We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Reviewed April 3, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sue203como
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights and overall everything was generally good. There are some noise issues, we were in the "courtyard" (opens onto the parking lot) on the first floor. There is some expected neighbor noise here, what was not expected is that they let tour buses park in the lot and they start up early in the morning. Our first morning we were woken up by 3 different buses starting up in the parking lot about an hour apart. One night they decided to work on the roof of the restaurant at 11:30 pm, loud ladders and people, not great for sleeping. I would not recommend these rooms if you are light sleeper. The only other issue we had was the hot water. For the first few days the shower was adequate and then..... nothing, or I should say loud moaning and a trickle. Called the front desk, they said they would send somebody, left for dinner, came back, no difference. Called again, maintenance man came and couldn't fix it, said he would make sure a plumber came the next day. Next day, no plumber, no fix. Hotel offered to let us shower in another room, makes me think this is a known problem. Next day no plumber again but a note saying the plumber would be in the following day. They offered to move us to another room, but after 7 nights that was not a great option. Plumber finally came, replaced the shower head and the shower worked great! All in all since we were only sleeping here, the rooms was clean, most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was okay, was impressed there was a lifeguard on duty.

Room Tip: As stated above the courtyard rooms are loud with parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendakcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked this motel based on the reviews. I should have read them better! I went with my family. We have two kids 6 and 4. We were in the outside building.

Pros:
1. Close walk to the metro
2. Generally clean
3. Close walk to several places to eat

Cons:
1. The shower - There was no water pressure and the water was impossible to keep one temperature. Whenever you tried to adjust the temperature, the pipes moaned LOUDLY. I asked to be moved to the inner building, but the front desk said the rooms with two queens were only in the outside building.
2. The loud pipes were all over the outside building, so they woke us up early in the morning and late at night when neighbors showered.
3. The outside building is OLD! There was a fuse box in the room.
4. The pool is only open from 2-10 pm and the water was warm, 84 degrees or so, but the air was less than 80 degrees, so getting out was really unpleasant!

Understand that you will be compromising to stay here!

Room Tip: If you do stay here, and you don't need two Queen beds, make sure to request the rooms with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraW868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location is fantastic and the price is much better than anything in the area. It is an older hotel and a bit worn but it was clean and the staff was very friendly. It is a very easy walk to the Metro station. We got a "quiet room" (interior room on the third floor) but there are rooms with exterior doors as well as rooms right on the street side, so I see why some would complain about noise issues. The walls/doors are pretty thin so we could hear the folks in the hallway and when our neighbors took a shower, but it wasn't bad enough to keep us up once we got to sleep. The on-site diner is nothing to brag about, but it was convenient for a quick breakfast. There are several restaurants within walking distance and MANY to choose from one metro stop away. For folks who are on a tight budget and just need a clean place to sleep this a great option.

Room Tip: ask for an interior room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very happy with our experience at this hotel. Anyone who has traveled to DC knows that hotel can be very expensive in the city. We found the location of this hotel to be a great compromise, there is a subway station a few blocks away, a taxi to the Smithsonian only costs $12.00 and we were able to easily walk to Georgetown to visit DC cupcakes. The hotel itself was clean, the staff was friendly, the price was good, the parking is free and there is even an indoor pool. The room had a microwave and fridge which is always nice for keeping our drinks cold and saving some costs on meals, we easily prepared breakfast in the room before embarking on our days adventures. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbyndrewmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed here twice now over the past couple of months, both stays being for a few nights and I can not say enough good things about the place. The location is great, the nearest Metro station is about a five minute walk away and just two train stops from all of the action on the mall. The check in folks are very polite and professional and make you truly feel valued as a guest. The hotel is clean, modern, and very well maintained. There is a pool that looks like it was once an outdoor pool that was converted into an indoor pool, very nice to have as an option. I've stayed in both the interior corridor rooms as well as the outdoor corridor rooms and found that both were very nice and modern. I would stay here again in a heart beat and know that at the end of my journey I had this nice hotel to greet me in DC. To top it all off FREE PARKING!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My stay was pleasant and I have no complaints. Check in was quick and easy, parking was not a problem. We had two separate rooms, and they accommodated us, and kept us next to each other. easy access to the DC area, and the Marine Memorial is within walking distance. Semper Fi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jordwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
955 reviews
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#32 of 52 in Arlington
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#42 of 52 in Arlington
370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#26 of 52 in Arlington
465 reviews
2.4 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#20 of 52 in Arlington
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima

Address: 1501 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3001 (Formerly Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $58 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes away from some of the United States’ most iconic historical sites, Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn/Iwo Jima is the best place to spend your next trip to Arlington, Virginia. Our 141 rooms are stocked with all the amenities and features needed for a relaxing stay, including an indoor swimming pool and high-speed wireless internet access. Those here on business can expect the thoughtful touches that make our Arlington hotel perfect for corporate travelers. Equipped with an on-site business center and meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 75 people, our Red Lion Hotel is the ideal venue for your corporate or social gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing