments. Our hotel is a great value as you mentioned and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#27 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
1.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arlington Court Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Pentagon City
Comfort Inn Pentagon City
#41 of 49 in Arlington
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#10 of 16 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Property: Comfort Inn Ballston
Address: 1211 N Glebe Rd, Arlington, VA 22201-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing