We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, but not too fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I were part of a tour group that stayed at the hotel Sept 18-22nd 2013. Our room was in the building that also housed the guest check-in and lobby. We found the room to be clean, furnished with microwave and good size fridge. We did have a bit of a problem with our room "keys". Had to go down and have them rekeyed several times, but the front desk was always helpful and pleasant. They also provided us with good printed info regarding nearby sites and restaurants. The hotel is several blocks away from the Rosslyn Metro station, making it very convenient. The area was safe to walk in with restaurants, grocery store and CVS within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PureMichigan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Room large and quiet (when not on the street side). Some noisy aircraft but calm at night. Room well equipped (microwave, fridge, coffee, hairdryer, iron). Conveniently located nearby metro. Free parking. Pleasant swimming pool with late opening (but miss cloakroom). Restaurant open until 9PM (not enough). Service pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima is in a good location and is fairly close to many restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we asked questions about the area.

It appears there is an older section and a newer section. Our rooms were in the older section and they were outdated and dingy. The tiles in the bathroom were cracked and there were areas of mold in the grout.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My son and I were spending a couple of days in the Washington DC area, I wanted to use public transportation and not pay Washington DC hotel prices. The Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima fit the bill. It is a couple of minuets to the Metro Rosslyn Station. It is in walking distance to restaurants and it at the end of the day you are too tired to walk to a restaurant, there is one next door. The service was great, the towels were thick, the front desk had metro and walking directions already printed out to a number of sights, restaurants and shopping, which I found extremely helpful. The only thing lacking was a complementary breakfast, but for the price I paid for a 3 night stay I was able to get breakfast at The Brown Bag a few blocks away and still not go over budget. The pool hours were not an issue for us as we didn't head to the pool until the end of the day. Another great thing about the Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima is that it is a short walk to the Iwo Jima statue, which is in a park with really good views of some of the landmarks of Washington DC. We had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wraycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The kids liked their stay better than we did, because the staff gave us a handicapped room, which had a large closet space.

I thought the room was dark, dingy, worn and not that clean. We were not able to use the pool because it does not open until 2pm - considerably after check-out time (Very convenient).

The location, at least, was excellent (near Metro).

Tip: Make sure you don't use their mailing address in your GPS. It is not their physical location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Decent hotel, clean and comfortable, spacious rooms. Staff was very helpfull. Close to metro only 10 min to downtown DC. Adequate restaurants nearby. Nice swimming pool.If you are looking for a good price/quality hotel close to DC....Go for it. We stayed here 4 nights in August and would definitly come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeroen v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very difficult to find entrance, parking is extremely limited. Pool keeps weird hours. Rooms aren't super clean and a complaint is met with "we will give you $15 to stay at best western again"
When I explain that a $15 bribe is not what I'm interested in, they bump it to $25.
I'm not a big fan of someone trying to force me into something.
It's average at best

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.1 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 52 in Arlington
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#42 of 52 in Arlington
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
1,745 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 52 in Arlington
1,395 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 52 in Arlington
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range: $76 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes away from some of the United States’ most iconic historical sites, Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn/Iwo Jima is the best place to spend your next trip to Arlington, Virginia. Our 141 rooms are stocked with all the amenities and features needed for a relaxing stay, including an indoor swimming pool and high-speed wireless internet access. Those here on business can expect the thoughtful touches that make our Arlington hotel perfect for corporate travelers. Equipped with an on-site business center and meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 75 people, our Red Lion Hotel is the ideal venue for your corporate or social gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing