We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility with unfriendly sub-par service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice facility with unfriendly sub-par service”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The hotel itself is very well kept with modern facilities and a nice trendy lounge/lobby area. Unfortunately, we had a negative experience due to the service of the staff.

- We reserved a room for 4 people (2 on a king bed, 2 on a pull-out sofa). On the first night, I called the desk to ask for extra blankets for the two of us on the sofa. I had earlier looked in the room for blankets; just two sheets were crumpled in a zipper bag in the closet (it was unclear if they were washed or not as there was a small black hair on on one). But after calling, no one brought anything to the room. When I called a second time (45 min. later), someone brought up 4 sheets and said there were no blankets in the entire hotel. The second night, the same thing happened. Though the front desk employee said he would try to locate blankets, they were never found (again I had to call a second time to receive anything--just sheets were finally brought to the room).

- Not enough towels were provided in the bathroom (just three large one when we clearly had four people in the room).

- We had to get to the Crystal City Metro station early on Sunday morning. On Saturday night we asked if the shuttle service would be available for Sunday morning. The clerk promised us that yes, just simply come down and they will do the run for us whenever we needed. On Sunday morning when we came down, we were informed that the Metro shuttle didn't start until 9:30 am and that the metro was not running then (in fact, it was running for a special event that day and opened at 5 am--the Cherry Blossom 10 mile run on April 3, 2011). After arguing and insisting that we were told differently and that we HAD to get to the metro station, the driver finally agreed (note that the station is less than a 5 minute drive away).

On checkout when I asked for directions to Arlington National Cemetery (just a 6 min. drive away), the employee did not know how to get there and could not locate a map for me. Finally, a second employee gave me directions after a few minutes of searching (a map was never found).

There was always a line at least two people deep when I went to the front desk. Though this isn't really a huge issue, after continuously going to the desk to ask for small things, it became a reoccurring issue.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiva1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    193
    94
    39
    19
See reviews for
99
65
56
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Crystal City.
The Hotel was very clean and like brand new (had a recent renovation, I think.)
The rooms were spacious and we really liked the large screen TV. The bed was very comfortable.
The location was a bit off the main path into DC, but their shuttle service was convenient. We walked it once to the Metro, and it wasn't a bad walk, but after walking a lot on the DC Mall, we definitely took advantage of the shuttle after our first day!
The service from the Front Desk was fantastic. They were friendly and helped us when we forgot some of our supplies at home free of charge.
The free Wireless Internet and the USA Today papers were a nice benefit.
Although the hotel itself was quiet, the outside noise (which can't be controlled) echoed off the buildings and caught us off-guard a little - it wasn't that big of a deal.
The Housekeeper was great! Our room looked fantastic each day we returned.

We will definitely stay here again! Great value and clean, comfortable stay.

We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crmav18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Stayed one night here (<12 hours) in transit as i had an early flight out of Regan airport. Booked off the Marriott website at $259 + taxes.

It's a standard Courtyard and, as others have noted, is undergoing renovations. My issue was that the internet in my room (#1328 - management if you are reading this) simply didn't work. I spent about 1/2 hour on the line to the support guys and they got it working briefly (by re-booting the access point) but as soon as I put the phone down it failed again. It is definitely localized to the room area as everything worked fine in the lobby. I ended up using my mobile bb dongle as another 1/2 on the phone to support was not something to relish.

I also felt the price was high. The only, repeat, only thing this hotel has going for it is the fact it's a 2 minute shuttle ride to Regan airport. The shuttle starts as 5:10am and that 1st shuttle was surprisingly busy.

So, on a value and a lack of internet basis, I've awarded 3 stars. There is nothing intrinsically wrong with the place but it wasn't a good experience for me that visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed at this Hotel because of its proximity to Reagan National (DCA). It is currently undergoing renovation to the first floor Lobby area so the "Lobby" is operating out of the second floor foyer. To gain admittance from the underground parking garage one must follow directions to the staff elevator and get off on the second floor. When explicit directions are provided there is no lockout on the elevator for going to the other floors. This permits access to all floors of the hotel from the garage - a security nightmare. For the 'inconvience' posed by the renovation, the $16 per night parking fee was waved. I'd rather have paid that for added security. According to the friendly and apologetic staff renovations to the lobby should be completed by mid-February. Until then consider other hotel options.

The room itself was clean and servicable yet is becoming somewhat dated. I would expect renovations to guest rooms will be next on the agenda.

Because the hotel restaurant is on the first floor (undergoing renovation) dining accomadations have been moved to conference rooms on the second floor. Breakfast was not included with my room fee and the cost was way too high and out of proportion to the food being served. Restaurants outside the Hotel are limited. Unless you can travel some distance you will be stuck with a fast food restaurant across the highway.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Omniscient1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Stanton, PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My wife and I received a complementary 3 night stay because this hotel donated rooms to the USO so families could visit service members during the holidays. We are so appreciative of this act of kindness. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are nice and spacious. The bedding is comfortable, and we slept really well in our quiet room. Parking in the underground garage is $16 per night which surprised us a bit. The Metro system is a bit of a hike but you can walk most of it indoors through the Crystal city shops. Their are some fun bars and eateries 3 blocks up, and a McDonalds one block away. The building itself is difficult to see from the street as it sits back 1/2 block from it's address street. We drove past it 4 times. We walked and used the Metro for all our daily outings and felt safe even after dark. Thank you Marriot!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomaskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

If you are a walker, this is a perfect place to stay. The Metro is .9 miles away and you are three stops away from the National Mall. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. There is even a complimentary shuttle to/from Reagan (DCA).
The bedding was very clean and I had an easier time sleeping away from home than I usually do.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I stayed here with my husband and mother-in-law in October 2010. The room was spacious and well-lit. The beds were comfortable, though another blanket would have been nice - they have (reasonably) chosen to not use comforters. The room was quiet, even though it faced construction across the street. The bathroom was also large, though it would have been nice to have a mirror in the main room as well. The staff was very accommodating, and the shuttle service to both the airport and metro saved a lot of time and expense. With this service, the cheaper price was definitely worth being further away from the Metro. The shuttle does stop running at 11pm, however. Parking upon arrival was a bit confusing, as they are not actually located on the main road.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport

Property: Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
Address: 2899 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
#30 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Arlington, VA the Courtyard Reagan National Airport Hotel offers ideal accommodations for vacations and business trips alike. This hotel in Crystal City is only half a mile away from DCA Airport and with complimentary shuttle service to the Crystal City Metro Rail Station, the tourist attractions in and around Washington, DC are at guests' fingertips. The hotel is also just minutes to area businesses and government agencies, including the Pentagon, PBS, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and IBM. Amenities at this Crystal City, VA hotel include a redesigned lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The Bistro provides enhanced food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy comfortable accommodations with flat screen TVs and luxurious Marriott bedding. Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Arlington Crystal City Reagan Airport (DCA) Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Arlington Marriott
Arlington Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing