We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is not the newest or nicest property in the Best Western Family; however, it is a reasonably short walk from the Metro (about 5 blocks from the Rosslyn Station), and is priced very modestly as DC area properties go. It does not have complimentary breakfast, but has a restaurant across the parking lot that has good food and drink at modest price. I have stayed here a number of times for business. It is a convenient location. It offers free parking, but since it is on the Metro, a car is not necessary. It is not fancy nor pretentious, but I have found it quite adequate and acceptable. It is also a short walk away from the Iwo Jima Memorial.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

there was a couch out side our room that people would use as their phone booth and talk real loud .My wife had to get up and tell them to move on down the floor. Some people did not like it and they need to move that couch and just put a table there to keep people from sitting there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We found the hotel a good value for the money spent. It is not far from the Rosslyn Metro stop into downtown DC for all the museums and the national mall. The room was basic but clean. The washroom could use an upgrade. There are really no amenities to speak of with the exception of the pool which we did not have time to enjoy. The free parking was very nice though. It is very close to the Iwo Jima memorial you can walk there and only about 1.5km to the Arlington National cemetery.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The other reviewers are right about the location and price. Most Best Western's have breakfast, but this does not. It is a 5-8 min. walk to metro and as a solo female at night it's a bit daunting even thought the quiet neighborhood is good. In the summer, no problem. I brought some take out back to hotel so that I wouldn't have to walk at night. The pool is heated, but the door to the cold outdoors was open so the air was uncomfortably cold. I declined. There are only four machines in the fitness room and I did not see any weights. I'm familiar with equipment, but could not get levers and adjustments to work. The attendant is occupied at the busy front desk upstairs. Room was clean and comfy. Would stay again. Eleven mins. to airport after the walk and one stop to Foggy Bottom and two to White House area. Since there is no train switching, it is actually faster than staying in some parts of DC itself. Staff very nice. Dwight especially helpful. Inviting lobby. Try to get and interior corridor room. It is quieter and in cold weather, warmer.

Room Tip: Get an interior corridor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just back from Washington D.C., spent three nights in this hotel. The hotel is a mid- priced hotel, close to a metro station (ROSSLYN),which is about 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is well kept, free WI-FI and the staff are very friendly and helpful . The only thing missing in the hotel is breakfast in the morning which a lot of Best Western hotels offer. There is a restaurant next to the hotel ,Would consider staying in this hotel again if I was in Washington.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SOLOGURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just spent one night here while visiting Washington, D.C. My room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Hotel is reasonably priced and located very close- within walking distance- to major attractions in D.C. The only thing missing is a breakfast, which most hotels seem to provide these days. However, there is a restaurant right next door that has excellent food. Hotel has plenty of free parking- in the lot or in their garage. I will definitely return here next time I am in Washington D.C. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ChiefRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

During my stay at this location the wifi would only connect sporadically and was so slow that using it was nearly impossible. When I told the desk clerk this I was told, "Yeah it's like that sometimes." They were supposed to have someone check it, but there was no improvement after the second day so I just gave up on trying to use it. Also, a friend who was traveling for the same seminar as I was missed a connecting flight due to weather. He was told by the airline that he would be able to catch a later flight but was later told that it would be the next morning before he could get a flight into D.C. He called the hotel as soon as he found this out only to be told that he would be charged for the room even though he wasn't going to arrive until the next day. After he called and told me this I went and spoke to the desk clerk and was told that he was going to be charged for the room even though it wasn't his fault and he hadn't been told he would not be there until after the cancellation time. I stayed here in the past and the staff and hotel were much better. One bright point was Ledo's Pizza, GREAT Italian food and GREAT staff!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 52 in Arlington
374 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#18 of 52 in Arlington
1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#32 of 52 in Arlington
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
964 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 52 in Arlington
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3001 (Formerly Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $61 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes away from some of the United States’ most iconic historical sites, Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn/Iwo Jima is the best place to spend your next trip to Arlington, Virginia. Our 141 rooms are stocked with all the amenities and features needed for a relaxing stay, including an indoor swimming pool and high-speed wireless internet access. Those here on business can expect the thoughtful touches that make our Arlington hotel perfect for corporate travelers. Equipped with an on-site business center and meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 75 people, our Red Lion Hotel is the ideal venue for your corporate or social gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing