We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A respectable hotel, but wouldn't call it a gem.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Suites Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginian Suites Arlington
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A respectable hotel, but wouldn't call it a gem.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I've stayed over the past four days and have mixed reviews of the establishment. Let me address some of the previous concerns as a meteorologist who worked closely in aviation. Rosslyn, along with the rest of Arlington County is in DCA's flight path, well because DCA is in Arlington County. Not to sound smug, but there isn't a hotel within Arlington County that is not somehow impacted by DCA operations. Before booking any hotel within five miles of an airport, call it to ask if it is soundproofed or has sound dimmers. It was obvious this hotel did not but the jets were not that constant. Route 50 didn't bother me and I was on that side.

As far as my stay, I didn't have any major problems. Room was very spacious and I didn't have any issue with the bed. Decent size on-site laundry which was reasonably priced. Free wired and wi-fi service was very reliable. DIRECTV and nice LG TV (more on that later). Shuttle bus driver, a jovial African-American kid was very respectful and kind to his patrons. The staff tries really hard to make a very old building somewhat new and are better than most chains, although one of the front desk ladies did rub me the wrong way during the morning/noon hours. One in every crowd.

All of the vending machines were out of order for most of my stay and did report it. That night, they had cold soda and bottled water for purchase at the front desk. The Metro station is about a ten-minute walk and can be very dark at night, so be careful crossing Route 50. It's no different if you were walking from the Metro to Iwo Jima. A bit isolated from the shops and restaurants but a limited shuttle does make an occassional trip there too. Disappointed that the shuttle terminates at 7:30 PM and no service on weekends. While the TV was HD, signal is in analog.

The biggest issue I had was that the furnishings in the room really show their age. It's a very clean hotel and the housekeeping staff works with pride but you can tell that bedding, towels, sofa, kitchen appliances have seen better days and are rather worn out. A/C must have been 40 years old but it did work.

Bottom line, do some shopping. It is a functional place and easily beats the chain motels (Super 8/Red Roof/Days/Comfort) but if there is a Courtyard, HGI, Best Western for the same rate or for $10-15/night more, I would probably stay there. During this time of year, it's was the value and the review that made me try it. Good for a business trip/budget-conscious person but I'd have a hard time bringing my girlfriend to this place or recommending to a friend.

Room Tip: Shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverhawk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We thank you for your advice to future guests and your kind words with regards to our rooms. While we may not be the newest building in Arlington (there are very few), we strive to continually improve our building. We will pass on your feedback to all of our staff members, from our housekeeping staff all the way to our shuttle drivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    311
    99
    48
    30
See reviews for
268
158
57
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
305 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

The people who have written such glowing reviews about this property must all be hard of hearing! The hotel is located directly under the flight path from Reagan-National Airport. At 6:30 a.m., the first jet comes screaming off the runway at DCA, and it was impossible for me to to sleep EVEN WITH EARPLUGS.

This hotel is also adjacent to Route 55, which is a six lane highway. Besides the constant traffic noise, this makes walking to/from Rosslyn very difficult.

The building is clean, and the staff is pleasant, but the location ruins an otherwise reasonable property. I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
We apologize for the inconvenience you incurred during your stay with us. You are correct with regards to the hotel’s proximity to Route 50. Being in one of the busiest metropolitan areas in the nation, most area hotels are located close to busy streets, especially once you start heading closer and closer to Washington DC. Please be informed, there are sidewalks on both sides of the road when walking to the metro. As far as the flight path of airplanes coming and going from Reagan National Airport, we obviously can’t change this however it is rarely an issue with the majority of our guests. On a positive note, we are pleased you enjoyed our hotel property and staff. We are saddened you will not be returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
260 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Had difficulty finding a room in DC, so the main conference hotel recommended this one. Rate was decent for the Arlington area, but the property is very old and shows it. Cracked paint, old fixtures, poor bed. Looks like an old apartment building. No resturants nearby, only fast-food pizza for room delivery. Coffee maker in the room, but NO CUPS. No taxi stand, so the hotel has to call. Waited 40 minutes for a taxi.

However, if you are looking for a low-cost room in arlington that is minutes away from DC (except at rush hour) and don't mind staying in an old property, this is an option.

A positive note. It is right across the street from the iwo Jima National Monument. Beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Our property has indeed been around for many years, however we believe our constant maintenance to our hotel and guest rooms are constantly improving. Please be advised that there are two great restaurants both in front and back of the hotel, as well as the numerous restaurants up the street from us on Wilson Blvd., which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. While most taxies called for our guests arrive between 5-10 minutes after the initial call; taxis have a tendency to take some while longer during rush hour as well as during the late evening on the weekends due to their high demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was comfy and the kitchen was convienant. The walk to the metro wasn't five minutes, more like ten. The free shuttle was awesome! The staff was nice. There are great attractions near by, IWO Jima, Arlington Cemetery ... Overall a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smellyphant37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
We are very happy you had a pleasant stay with us. You are correct, the walk to the metro is about 10 to 15 minutes max, and so if one can make it in 5 minutes, we salute you. We are also very happy you enjoyed our free shuttle bus that runs on the weekdays during rush hour as well as our pleasant staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We were in town for a day and a half to visit D.C. We loved almost everything about the Virginian Suites. The location was great. We enjoyed the free shuttle to and from the Metro. Just beware that it doesn't run between 2:00 and 4:30. Last pickup from Metro is at 7:30...Also, parking at the hotel is free so we checked out and left our car until we returned via shuttle from the Metro. The room was great. Seemed to be a renovated apartment with lots of room and closet space. The breakfast was yummy but don't forget your "ticket" or you won't be getting in! The only draw back for this southern girl was the lack of help from the front desk. It was very clear that this staff had no time to be bothered by questions or hospitality of any kind. I think that for $215/night one should get a little TLC. Not gonna happen here. However, we did eventually figure our way around and ended up having a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
We are very surprised you found our staff lacking in hospitality, as our hotel is well known for the hospitality of the front desk staff. We get numerous compliments with regard to their “can do” attitude and the service they provide. Also for the record, parking is actually $9.00 per night, but still very cheap and affordable in comparison with other hotels in the District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I normally stay downtown DC but the rates for mid week were over $350.00 per night for even a modest mid level hotel. I found Virginia Suites online and was wary of staying here from reading a few of the reviews. I guess some people just like to fuss. I loved the location, service, and quality of the property and people working here. 5 Min walk to metro or you can take the shuttle. Just steps from the USMC Monument and only a 5 min drive down town if that. The rooms are huge, flat screen TV in bedroom and living room, and each comes with a full kitchen. Yes this is an apartment building converted into and hotel and it was great. Sort of like going back to your DC condo after a long day. I have found a new home in DC. Parking was only $9.00 for the night. I normally pay $30.00. What a deal! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pewterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
We are overjoyed you had such an excellent stay with us! While we may be in Virginia, like you wrote, we are only a five minute drive into the city or a 10 minute walk to the Rosslyn metro station, which is one stop away from DC and six stops away (10 minutes) from the Smithsonian Museum. For the price and location, we believe we are perfect for everyone’s needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is an extended stay hotel with a full kitchen. You can order groceries ahead of time or a van will take you to a supermarket in the early evening on weekdays. Ask for a map of Rosslyn to see what's nearby. It's a short walk to the Metro or the van will take you AM/PM. Staff is pleasant and receptive to requests. Not the newest place but it's clean and had everything we needed and plenty of room. You can even walk to Arlington Cemetery. Very much enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
We find having a full kitchen perfect for all of our guests. We are happy our staff was able to accommodate all of your needs, and that’s what we’re here for. Thank you for your kind words about our property. While we may not be the newest hotel in the area, we are clean and have lots of room to spread out after a long day at work or from exploring the Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arlington Court Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Suites Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Suites Arlington

Property: Virginian Suites Arlington
Address: 1500 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Suites Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet Virginian Suites Arlington. Loaded with personality, this exceptional hotel features one-bedroom and studio suites in a highly desirable location, just minutes from downtown DC and closer to Arlington National Cemetery than any other hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Cancelon so you can book your Virginian Suites Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Virginian Hotel Arlington
The Virginian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing