We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good, Basic Accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, Basic Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I needed a room convenient to downtown for a night to attend a late-night event. We didn't need to shell out $300 for one of the nicer places downtown -- just needed a clean place to sleep! The Best Western was nothing fancy, but was clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. Noise was not an issue, and the free parking was certainly a plus!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crogers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear crogers100,

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    562
    345
    128
    129
See reviews for
585
325
94
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four nights on a tour of washington DC. We chose this hotel as it is very close to a metro station (0.3 mile from the Rosslyn metro). The area is relatively safe (Although not fun to walk at night) and the metro itself is very good having both orange and blue lines (which make it very easy to get to the national mall, smithsonian etc.). That said, the area doesn't really have any good restaurants nearby so if you want to eat, you should do it some place else (we ate in downtown one night and in clarendon which is a couple of stations away on other another night).
It was also relatively cheap for washington DC (which is expensive overall).

The hotel itself is not very attractive to look at (it looks more like a motel than a hotel) and while the rooms were standard and relatively clean they didn't bring a nice feeling.

The two main problems with the hotel (other than the unappealing feeling of it) are the noise and the water.
The water in the bathroom would not stay at a constant temperature changing from hot to cold all the time.
The noise is considerable. You can hear airplanes from the nearby airport, cars from the nearby freeway and anyone talking or moving outside the room. Furthermore, the cleaning crew comes and knocks on the door to see if you are there as there is no "Do not disturb" sign (not that it matters as you can't sleep late with all the noise anyway).

The maintenance of the place is not that good either. The air conditioner was noisy and didn't work too good and the internet was all but unusable.

All in all, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear voldan,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arlington hotels

Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I chose this hotel as I could park my hire car there without charge and I liked the location just a few minutes walk from the Iwo Jima monument and a few minutes further to the Arlington Cemetery, from where you can access the Tourmobile bus to tour Washington and the cemetery. The sub way is also just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We had a room at the front which had a view of the Washington monument across the river. The hotel is unpretentious but is well run, comfortable and clean. Alas no complimentary breakfasts but Ledo's Pizza next door is excellent both for breakfast and dinner. I recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear GlobetrotterSurrey,

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We are currently staying here (3rd night a.t.m.) and we're glad we chose this hotel for our DC stay. The location is really top, just minutes away from everything. The rooms are really nice and there is ample parking (in front of the rooms or in the parking garage). Bathroom has both shower (seperate & big) and a bath, and two washing tables. The King bed is comfortable.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank W-Flemish-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear W-Flemish-Traveler, Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I've always been picky about hotels (a hotel snob I guess). My budget limited my choices. Many reviews were unfavorable, after all -- I thouht -- it's a "Best Western" .... I was wrong. It is very clean (always my first consideration). The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. They found a room for me (for an extra night and gave me the online rate from the prior nights. 'Ledo Pizza' is next door and it's really good. Location is solid. It's not a "5-Star" hotel ... but I got a lot more than I expected and will come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear jpendell, Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at the BW, Iwo Jima with my sister for one night and I chose the hotel mainly for its location. Turns out it was a good location, close enough to the Rosslyn Metro station. The room had 2 queen beds but fairly dark - we got a room at the ground floor at the end of the walkway unfortunately. No breakfast included but had free coffee. I did not use the gym or pool (I think it had one). The staff was quite friendly. Again, the location was great to visit DC without using a car.. We drove from NJ and the entry to the hotel is somewhat hidden but not too bad. Parking is free!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDBNDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear NDBNDB, Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We are currently looking into changing the level of lighting in all rooms. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have just returned from the BW Rosslyn and had a great stay. I arrived by airport shuttle that thankfully knew that the hotel is on Fairfax and not Arlington Boulevard. Check in was very efficient and the room ready early. The room was typical very good but agree that the lighting levels could be better.
The location is excellent for the metro and Rosslyn being on 2 lines there is never a long wait to get into downtown DC. The area felt totally safe and I would go so far as to say the people I saw were friendly with a hello etc.
The Italian was actually better for food than I thought having read previous reviews and I made some new friends whilst in there. The staff were not oppressive but did serve quickly, perhaps because it was not very busy. The food was always well cooked and hot.
Overall an excellent base for those who don't need to be in the middle of DC and would like to leave the car whilst going exploring, I will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aardvark66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Aardvark66, We thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Rosslyn Iwo Jima and look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#17 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.1 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
#30 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima

Property: BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Address: 1501 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima Hotel Arlington
Best Western Iwo Jima
Quality Inn Iwo Jima
Best Western Arlington
Arlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing