We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable & Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable & Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

We just spent the week at the Virginia Suites. The location was great. We walked most of the time to the metro, also to Iwo Jima Memorial. There is no shuttle on the weekend. We did take the shuttle during the week a few times since it was raining. We had a 1 BR suite with 2 dbl beds and a pull out sofa. I slept on the pull out which wasn't real comfortable but it was to be expected of a sofa bed. My only complaint since I was in the LR area was the slamming of doors in the early morning and late in the evening. i was frequently awakened by the noise. My family did not hear this from the BR. I thought the staff was very helpful. I asked for extra towels and had several bath and hand towels delivered. It was perfect for a family to be able to have breakfast, make sandwiches and heat up meals in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    336
    109
    53
    31
See reviews for
291
175
63
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We spent a week at the Virginian. My only complaint would be that housekeeping never left the right amount of towels. However, a phone call to the front desk, and towels were brought up promptly.

We tried to use the heat during one of the colder nights. Our wall heater would not kick on. Within what seemed like minutes, a heater was brought to our room. I don't know how the guy got there so fast!

We were comfortable with our studiio...2 queens and a pull out. If I had to do it over, I would get a room with 2 TV's and a dining table. The bathroom was a little tight, but we made do.

The hotel was one of the quietest I have ever stayed at. The only noise I heard came from the planes flying in and out of the airport and a little bit of traffic.

I had read a review about an uncomfortable mattress. Ours was great! I wanted to bring it home with me.

We never used the hotel shuttle. The Metro is very close along with a CVS and a Safeway grocery store. If you drive to Safeway and park in the garage..make sure to get your ticket validated at the store at it's $8 an hr. There is a Starbucks in that same area.

Iwo Jima, Arlington Cemetery (side entrance) and the Netherlands Carillon are all just a couple blocks down the hill.

Within walking distance, we ate at the Santa Fe Cafe and Quartermaster. Both were excellent. There is a delivery service to your room from Dr Delivery if you want to order out. However, there are a lot of fees added to your order. We made the mistake of ordering out from them and never did it again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l0ving2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

My wife, our two small children, and I stayed in the hotel last week.
All I want to say, it is great for the family trip to Washington, DC.
We paid $119 per night for one bedroom suite + $7 per day for parking.
Very good location. 8 minutes to walk to Metro station. 15 minutes drive to the National Mall area (in medium traffic).
Very good service, clean rooms. If we ever needed anything the staff were ready to help right away

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amedvedovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

I read plenty reviews before settling on the Virginian Suites, but ultimately decided on the price and the convenience.

The staff are really friendly, efficient and helpful. Had no problem with them. The room we choose, a studio that has a queen bed a pull-out bed couch, kitchen with all the essentials, was clean and complemented with brochures. There was a large TV, and a distant wi-fi signal that barely reaches the room, I reccomend going down to the lobby where its better.

There was no breakfast or such, we knew that beforehand, so we knew we had to bring some basic things for cooking, other things we had to buy in a supermarket that is somewhat far from the hotel but nothing too distant. The shuttle service to the Metro station and back is very convenient, specially in the afternoon.

I reccomend this hotel to anyone travelling to D.C, the hotel keeps improving.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinkingCamilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hi
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

My family spent three nights at the hotel. Unfortunately, we did not receive much help from the front desk. Same gal. She appeared to be overworked. We were never told about the continental breakfast when we checked in -- glad I read the reviews ahead of time. We found it very convenient to grab something in the morning before we headed out for the day. There were a few electrical issues (lamp not working, nothing major) and they were fixed promptly. The kitchen was smaller than pictured but good enough for us. The towels were small and stiff. The toiletries were small so pack your own! The pullout sofa bed was okay with my 11-year old but would've been unacceptable for most adults. I wish the hotel had round the clock shuttle service and free use of the computer ($1.00 for 3 minutes). All in all, the hotel was decent for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonlily61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

My husband and I were there with our 11 year old daughter to sight see in DC. This place is located directly across the river from the DC mall in Arlington, not far from the Roslynn Metro station. From there you can get into DC in minutes. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the metro in the morning and evening hours. You could also walk to the metro in about 15 minutes or less, but there are some busy streets to cross. The hotel grounds seemed safe and quiet. Our room was a one bedroom suite- w/o the breakfast option. It was huge, like a small apartment and had a full, equiped kitchen with dishes, pans, utensils and had a view of Roslynn, VA. We saved a lot of money and time by making our own breakfasts and dinners--(micro TV dinners) most nights. A Safeway, shopping mall and numerous eating places are within a mile or so away in Roslynn. Our non-smoking suite was generally clean and maintained. It did have a slight stale smoke odor that was reduced by opening the windows to let in some fresh air. The worst problem was the mattress, it was either worn out or really cheap and sagged in the middle. We also had to call maintenance to fix a plugged toilet and tub the first night, but no problems after that. Overall, we were willing to overlook a few minor issues for a condo-like suite in this location for under $200 per night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turlocksoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

I had planned a special trip for my elderly disabled mom which I expect to be the last for us to see the Cherry Blossom Festival & attend The National Cathedral Palm Sunday Mass which she dearly loves, so I really needed to find a hotel with suites. I usually always stayed at the Washing Suites in Alexandria, but this year wanted something a little closer to the Church. When I first discovered the ad for the Virginian Suites Hotel, I read all the mixed reviews & almost cancelled our stay there. I am glad I didn't. Everyone was so helpful, the room was just as shown in their ad & cleaner than some hospitals I've been in...Will definately return next time. Don't let other reviews throw you off - Thanks to the Staff!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLV_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Arlington
Hyatt Centric Arlington
#10 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
2.4 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#19 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Property: Virginian Suites Arlington
Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing