We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was not sure if I wanted to stay at this hotel because of some of the reviews that I read but since I really just needed a place to sleep while we spent the day sight seeing i thought I would take a chance. The location is good and it is about an easy 8 minute walk to the Metro. The neighborhood felt safe so even walking back to the hotel at night was not a worry. There really are not too many places to eat around the hotel. We only ate once at the restaurant at the hotel but the service was so slow (45 minutes to get toast and an egg) that we deiced to not eat there again. Instead we stayed on the Metro after out day in DC and got off at Clarendon Metro stain. Here there were plenty of eating options such as The Cheescake Factory and also there is a Whole Foods where we bought food for breakfast. There is also some nice shops to go shopping. Although the hotel does not have a shuttle it was only a $10.00 cab ride and well worth it. We were in DC for 5 days and bought a Smart Card and loaded it with the $35 7-day pass. Well worth it! It was nice to not have to worry about looking for change and they charge an extra $1 each time you but a paper ticket.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Maureen014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a great time in the Washington D. C. area. It was easy to get to all of the major attractions from the hotel. We found the direction sheets that were provided to us at check-in to be very helpful in navigating around the city. Our room was comfortable and clean. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The free parking was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Fred U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Iwo Jima Rosslyn is close to the main road, the Iwo Jima memorial and Arlington Cemetery, as well as Rosslyn station. Staff were generally helpful in providing information about shops, restaurants, transport etc.
The free wifi worked intermittently - but that was true of most hotels I stayed at, while travelling with a group of friends. However this hotel was considerably more expensive than we had been paying, and we had hoped for a bit of luxury. My room was above the restaurant and guest reception area, and the smell from smokers was overwhelming.
We stayed in a Best Western Hotel in Halifax which was luxurious, so this hotel was disappointing.
Not good value for money if comparing to similar hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from 'smoking' area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindyAussie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had wanted to visit the Smithsonian Museums in DC for some time. I learned from a friend about some cheap airfares and booked mine then set about accommodation. Having visited the US several times on business, I had an idea what to look for and also that the star system isn't absolute.

Well, anyway. The hotel is well located for the price. The trick to DC is the Metro system. Rosslyn Metro is about half a mile away, about 10-15 mins walk. I managed it with two suitcases so no biggie. Get a SmarTrip (like an Oyster) and you'll be sorted. Compared with the London Underground it's child's play.

My room was very clean, very comfortable bed, good TV. Amazing Wifi - the best I've known in a hotel, anywhere. Staff were always attentive, very helpful and (as is the American Way) polite, but not to the point of discomfort.

The attached Ledo restaurant was good. I ate a few breakfasts there; they were slightly more expensive than I expected but the staff were lovely and free coffee refills!

A couple cons: the fridge was noisy so I unplugged it and the treadmill in the gym was half-broken but I worked round it.

I don't know what more to add. It was perfect for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was not very clean outside never made it to the room since the hotel was over booked and priceline moved us to a way better hotel but this hotel felt they still had to charge me for the room good thing priceline is taking care of this for me stay away plenty of better hotels less then a mile away

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank tonycuevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We choose this hotel based on reviews, price and location. All turned out just to be fine.

The room is a bit outdated, but the beds are good and everything is clean. We booked a room with 2 separate beds. The hotel offers free parking which was great.

Breakfast isn't included, so we grabbed breakfast at Ledo Pizza which is located near the entrance to the hotel. They served good breakfast!

If you want to see the Iwo Jima memorial, it's a 10 minute walk. The Arlington Cemetary is about 20 minutes walking from the hotel. Offcourse you want to visit the National Mall; then I'd recommend taking the metro which will take you there in 10 minutes (the nearest metro station on the blue/orange line is Federal Triangle Metro, from there it's a 10 minutes walk to the Lincoln Memorial).

Overall; this is a good hotel. Nothing fancy, nothing bad.

Room Tip: Grab a pizza at Ledo's Pizza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EwoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My review rating is based on what the hotel was for us - a reasonably priced hotel with easy access to bike routes and metro to see sights around DC. We used bikes during our visit and it was perfect. 2 blocks, cross the bridge and you are at Iwo Jima Memorial and from there you can ride bike trails into and around DC. Hotel was older, but clean. Non-smoking, which is a plus for me (although the smoking area is right outside lobby where you have to walk through it at times - that is a poor choice by management and I said something to the desk guy who said it was above his pay grade). Walked around local area one night to eat and felt safe. Ate lunch at restaurant on the property and food/service was very good. All in all, it worked out well for our visit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank pla_orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.0 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#12 of 52 in Arlington
949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#42 of 52 in Arlington
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#31 of 52 in Arlington
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 52 in Arlington
369 reviews
2.4 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#20 of 52 in Arlington
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3001 (Formerly Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $61 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes away from some of the United States’ most iconic historical sites, Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn/Iwo Jima is the best place to spend your next trip to Arlington, Virginia. Our 141 rooms are stocked with all the amenities and features needed for a relaxing stay, including an indoor swimming pool and high-speed wireless internet access. Those here on business can expect the thoughtful touches that make our Arlington hotel perfect for corporate travelers. Equipped with an on-site business center and meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 75 people, our Red Lion Hotel is the ideal venue for your corporate or social gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing