We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

very nice desk service, excellent room service. located at 5 minutes on foot form Metro. Old hotel but very clean. Quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    606
    364
    131
    136
See reviews for
629
343
105
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,ON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel and it was worth the money we paid. We had two queen beds and the room was very close to the indoor pool, which was great for the kids. We had considered staying further out to save money and either drive or take the Metro to the Smithsonian, however, the cost to park and train tickets offset any savings in hotel.

Staying so close to Washington allowed us to park the car in the free parking lot and take the Metro to the Smithsonian. The walk to the station was about 7 minutes (uphill and in 101 degree heat...) and it's 5 stops to the Smithsonian. We have a train system in Toronto but nothing compared to the Metro in Washington, it was a great experience for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ON_mom_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

I am amazed that this place is so well rated. It does have a great location and free parking, but depending on when you stay the rate is to high. Summer rates are especially high. The service is only fair especially if anything has to be repaired. The older section has no elevator which is real inconveniant for second floor patrons. The tower rooms do not look much different than the older section rooms, so with a few modifications this could be a better value. The restaurant and breakfast is minimal at best. The pool area is an added plus and has a lifeguard which is great for kids. The staff is good, but I just get the feeling that this hotel/ motel management does not have to do a lot to make its customers happy. A two star hotel at most..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

The DC area has many hotels to choose from, and many are quite expensive. If you are watching your budget, but still want a clean and safe place to stay, this may be for you. There is no shuttle at this hotel, but they are more than willing to arrange taxis or give you any walking directions that you may need.

We stayed here on our recent family vacation to DC. It's an older hotel, which has had some updates done. It is not fancy, so don't expect that, but it is clean. We were thrilled with the housekeeping staff, the front desk staff and the pool lifeguards. Everyone was pleasant and more than willing to help. We did not park a car there, since we flew in and planned on using the metro. However, the whole area felt quite secure and safe.

The beds were comfortable, and other than occasional guest noise, a low flying airplane or a car alarm, it was very quiet. The A/C could have been a little better, but the DC temps were in the mid to high 90's while we were there, so I'm sure it was doing the best it could under the circumstances. We all slept fairly well while we were there.

The rooms are not very big, but since we were out sightseeing all day, it did not bother us at all. The indoor pool is wonderful and the pool house is clean. The lifeguards were friendly. My children really enjoyed swimming there.

The bathroom could've used a little updating, since some of the grout around the tub was looking old and stained, but the bathroom was quite clean. Our tub drained a little slowly, but that didn't bother us too much. I can deal with outdated items when a place is clean. I did like that there was a sink in the vanity area and also a sink in the bathroom with the toilet and tub/shower. That was a nice bonus!

It is very close to the Metro, and it is not a bad walk at all. It also is a safe walk! It is close to many restaurants. I recommend China Garden, Ruby Tuesdays and Baja Fresh if you want something close by. The Ledo's Pizza Place is right there and the pizza is good for the price, but don't expect much service.

There is also a nearby Safeway (about a 10 minute walk) and a CVS which carry grocery items. We utilized the microwave and refrigerator and made our breakfasts in the hotel room. There is always coffee and cold water by the front desk of the hotel.

We also walked to the Iwo Jima Memorial and to Arlington Cemetary from this hotel. Be prepared for quite a hike, if you decide to venture into Arlington Cemetary. However, it was nice to be so close to two major DC sightseeing areas.

We would definitely stay here again, if we return to DC.

Thank you Best Western for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

The hotel is located near Metro station, which makes it very convenient to explore the surrounding attractions without a car. Rooms had refrigerator, so we bought milk and stuff at the near Safeway store, and it helped to keep the trip under the budget. There are couple restaurants (Asian and Italian) near the Safeway store, which is open pretty late, so if you get hungry you can have a good meal there. Bathroom at the hotel was somewhat outdated, and we saw some ants in the room, so don't leave the food opened outside the fridge. But overall it was good choice for 5 night stay at DC.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iskorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Hotels in Washington DC can be notoriously expensive. This Best Western is in Rosslyn, VA - one metro stop from Foggy Bottom - and access to everything you want to see/do in DC without paying DC hotel prices which are similar to New York and London.

Hotel has the usual amenities you'll expect from a Best Western. I was impressed by the quality of the beds - nice and firm, soft enough sheets - but the pillows are too thick, and feel "plasticky." They also have flat screen TV's and free wifi. Bathroom towels nice and soft too. The staff are all very friendly and polite. There's a pool and a pizza restaurant on site. Computer next to front desk is great for printing out boarding passes. One small complaint I have is about the AC unit - it's very noisy and doesn't do a great job cooling the room.

Rosslyn isn't much to look at - being filled with buildings and condos. And there are only a few local restaurants. But this hotel is only about an 8 minute walk from the Rosslyn Metro station which makes it very convenient to DC. Also - a big plus - the 5A metro bus direct to Dulles International Airport (IAD) is at the Rosslyn Metro station. You could easily fly into IAD - take this bus to Rosslyn - and do DC without ever having to rent a car.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We were very pleased with this hotel. It's not a new property, but it was clean and well maintained. We were at the end of the hall and our room was very quiet. They provide free underground parking with elevator access to your parking level. It's an 8 minute walk to the Metro and the hotel is located in a part of the city where we felt safe walking after dark.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfrdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.1 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#9 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
#31 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Property: BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Address: 1501 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing