We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy location and reasonable cost for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Boston Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easy location and reasonable cost for the family”
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Went with the kids and the place was celan and comfortable. The metro (close about 10 minute) walk was fine, but at the end fo the day the kids were beat so the walk home from the station was tough. For the price it was a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTJCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    339
    110
    54
    31
See reviews for
295
176
64
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

The property is in easy walking distance to the Roslyn metro station (10 minutes), which means it is also within walking distance of a Safeway grocery store, CVS pharmacy and some restaurants (check out Ray's Hell Burgers). For a family trip, the large size of the room and the kitchen were a big plus. However, the room was dated and battered, although it seemed clean. The kitchen was missing some basics like a frying pan and spatula, which the hotel could not provide. The main entrance/lobby is very odd and has stairs, without a ramp, going to the front desk and elevators - very inconvenient for luggage. If you only need the basics in a hotel to support your sightseeing, this property fits the bill.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagine
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2009

My extended family traveled to Arlington for my mother and father's interment at Arlington National Cemetery. We rented a total of six suites. Everybody was happy with the rooms. We had asked to be placed close to each other, but I suppose we weren't as clear as we should have been that ALL of us had to request the block, not just a few of us telling them who the other parties would be. I won't be traveling back up there for a funeral (all out of parents), but will know next time to have a note prepared for each family requesting a reservation that is the same.

We were within close walking distance of the restaurants and Metro stop in Rosslyn, but there was no restaurant super close by. The continental breakfast was one of the weakest I've ever seen. No bagels, no English muffins. We ate it the first day and then bought things to have in the rooms for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We just returned from a 5 day stay at the Virginian Suites. It was fantastic! We had a very spacious suite (rm 609) - it was a fabulous view! I had booked it via TravelZoo for a rate of $129 for the 1st 2 nights and $89 a pnight for the last 2 nights. It was well worth the money. The suite itself was spacious and well appointed.

The Metro was a 10 min walk, plus the hotel offers a shuttle service M-F. There was a nice continental breakfast served each morning on the 3rd floor - another great added bonus for the cost. Parking was free.

The staff was courteous enough but didn't go overboard to try and help you. It was fine with us.

My only complaint is there is no handicapped accessibility in the front lobby - only stairs. So, you have to drag all your luggage up the stairs. It didn't really take away from the experience.

The airplanes from National airport take off at all hours. We got used to the noise pretty quickly but it was noisy at first and our kids were complaining.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloemom1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We just spent the week at the Virginia Suites. The location was great. We walked most of the time to the metro, also to Iwo Jima Memorial. There is no shuttle on the weekend. We did take the shuttle during the week a few times since it was raining. We had a 1 BR suite with 2 dbl beds and a pull out sofa. I slept on the pull out which wasn't real comfortable but it was to be expected of a sofa bed. My only complaint since I was in the LR area was the slamming of doors in the early morning and late in the evening. i was frequently awakened by the noise. My family did not hear this from the BR. I thought the staff was very helpful. I asked for extra towels and had several bath and hand towels delivered. It was perfect for a family to be able to have breakfast, make sandwiches and heat up meals in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We spent a week at the Virginian. My only complaint would be that housekeeping never left the right amount of towels. However, a phone call to the front desk, and towels were brought up promptly.

We tried to use the heat during one of the colder nights. Our wall heater would not kick on. Within what seemed like minutes, a heater was brought to our room. I don't know how the guy got there so fast!

We were comfortable with our studiio...2 queens and a pull out. If I had to do it over, I would get a room with 2 TV's and a dining table. The bathroom was a little tight, but we made do.

The hotel was one of the quietest I have ever stayed at. The only noise I heard came from the planes flying in and out of the airport and a little bit of traffic.

I had read a review about an uncomfortable mattress. Ours was great! I wanted to bring it home with me.

We never used the hotel shuttle. The Metro is very close along with a CVS and a Safeway grocery store. If you drive to Safeway and park in the garage..make sure to get your ticket validated at the store at it's $8 an hr. There is a Starbucks in that same area.

Iwo Jima, Arlington Cemetery (side entrance) and the Netherlands Carillon are all just a couple blocks down the hill.

Within walking distance, we ate at the Santa Fe Cafe and Quartermaster. Both were excellent. There is a delivery service to your room from Dr Delivery if you want to order out. However, there are a lot of fees added to your order. We made the mistake of ordering out from them and never did it again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0ving2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My wife, our two small children, and I stayed in the hotel last week.
All I want to say, it is great for the family trip to Washington, DC.
We paid $119 per night for one bedroom suite + $7 per day for parking.
Very good location. 8 minutes to walk to Metro station. 15 minutes drive to the National Mall area (in medium traffic).
Very good service, clean rooms. If we ever needed anything the staff were ready to help right away

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amedvedovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#9 of 51 in Arlington
1,607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
0.6 mi away
Key Bridge Marriott
Key Bridge Marriott
#27 of 51 in Arlington
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Property: Virginian Suites Arlington
Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing