We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 5 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The 1 bedroom suite was very spacious and clean. The full kitchen was an added bonus. The breakfast offered a variety of items to eat every day and best of all it was FREE! The staff were very courteous. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The shuttle to the metro is wonderful. We never had to wait more than 10 minutes to catch a ride to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKU70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear SKU70,
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Virginian Suites Hotel– thank you for the review! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 949 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

My company made a reservation for me and I was surprised by the condition of the room, the bad smell in the room, it was dirty. The toilet itself was damaged inside, repaired with plaster(???). When we arrived, one of the elevator was out of service so a long wait to get it.
The worst was the breakfast, disposable plates, glasses, as always...and everything kept cold in a refrigerator and you had to heat it in a micro-wave oven...Very bad quality.
And at the check-out, my card was charged with the wrong amount of $3800 instead of $800...Make sure they have the right room number!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed four nights. Check in was a little rocky. There were three employees and it seemed only one of them knew what was going on. One man was given the key to a room that was already occupied. Both of our keys mysteriously quit working one evening. One morning the fire alarm started going off. We evidentially found out from a maid in the hallway that it was a test. Would've been nice to know they were testing the fire alarm. If it had been five minutes earlier I might have been running down the hall in a towel. The hotel is an older building and they have done a good job and keeping it as up to date as possible. The WIFI in our room worked great. There are no ice machines so you have to have ice delivered, which was kind of a pain. Despite some of the problems mentioned, the staff was ALL very friendly and helpful. There is shuttle service to the nearest Metro station and you are walking distance from The Arlington Cemetery and restaurants. They provided coffee and tea, but no breakfast. Rooms are much larger than expected. It was handy having the kitchen since we stayed four nights. Room was very clean, but carpets in elevators and hallways should be cleaned. Overall we were happy and would stay again. Price seemed high, but other hotels in this area are high as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My boyfriend lived there for four months, I went to visit twice... Overall, it's good, it's location is great, very close to the subway. It's a little bit dated, it could use a renewal, but it's a good option for a long stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianaFM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Virginian Suites for one night during our east coast trip last week and I must admit that for the price we paid the rooms weren't too bad. The Hotel lobby was clean and the service was friendly. The room was huge and it had a separate living area and kitchen, seemed like old apartments. The rug in the room wasn't the cleanest but the rest of the room was in good shape. The hotel was close to the Iwo Jima Memorial which was an amazing place to visit at night. They didn't charge for parking which was great because I was expecting to pay at least $10 for parking. The bad thing about the hotel was that it only had one elevator in operation the day we were there so in a ten story building it took time to get up and down from the room. Overall we had a good experience here and would good back if the price was the same on the next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has a great location, right across from the Iwo Jima Memorial in Arlington.

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite and felt as if we had traveled back in time. It's great to have a kitchen on a multi-night stay. It was quite dated, but served its purpose. There is so much room in the suite that we were able to eat at a dining table, set up the laptop on the desk and watch TV in the living room area.

The living room furniture was uncomfortable. Our family ranges in height from 5'2" to 6'4" and nobody could get comfortable in the room.

The workout room was ancient. It was tucked away at the end of the hallway on one of the floors.

The staff was pretty strict about adhering to the check-in time, so we had to wait in the lobby for quite a while when we arrived. There wasn't a lot of warmth from the staff, either.

The two elevators were small and slow. Parking was $9/day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

For the first time or experienced traveler to Washington, D.C., there is no hotel more convenient and accommodating than the Virginian Suites at 1500 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia. The rates are also very reasonable, considering the rooms have kitchens with appliances and pots, pans, dishes, and cutlery. I have used this facility for over 10 years and always return there because of the friendly service, its proximity to downtown Washington, D.C., its spacious parking facilities (always a prime in this metropolis), its pool and gym, and its conference/workshop rooms. The daily continental breakfast is sumptious and varied. Shuttle service to the Metro is provided on a timely basis and taxis are requested in behalf of guests no matter the hour.

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice because they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SudhakarJamkhandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Arlington
Hyatt Centric Arlington
#11 of 52 in Arlington
1,789 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arlington Court Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 52 in Arlington
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $89 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing