We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot for Visiting DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Visiting DC”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just returned from visiting DC with my folks, who are in their 80's. We chose adjoining suites, so we could spend down time together and cocktails at 6 pm. The staff was extremely attentive to every request or question. The rooms were roomy, clean and updated. The complementary breakfast was eggs, sausage rounds, oatmeal, all fine for our gluten-free diet. No complaints, just very busy on the weekends. The location of this hotel is GREAT for visiting DC. We were just 1.5 blocks from the Pentagon City metro station (and the Mall!). The metro will get you to every possible DC destination. But the best hidden gem of this hotel is the free shuttle to take you within a 1 mile radius of the Residence Inn. We must have used the shuttle 5 times in 4 days (took us to a local church, returned to pick us up, took us to Jaleo in Crystal City, to the metro (with my folks), etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting DC. Great staff, and high value!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level, and facing the Pentagon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khkendall31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Residence Inn at Pentagon City on TripAdvisor. Your review does point some of the amenities we are most proud of; our location, free breakfast, free local shuttle, large rooms, and most importantly our staff. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    275
    60
    11
    6
See reviews for
429
168
41
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a very good hotel in a great location. The room was excellent. Spotless, good layout, nice kitchen and all the gear you need. Shopping was also available so you could have groceries delivered. Bath was a little small but very usable and the sink was in the room proper making it even more usable. Pillows were very small but usable. Room was quiet and had room darkening blinds.

Our room looked out over 395 and the Pentagon with some nice views of the city. Pictures from the 17th floor of the Air Force memorial came out great.

The included breakfast was nice. Eggs and trappings as well as make your own waffles. Standard breads and cereals as well as a multitude of beverage choices.

Expect to pay extra for parking. $28/day Parking is underground and secured by your room key.

We loved the location. Every thing was close and access to several highways was easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H. Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Residence Inn at Pentagon City on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay while in the Washington DC area, and I look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week, along with 8 members of my post-graduate class. It is a very nice facility. I was very pleased by the size and furnishings of the room. I had some problems with the ice maker in my room and the maintenance staff was extremely responsive and helpful. My class had to travel a good bit during our week in DC and the hotel staff was very accomodating and assisted us with making various transportation arrangements. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance (2 blocks) of a great mall, Harris Teeter, CVS and various other stores and has a great view of the Pentagon. The shuttle is readily available for travel within a 1-mile radius and there is hotel transportation available from Regan Airport.

My post-graduate school has been bringing students to DC/VA for over 9 years and each year the coordinator choses to stay at this hotel because of the consistent high level of service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Residence Inn at Pentagon City on TripAdvisor. We always look forward to welcoming your group when visiting the area. Thanks for the kind words about our maintenance staff as well. I will be sure to share your comments with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
314 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent three weekend nights at this hotel. The front desk staff is great, our room spacious and well appointed, and the garage, while pricey, was safe for our precious car. But the pillow-top king-size bed was much too soft for us and the thick, heavy polyester-stuffed comforter was not appropriate for a 70-72 degree night. The time display on the microwave illuminated the room at night and kept us up -- we had to buy a small roll of opaque tape to cover it up for the second and third nights.

Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings was wild! Guests were eating enough to last throughout the day. Only one dry cereal was not sugared/frosted. Tables were not being cleaned and no spoons were available for ten minutes or so. 2% milk for cereals was out both days for a while. Some machine, I think the waffle machine, made an annoying constant high-pitched beep. The half-and-half for coffee was in a pitcher that was impossible to work. And the men who occasionally came by to solve these problems weren't wearing uniforms or even badges, so one didn't know whether they were staff or just guests who were trying to help out. Things were better on Monday morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Residence Inn at Pentagon City. I am sorry that you encountered several issues during your stay with us. If you would like to discuss them in more detail, I look forward to it. Please contact me directly at 703-413-6630. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We chose the Residence Inn Pentagon City for our long weekend stay in DC due to price and proximity to National Airport. Pleasantly surprised; we arrived at the hotel and checked in early, expecting to have to leave our bags and come back that evening for our room. Instead, they got us in to our room straightaway - a 2-bedroom suite (as requested) that turned out to be on the 17th (top) floor, with a nice view of the Potomac and the airport. Hotel is a short walk from the Pentagon City metro station, as well as the Fashion Center mall and food court. (NB: Just around the corner from there is Naked Pizza, which actually has gluten-free pizza crust!) Pentagon metro station is also a short walk to the north - both Pentagon and Pentagon City are stops for the blue and yellow lines, either of which is convenient to the National Mall / Smithsonian.

Breakfast each day at the hotel was complementary, but very crowded at the time we ate - around 9 am. Not a huge selection, but what was there was good, especially the biscuits and gravy and the make-your-own waffles. (Coffee, however, did not seem to impress my daughter, who is spoiled by Starbucks.)

Only disappointment with the hotel was upon arrival; we probably waited 30-45 minutes for the hotel shuttle to finally come around. We tried calling the hotel front desk, but the phone would ring many times and then would get a message that "no one was available to take your call. You will now be disconnected. <click>". When we finally arrived at the hotel, there were only two people working check-in, and the phone was ringing off the hook with no one able to take time to answer it. Not the best first impression for newly arrived visitors.

We had no problems with our early shuttle back to the airport, which was right on time. Overall, a great stay: good, convenient location; clean, comfortable rooms; friendly staff (though perhaps stretched a bit thin). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_Colliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Residence Inn at Pentagon City on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that we were able to accomidate your requests, as well as get you checked in early. We are always working on ways to improve our airport shuttle service. I am here to speak with you if you would like to share more details about your arrival experience. Please contact me directly at 703-413-6630.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, N.J.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at the Residence Inn in Arlington. We had a two bedroom, two bath suite for my wife, my mother-in-law, and myself. We were a bit apprehensive about staying in Arlington to visit Washington, but were assured by our friends that there is no problem in doing this. Our friends were right. It is only about 15 minutes from the National Mall by either cab or metro. Our suite was spotless, and the rooms were very large. The included breakfast was more than adequate. However, the nicest part of the hotel is the staff. Everybody was extemely friendly, and most helpful. The hotel has a shuttle van that will take you and pick you up from the metro stop, local restaurants, the nearby airport, etc. The service was always prompt - no more than a five minute wait - and with a smile. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeflaw567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Pentagon City Residence Inn on TripAdvisor. Your comments concerning our location, cleanliness, and included amenities do make us an ideal choice when visiting the Nation's Capitol. I will pass on your kind words concerning our staff to them as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was fortunate to stay at Residence Inn, Arlington on my first trip to the DC area... I loved the view from the Restaurant up top! Easy access to the Metro, and fairly quick trip downtown DC. Also enjoyed walking a few blocks for some great food and shopping. Overall felt very comfortable.

Room Tip: I liked having a higher floor, but it's all personal choice. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rndthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Pentagon City Residence Inn on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you had such a wonderful time expIoring the area. I look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City

Property: Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Address: 550 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Arlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing