We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
184 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Located close to Arlington national cemetery and Rosslyn metro station. Great front desk and very helpful Breakfast is $6 per person. Continental. Panera is in metro station. Ice is locked up you have to ask for it. Laundry is $4 to wash and dry. Shuttle bus to metro station and shuttle to grocery at 6:00pm and pickup 6:50. Safeway and whole foods. Closest Resturant two blocks uphill seafood fresh crabs. Rooms are nice apt style small kitchen small bathroom combo tub/shower. Great double beds. Flat screen TVs comfortable. Hot coffee in lobby with water and lemonade. If in Washington stay here for comfort and price Weekends are on your own no shuttle. Swimming pool sauna exercise room. Would stay here again

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Mr. James C,
Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that you would stay again. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our helpful front desk team, our convenient location, the laundry facilities, the shuttle and the swimming pool. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the coffee, water and lemonade that we have available every day.

On behalf of all of us here at the Virginian Suites, we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Eda Marzolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    316
    103
    48
    30
See reviews for
274
161
58
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

we were in washington for 5 days and used the Virginian Suites in Arlington as our home base. Only good things to say about it, from the location, the rooms, breakfast, transportation, and certainly the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don_ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Don_Ottawa,

Thank you for using us as your home base during your trip to the DC Area! I am delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, spacious suites, affordable prices and breakfast selection.

On behalf of all of us here at the Virginian Suites we look forward to your return visit from Ottawa, Canada!

Warm regards,
-Eda Marzolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 5 (kids 11, 11, & 9) & this room was ideally spacious! The beds were plenty comfortable......except the pullout, which is to be expected. The mini kitchen was a bonus, but not needed for our 1 day stay (2 nights). The hotel is in decent shape for being old. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. We did not use the pool or exercise facilities. Continental breakfast was fine for us.
Complimentary lemonade & coffee in the lobby was a bonus.
We brought our bikes, so we rode by Arlington National Cemetery, then across the bridge to DC. ..... (2 mile ride) & saw all main monuments in a day.
The evening we arrived we were able to walk a block & 1/2 to watch the U.S. Marine Corp Sunset Parade. It is only on Tuesday evenings, yet very cool to watch.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank baseballmom70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear baseballmom70,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to hear that you are looking forward to your return visit. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff and the spaciousness of our suites. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our complimentary coffee and lemonade in the lobby.

On behalf of all of us here at the Virginian Suites we look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,
Eda Marzolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed over the July 4th holiday which of course was very busy and crowded. However we never heard any noise from outside or other guests. Our room was very clean and nice. We had a problem with the beds in our room they really need replaced and the breakfast at the hotel which did not consist of any hot items is $6 a person. I find that unreasonable for cereal and a few other things. If you want to unload your luggage you have to drive to the back of the hotel there is a ramp there so you don't have to carry it up the steps in the lobby. The hotel staff was very friendly. They have a shuttle that takes you to the metro stop which is very helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You can not see DC from any of the rooms which I was under the understanding that you could.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Love2travel868,

On behalf of my entire team I would like to thank you for spending your 4th of July with us and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am happy to learn that you would stay with us again and that our friendly staff and our clean and quiet rooms are a big part of that decision. I am also happy to hear that you used our shuttle and found it to be very convenient. I am sorry you didn't find the beds in your room comfortable.

We look forward to your return trip from Canton, Ohio!

Warmest regards,
Eda Marzolo
emarzolo@virginiansuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I actually ended up at this hotel after checking in at a different hotel and immediately leaving (I won't say where, but you can find it in my reviews). This place was an "on-the fly" choice, and I was absolutely delighted!

The rooms are not super-modern, but certainly up to snuff otherwise. The location is safe, and it's a very short walk to Arlington Cemetery. I was more impressed with the price of the (kitchen equipped) suite in relation to proximity to attractions and the Rosslyn Area. FYI- Rosslyn is packed full of great food and drink, and does not come with the crazy, tourist-ey feel of other areas in the DC metro.

Oh- and they have a shuttle service to the Metro stop. The drivers are very nice.

The breakfasts are pretty good, and the staff is a pleasure to encounter. I've stayed at many other hotels, but never in this area (and never in this place)- but I'll be certain to come back to this little secret to see if my positive experience remains consistent.

If you're looking for an executive-suite experience, this is not the place. If you're interested in a comfortable, safe, and affordable- well above average stay, give the Virginian a go.

Room Tip: Online booking seems to be the most affordable way to get a deal. Desk prices are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Alicia S,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review. I am thrilled to hear that you were absolutely delighted with your "on the fly" choice and I am very happy that you have discovered us and that you consider us a comfortable, safe and affordable choice. I appreciate all your nice comments regarding our convenient location, our shuttle services, our breakfast as well as our friendly staff.
On behalf of our entire team we look forward to your return visit where we can have the opportunity to keep your positive experience consistent.

Warmest regards,
-Eda Marzolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were greeted with the nicest, most helpful staff!!! Customer Service is key when you are in a town you have not stayed in!! The room was spacious and clean, we were able to spread out after long days of walking and make a snack with out being all over each other. Convenient location to Metro too!! All in all, it "made our trip to DC"!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 414Darrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 414Darrow,
I am more than thrilled to hear that our hospitality made your trip to DC! This is a big compliment and I thank you very much for staying with us and for writing this wonderful review. I appreciate your nice comments regarding our spacious and clean suites as well as our convenient location.

On behalf of all of us here at the Virginian Suites we look forward to your return visit in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Eda Marzolo
emarzolo@virginiansuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Only a mile or two from Arlington National Cemetery and close to other DC landmarks. Also close to airport. Room was large with full kitchen and large bath. Excellent breakfast. Hotel needed a little updating but overall it was great and the price was very reasonable. It was convenient to restaurants and Whole Foods. There is a fee for parking, but that is with almost all hotels in the city. We also found it a little confusing to get to, but the GPS took us right to it. The staff was friendly and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reteach36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eda M, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Retach36,
Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review. I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. I appreciate your comments regarding our convenient location, spacious suites with full kitchens and our excellent breakfast.
On behalf of all of us here at the Virginian Suites, we look forward to your return visit from Bryan, Texas!

Warm regards,
Eda Marzolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arlington Court Suites
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#23 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Property: Virginian Suites Arlington
Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing