We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
142
207
100
40
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
207
100
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstypical courtyardcrystal cityfront deskmarriott courtyardmetro stationshuttle serviceshuttle vanworkout roomfree shuttlesmall fridgeother hotels in the areabusiness tripone night staydefinitely stay here againbusiness hotelnational airportroom was clean and comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 511 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a 2 night business trip. Besides for the high parking prices, the hotel is a good value. Nice lobby and standard room. Hotel staff were nice and on site market had all the basics. I am sure that the Hyatt next door is better but much more money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear EK08904-

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us at Courtyard Crystal City and your kind comments about your service from the staff. We work hard to ensure to live up to our guest expectations and exibit the hospitality Marriott is know for worldwide. You are correct, parking is expensive in the area. At $22 per night, we continue to be a better value on parking than other local hotels and public garages.

Best regards,

Philip Smith, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First of all, if you are looking for a place to stay overnight while waiting for a flight at Reagan National, look no further. This place is an 'outstanding 5" in terms of what you need for that: convenient shuttle bus to and from the airport (with an incredibly short route to the airport), very helpful and courteous staff, inviting lobby where you can grab a drink at the bar and watch one of the many TV's in the setting of your choice, snack bar and Starbucks coffee if the complimentary coffee is not to your liking. Plus, you can get your boarding pass printed in the lobby kiosk. Very efficient, very civilized.

On the other hand, if you are looking for a place to stay for a few days while either touring DC or doing some business, this place is a definite 3. Why? Well, its far from the metro (15 minute walk through some very windy, chilly, isolated sidewalks, or you can wait for the same shuttle bus that covers the airport) to come by every 30 minutes or so - until 11 PM at night. Its far from any other place to eat aside from the snack bar in the lobby, and you have to go trudge through those same windy chilly isolated sidewalks to get to any of them. When people try to find your hotel, you suddenly realize that there are 4 Mariott's all within about a mile of each other and since its hard to see which is which from street level your business associates have a 75% chance of winding up at the wrong hotel.

About a mile away from this hotel is the Pentagon Mills shopping center, which has two restaurants, shops, and 16 movie screens that would help with the isolation. However, the shuttle service does not go there. And we waited 45 minutes for a cab (definitely not the staff's fault, they were desperately trying to get us one - it seems like cabs just don't stop or prowl through this particular Courtyard) before finally being able to get one. You should be able to walk a mile, but I wouldn't recommend that at night through the isolated, dark, undeveloped area between the hotel and the mall. Summer and daylight may make this trek a bit more pleasant, but until then itss a dicey proposition.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear howho-

Thank you for your review of Courtyard by Marriott, Crystal City. As you noted in the review, we are conveniently located near Washington Reagan National Airport, but not close enough to be distubed by the noise of airport operations. Thank you for commenting on your experiences at the hotel including our facilties and service.
One note of correction. We do have a seperate shuttle system for the airport and for local destinations such as the METRO stop and offices or restaurants. Both shuttles leave the hotel every 20 minutes during operation hours to go to their respective destinations. We understand that waiting at the airport or METRO station is not part of a relaxing experience, so we want to bring you back to the hotel as quickly as possible so that you can enjoy the balance of your day.

Best regards,

Philip Smith, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here during the Presidential Inauguration. The rooms were clean and neat. The lounge is recently renovated and is nice. The hotel is close to the airport. There is a free shuttle to and from the airport as well as one to and from the Metro station. There are a pretty good selection of restaurants in the immediate area if you are up for a walk. The hotel shuttle will drop you off at the resturants which was a nice service as well.

In regards to housekeeping.... HORRIBLE!. We left our room at 4am and returned that day at 5PM and our room had NOT been cleaned. The housekeeping service asked us to step out for 10 minutes while she cleaned the room. After being gone all day, the last thing we wanted to do was wait on housekeeping to do their job. She replaced towels in the bathroom, did not replenish the toilet paper and left a set of sheets for us "if we wanted to change the sheet", really?

1st shuttle to airport is at 5:05, not very timely. Coffee was not ready and available in the lobby in the morning while waiting on the 1st shuttle.
In regards to the shuttle and waiting, close hotels include the Hyatt and Renaissance, so whichever shuttle came first, we got on it and walked across the street to our hotel.

Hotel front desk staff is exceptionally nice. They always had smiles and always offered assistance. If they can work on the auxiliary staff, things would be great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsBLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear MsBLC-

Thank your for choosing Couryard by Marriott, Crystal City for your exciting trip to DC for the recent Presidential Inauguration. It was an exciting and busy time for the hotel and the city. I am sorry that the housekeeping team had not finished your room when you returned to the hotel. The staff was working until 5:30 that day cleaning guest rooms. It appears the housekeeper reached your room at the end of her shift. Sheets are not changed automatically every day during a guest stay. They are changed if they are soiled or if a guest has used them 3 nights and prior to arrival of our next guest.
I will speak with our shuttle drivers to understand why they were not prompt for the 5:05AM shuttle run. We make every attempt to stay on schedule with the shuttles as it is extremely important to get our guest to the airport in time for thier flight check in process.

Best regards,

Philip Smith, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The staff here are very kind.... The lobby is very nice and looks newly updated.
Quite a tease from the actual sleeping quarters...
As I sit here on the bed in my room I felt inclined to write this review.
My hip hurts just sitting on this sloping to the left bed... I can't wait to see how I feel in the morning... If I'm even able to sleep...
Bed is obviously very old, soft and has been slept on a few hundred thousand times...
There's a sheet, and then a flat what probably used to be a down comforter but no longer has fluff thing- wrapped in a sheet....
Where's the comforter!?!?
I'm shocked at the filth on the maroon chair in here thats gotta be from 1981... I wouldn't even set my dirty socks on that thing....
Bathroom's alright, however the "cream" bathroom door is full of filth, and even some noticeable bloody buggers someone left behind...
I mean, come on Marriott... For $219 a night, I'm sure you can clean up a little better than this...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ames3778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Ames3778-

Thank you for sharing your concerns about your guest room during your stay. I am disappointed to learn that your room was not up to our cleanliness standards. I have shared your concerns with the housekeeping manager so that he can work with his staff to correct the cleanliness issues you noted and to inspect the comforter in the room to make sure it was up to our Courtyard brand specifications. Please feel free to contact me directly at 703 842-2100 or philip.smith@marriott.com if I can be of additional assistance.

Best regards,

Philip Smith, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Reasonable place to stay, NOT close to Metro about 15 miutes brisk walk. pay for most everything, no lounge for frequent travelers, decent rooms, good front end service, clean. This is close to DCA and every twenty shuttle will get you to and fro, an every twenty shuttle to Metro is available too, not close to many of the Crystal City restaurants so dont really expect to easily walk to Legla, Ruth's McCormicks, BW3 or any of those.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWASCT, General Manager at Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Hobietim-

Thank your for your feedback on the hotel and your recent stay. I think you summerized our property very well. As you noted, we are a few blocks from the center of Crystal City's restaurants and METRO, but our shuttle drivers are always happyt to assist you with getting to the places you need to go during your stay.

Enjoy!

Philip Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews