We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, good rooms, nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value, good rooms, nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I really did get a reasonable deal on my room and DC area is a very pricey market. The room was spacious and clean, bathroom was spacious and clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff was very helpful. The wi-fi worked well and they had a nice TV with an adequate cable service. The exercise room was very good and the swimming pool was adequate to entertain kids. The hotel does provide a free shuttle to the airport and to the Metro and the DC Metro is outstanding! The walk to the Metro from the hotel is another option if you like to walk, but the brutal heat and humidity of DC is something to consider. Crystal City does feature an extensive underground mall, but this hotel is 3-4 blocks away from the edge of the underground mall. The one main concern is the price of everything else at the hotel. The cafe/restaurant charged $4 for a water bottle. There is a CVS pharmacy a couple of blocks up Jefferson Davis Highway and the hotel room did come with a refrigerator.

Room Tip: The lower floors didn't have much of a view, perhaps the higher floors have a nice view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle_SD_308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. As you noted, our hotel is a convient location near Washington's Reagan National Airport (DCA), the Crystal City Metro Station (subway), restaurants and shopping. The staff is available to assist with your qustions on local attractions, transportation and dinning options. Please visit us on your next trip to the national capital area!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    183
    92
    38
    19
See reviews for
93
62
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I found this hotel to be a great place for me to stay. The grounds and inside decor of it are well done. I was treated very well by every member of the staff I came in contact with. My room was clean, comfortable, and well kept. I ate at the Bistro, at least once most days, and found the food to be surprisingly good. I don't have any complaints. Not even the reconstruction of the front entrance driveway while I was there. A member of the staff was near the door to direct guests around the work area. All-in-all, a very nice stay indeed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Great news! The driveway construction is well behind us and we have a fresh new arrival experience awaiting you on your next visit to the DC area. Check us out on Marriott's website for all sorts of details about our hotel porduct, services and the local area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the beginning: got to DC too late for airport shuttle, which stops at 11:00 (no exceptions, even when you get there at 11:02 and a holiday week) so had to keep our car overnight @ $22 per night parking (was charged for both nights, but after complaining one was credited back). If you are looking for a place with a pool, be aware the pool is only open from 4:00pm until 10:00 on weekdays. FOR REAL! It was 4th the 4th of July! This wasn't a business crowd! Needless to say, we paid for a pool we didn't get to use. If you enjoy "bothering" front desk staff who are busy on their phone and paying $5 for cereal in the morning that you need to trek to the lobby and stand in line for 45 minutes to get then this place is for you. Would have given it one star but the room was nice and it was clean. (although it was noisy even though we were in a corner room). Would have been nice to know about the subway station shuttle while we were actually staying there.

Room Tip: Bring your own cereal and milk (there's a frig in room but no microwave). The corner room was pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnMom55433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am so sorry that you had a poor experience at the hotel of the recent holiday weekend. I would be more than happy to address your concerns directly if you wish to contact me at the hotel. Our main phone number is 703 549 3434. For full information on our hotel, our product options, hours of service and amenities, please visit our hotel website at either www.courtyardcrystalcity.com or www.marriott.com/wasct.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here while site seeing in DC. Airport shuttle from Reagan Airport started things off right. Quick check-in, staff was friendly and helpful. Was very hot so shuttle ride to Metro was a plus (both shuttles were free and ran about every 15 minutes). Room was comfortable and clean - free wifi :-) and small refrigerator in room came in handy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StillLearning261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear StillLearning261-

Thank you for staying with us at Courtyard Crystal City and completing a review of the hotel. It sounds like you found the hotel services and product perfect for your visit to the DC area. Our Aiport shuttle and METRO shuttle are great for visitors wanting easy access to the airport and all that the area has to offer.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Overall I enjoyed my stay here between June 29 and July 5th. The rooms were clean and in good shape with a wonderful maid on the 4th floor. The only thing I found annoying with the room was the amount of noise coming in from the hall, the door was not insulated well and had a large gap underneath.

The shuttle that runs to the metro is great to have after spending the day walking around DC and you have sore feet. It doesn't hold many people so there were multiple times where people had to wait another 20 minutes or walk. I had thought about using the Hyatts shuttle which is much bigger and goes right across the street but never did. Or they have the city share bikes with stations close to the metro and the hotel with many others sprinkled around Crystal City.

I wouldn't say the service was bad, but it definitely was not great. The staff seemed overworked and just not into the job. I asked for another luggage rack for our room and was told by one gentleman they could only provide one per room, that to me is a bit ridiculous. The next day I asked another person and they provided us with one.

Overall I would stay here again because of the value and the location to DC and restaurants in Crystal City.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Dale427-

Thank you staying at Courtyard Crystal City and for completing a review. I am sorry that the first person you spoke with about the luggage rack did not immediately provide you one as requested. We have them available and it should not have been an issue to get one for you. We are in the process of updating our van service, so your comments about the size of the van are important for us to consider.

Thanks again for staying and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband, son and I Just returned from a 6 day stay
Upon arriving at DCA, we waited for the free shuttle to take us to the hotel
Tip 1: shuttles come every 20 minutes and there are 2 Marriott Loops. They will pick you up outside baggage claim At the Hotel Shuttle stops. Make sure you state Courtyard Crystal City and take the South Loop shuttle.

Check in did take a while. There were 3 other guests in front if us with only 1 desk person answering phones and checking in. It was a slow process but the service was friendly And courteous.

Our room: clean perfect for the three if us. We were on the 11th floor and only heard people in the hallways with no street noise

Business center convenient for printing information Came in handy with printing tickets and reservation confirmations to us Capitol etc

Shuttle:
Departs on the 5s 25s and 45s of the hour to the Metro Station at Crystal City
This was very convenient for us.
Tip 2: the Metro is about a 15 minute walk. The last pick up from Metro back to the Hotel is between 1045pm and 1055pm.

We ended up walking twice from the Metro back to the hotel. The area is safe but not much activity. I probably wouldn't walk it alone late at night. We did catch a cab another time which cost the three of us $8

Eats:
There's a cafe directly across the street from the hotel with Asian fast food, sandwiches and drinks Also at the Renaissance there is a nice
espresso bar. a short walk from the hotel are some restaurants
as well Hotel does have a Bistro with coffee and food as well

The Metro
There is A Rite Aide so you can get some water and snacks to bring back to the room
Dunkin Donuts, Subway, Bubble Tea , ice cream shops. Great way to grab a bite before touring DC.

Tip: fare on the Metro.
Living in Chicago and having traveled to New York, we figured we can get a 1 day pass for $14and share it amongst the 3 of us. Well you can't share cards. Each person must have their own card You swipe your card at the entry point and when you exit you swipe your card again which then calculates the fare and charges your card the respective dollar amount from entry to exit. We wasted about 30 minutes trying to figure out the types of fare card we needed The metro staff is helpful but I suggest reading and learning a bit about the different fare cards. Other then this, The metro is a really easy way to get thru the city and sites.

Since our flight was not until the evening we did leave our luggage with the front desk and did not have any issues We took advantage of the day to see a few more museums. Upon our return to the hotel we retrieved our luggage, again we had to wait in a line 3 deep, because there was only 1 person at the desk. just used the public restrooms on the first floor to freshen up and change for our flight home.

Overall good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mygaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear mygaby-

Thank you for staying a completing a review of the hotel. You did a great job of creating a picture of your stay with some great helpful hints about traveling and staying in the DC area.

Thanks again! Save Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Let's get the bad out of the way first. Some reviews complained about the hotel shuttle. It is kind of beat up looking, but certainly not a big deal. Super convenient constant shuttle to Crystal City Metro station. Their airport shuttle is much nicer. Both are free and run continually. Except for one not so nice West Indian clerk , who gave my daughter a hard time checking in for us (although I specified that arrangement on Booking.com and confirmed in advance with the hotel), and one other clerk who seemed ticked at having to adjust for an improper charge, the rest of the staff were very courteous and pleasant reflecting good training. While the a/c was a bit noisy, it was like "white noise" and not an issue. I found the windows were well soundproofed. I never heard a vehicle outside as other reviewers complained of. Our room type request was honored, and adding a total of $10.00/day for breakfast for 2 plus a kid's breakfast was a great deal.
The room rate was reasonable and the location just 5 minutes from the airport was perfect for an early morning flight. One of the few hotels there that guaranteed 2 double beds. All in all, I think that a 3 1/2 star rating is correct.

Room Tip: Higher floor, away from elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xflatbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear xflatbush-

You are correct about the condition of the shuttle. We are in the process of sourcing an new vehicle, so on your next visit, this should not be an issue. I have shared your comments with the front desk staff, so that they are aware of the poor impression they left on you and your daughter. I'm glad you and the family were able to enjoy the breakfast package as part of your room. While not all of our rates include breakfast, be sure to check, especially on weekends for a breakfast included rate.

Thanks again for staying and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport

Property: Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
Address: 2899 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
#30 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Arlington, VA the Courtyard Reagan National Airport Hotel offers ideal accommodations for vacations and business trips alike. This hotel in Crystal City is only half a mile away from DCA Airport and with complimentary shuttle service to the Crystal City Metro Rail Station, the tourist attractions in and around Washington, DC are at guests' fingertips. The hotel is also just minutes to area businesses and government agencies, including the Pentagon, PBS, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and IBM. Amenities at this Crystal City, VA hotel include a redesigned lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The Bistro provides enhanced food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy comfortable accommodations with flat screen TVs and luxurious Marriott bedding. Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Arlington Crystal City Reagan Airport (DCA) Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Arlington Marriott
Arlington Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing