We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some upgrades-- there are better Residence Inns in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was one of two Residence Inns I stayed at in the DC area. The staff was nice and the breakfast and dinners were good. The location is okay-- about a five minute walk to the Pentagon City metro. There is also a Bally's that you can get a free pass to from the front desk (the hotel also has its own fitness room, but it's small). There is a Costco and a mall very close by, but overall the neighborhood is fairly charmless. The building is extremely large and is starting to show its age. Ask to stay far from the elevators (from my room I could hear them make a squealing type sound all through the night-- and with so many guests they never stop running). Bed was a queen, not a king. In the rooms Internet was wired, not wireless. Only two public washers/dryers for the entire building. It's not a bad property by any stretch, it's just that in such a saturated/competitive market there are better options out there.

Room Tip: Elevators are loud-- request a room far away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dondequiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Residence Inn at Pentagon City has the most friendly, helpful staff of any hotel I've ever visited ... and I have been to quite a few. I made three requests during my four-week stay, and each request was fulfilled within twenty minutes. The shuttle was prompt and reliable.

Also, the hotel is located within two blocks of a very nice mall and grocery store.
There is a metro stop at the mall for the blue and yellow lines. There is also a UPS store and post office nearby. If you don't want to walk, the shuttle will drop you off or pick you up from locations within a one-mile radius of the hotel.

The free breakfast was delicious, and there are decent evening meals served Monday-Wednesday from 5 to 7, along with free beer and wine. On Thursday night they serve free ice cream with assorted toppings.

I highly recommend this hotel to others, and plan to stay there on future business trips.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEMOTraveler074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here while visiting DC for the Cherry Blossoms.

Housekeeping: Efficient
-Pool/Gym: Nice and Clean, but pool had limited hours due to 'lifeguard' limited hours. Pool was also busy as this was more of a family oriented hotel.
-Staff: Friendly, efficient and very helpful. Mr. Pena was exceptional.
-Breakfast: abundant, but with the large guest capactity it had difficulty keeping up with the demand. People had to wait for the food as it ran out quickly, the hotel shoud review it's kitchen capactiy to ensure the demand can be met. It ended at 9AM which left alot of families with our breakfast, especially those wtih young children and it was a shame that the staff didnt' make exceptions or maybe extend the time.
-Manager's reception: the hotel offered 'snacks' in the afternoon which was nice for the families, including ice cream and fresh popped popcorn.

Location: was a bit of a hike to DC, but we did take the Metro which was fine. The hotel is located in a 'subdivision' that included other residentials and stores including the Pentagon City mall. Food was limited to the few chain restaurants in the area.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mewosery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Rooms are spacious, clean linen, kitchen, microwave, coffee maker. The staff always answers your questions or concerns with a smile, great value for all the amenities. Great views of the city from the room we had assigned. They work with you for an early check in, one block from pentagon City Metro Station. Close to the Pentagon City Mall. Always felt welcomed. Congratulations!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJBAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

On the plus side:
Hotel was certainly in a convenient location - near a mall w/ a good food court as well as other chain restaurants (California Pizza Kitchen, Chevy's Mexican & Starbucks). Harris Tweeter (grocery) is also within walking distance. Hotel is 2 blocks (5 min walk) from Metro Station (Pentagon City stop on Blue & Yellow line) and only 2 stops from L'Enfant Plaza on yellow line.

Price was excellent ($89/night)

Breakfast buffet is plentiful (eggs, potatoes, sausage, bagels, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal)

Not so great:
Parking fee of $21/night

Front desk - not sure if they have new staff coming on, but definitely had issues w/ our reservation. We stayed 1 night free (Marriott points) and paid for the other 2 nights. Prior to arriving, called Marriott & confirmed that reservations were connected. Long story, but by the end of it, housekeeping never came to our room, front desk personnel didn't understand what I was talking about, etc. Not a huge deal other than time waster that took multiple trips to front desk and just inconsistent, incomplete info. Felt like front desk was inexperienced and definitely wasn't up to the usual Marriott standards.

7th floor had VERY strong musty/moldy smell as soon as you got off elevators

Hotel elevators (3) are incredibly slow during busy times (i.e. right after breakfast). Just not enough elevators to accommodate guests. Our wait immediately following breakfast during the very busy July 4th weekend was 8-10mins on average.


When we return to DC next year on the 4th, we probably won't stay here unless we can't find anything reasonably priced. This isn't a "definite no return" situation, but it wasn't quite the Marriott experience that we've come to love.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. We had a two-bedroom suite with two bathrooms (for five people), and it was wonderful to have enough room for everyone. We enjoyed the kitchenette for making coffee in the morning. The free breakfast downstairs is awesome, with plenty of tables. A typical morning was to go downstairs, grab a USA Today and Washington Post, and drink coffee surrounded by people in BDU's who are about to head over to the Pentagon (which you can see from the hotel). The neighborhood seems very safe and we never used the shuttle. It is a short walk to the Metro stop, and we used the blue line to get to town so we didn't have to change trains. So convenient! Also, there is a free dinner M-W, with beer and wine. We had pizza with salad and hot dogs with salad; perfect for my kids. We adored this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnsenFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here for 4 days from July1-4. We were on the 8th floor, and looked directly across the parkway at the Washington Monument, with the Capitol building off to the right. Awesome at night. Metro stop is 2.5 blocks away, only 2 stops to L'Enfant Plaza, which will take you to the Mall, Capitol Hill, or allow you to change to other lines. The bonus of being here on July 4th is the 15 min walk to the Air Force Memorial where you can sit on the hill and enjoy not only the fireworks on the Mall, but 5 or 6 other displays off in the distance. Nice breakfast buffet. Nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitbytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City

Address: 550 Army Navy Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-2888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Arlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $101 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing