We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Reviewed June 2, 2010

The hotel is located near Metro station, which makes it very convenient to explore the surrounding attractions without a car. Rooms had refrigerator, so we bought milk and stuff at the near Safeway store, and it helped to keep the trip under the budget. There are couple restaurants (Asian and Italian) near the Safeway store, which is open pretty late, so if you get hungry you can have a good meal there. Bathroom at the hotel was somewhat outdated, and we saw some ants in the room, so don't leave the food opened outside the fridge. But overall it was good choice for 5 night stay at DC.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iskorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2010

Hotels in Washington DC can be notoriously expensive. This Best Western is in Rosslyn, VA - one metro stop from Foggy Bottom - and access to everything you want to see/do in DC without paying DC hotel prices which are similar to New York and London.

Hotel has the usual amenities you'll expect from a Best Western. I was impressed by the quality of the beds - nice and firm, soft enough sheets - but the pillows are too thick, and feel "plasticky." They also have flat screen TV's and free wifi. Bathroom towels nice and soft too. The staff are all very friendly and polite. There's a pool and a pizza restaurant on site. Computer next to front desk is great for printing out boarding passes. One small complaint I have is about the AC unit - it's very noisy and doesn't do a great job cooling the room.

Rosslyn isn't much to look at - being filled with buildings and condos. And there are only a few local restaurants. But this hotel is only about an 8 minute walk from the Rosslyn Metro station which makes it very convenient to DC. Also - a big plus - the 5A metro bus direct to Dulles International Airport (IAD) is at the Rosslyn Metro station. You could easily fly into IAD - take this bus to Rosslyn - and do DC without ever having to rent a car.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We were very pleased with this hotel. It's not a new property, but it was clean and well maintained. We were at the end of the hall and our room was very quiet. They provide free underground parking with elevator access to your parking level. It's an 8 minute walk to the Metro and the hotel is located in a part of the city where we felt safe walking after dark.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfrdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This Best Western has recently been renovated and the rooms were lovely. I had a very comfortable sleep here. The desk staff were so helpful and gave me good advice as to how to get where I wanted. They printed maps from mapquest, offer tour information and just could not have been more helpful. Other dining options were nearby. I did take the hike up the hill to Wilson and enjoyed a Ray's Hell-Burger. If it is good enough the President it should be good enough for this Canadian girl... and it was!! Everything I needed was at this hotel and would recomment to other travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldeboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We just returned from a trip to Washington, DC to take our daughter to a medical specialist and this motel had been recommended to us, due to it's close proximity to Georgetown. We weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised to find a nice, clean room with all the amenities (microwave, refrigerator, TV, Wi-Fi internet) and the beds were extremely comfortable. Yes, there were some large groups there (church-related) and the kids could get a little loud, but they really didn't disturb us and we slept well. The front desk staff at the motel was extremely courteous and eager to please. The best part, to us, was that there was free parking right at our door and a few steps took us to a great little restaurant right in the motel complex called "Ledo's". They had good Italian cuisine as well as sub sandwiches and wonderful breakfasts. All-in-all, we had a great experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiagirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Traveling to the area on business, I have found the Best Western Iwo Jima to be clean quite and well run. There is airplane noise due to the flight pattern of DCA, but it is more the area than the hotel.

There are two parking areas, outside and a 3 level underground garage. As mentioned by others, the outdoor parking is tight and shared with the Ledo Restaurant. There is plenty of parking in the underground portion and parking is free.

There are rooms that open to the outside and there are rooms that have an interior hallway. I have found that the interior rooms are much quieter than the rooms that open to the outside.

Yes the Rosslyn area is hilly. Walking up Pierce St is a workout and I have found that walking towards the Rosslyn Metro station via Ft. Myers is much more gradual and for me about a 10 minute walk. I have found the area to be safe but there are panhandlers in the Wilson St area, but have not found them to be aggressive, just present.

The rooms are clean, roomy and using the heating units under the window easily controlled. Don't use the thermostats on the wall, they are not connected or are connected to older, noisy units.

Also all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking.

The Ledo restaurant is nothing special, and is convienent. However, when it gets close to closing time, they will only allow take-out. Ray's Hell Burgers is close and worth the walk.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ac804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed here while looking for apartments in the area. The hotel is clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and if you bring a car, the location is convenient too. If you're walking it's good to know that the nearest metro station is about 15 minutes away and the area is quite hilly. The main downside for this hotel is that it is right of the highway, and underneath the main take off/landing path of reagan national airport. We also heard a lot of noise from the parking courtyard

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalterZDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#11 of 52 in Arlington
955 reviews
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#32 of 52 in Arlington
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#42 of 52 in Arlington
370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 52 in Arlington
465 reviews
2.4 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#20 of 52 in Arlington
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3001 (Formerly Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $57 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes away from some of the United States’ most iconic historical sites, Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn/Iwo Jima is the best place to spend your next trip to Arlington, Virginia. Our 141 rooms are stocked with all the amenities and features needed for a relaxing stay, including an indoor swimming pool and high-speed wireless internet access. Those here on business can expect the thoughtful touches that make our Arlington hotel perfect for corporate travelers. Equipped with an on-site business center and meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 75 people, our Red Lion Hotel is the ideal venue for your corporate or social gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing