We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than you might think; great bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We visited on a winter weekend and got a great rate for less than $80. It was close to our friends in Arlington so the location was ideal, but even they were were surprised with how nice this older hotel is. Our room was small and the TV was set up at kind of a weird angle to the bed, but everything appeared very clean, crisp and newly redone. The bed was amazingly comfortable. Nice bathroom. The hotel has a small lap pool, which is great, but unfortunately (and surprisingly), it lends a chlorine smell to the lobby. No breakfast is provided with the room but there is a small cafe where you can pick up a light pre-prepared breakfast. I'm sure we'll return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretVirginia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewAnderson, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hello Margaret,

Our hotel has been here since 1992 and we're glad you noticed our efforts in keeping our hotel up-to-date! I will have our engineering team look into finding a way to limit the chlorine smell that sometimes makes it to the lobby. If your friends are within a mile radius of our hotel in Arlington, we'd be happy to drop you off and pick you up in our complimentary shuttle to meet them from 7:00am-10:00pm. You can all also join us for dinner and drinks at the Bistro from 5:00pm-10:00pm.

We look forward to welcoming you again and please let me know if I may be of assistance beforehand.

Best Regards,

Mathew Anderson
Property Coordinator
Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Courtyard
1533 Clarendon Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22209
ph: (703) 528-2222
fax: (703) 528-1027

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 536 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

Close to Metro, close to DC, restaurants and Iwo Jima Memorial, Fort Myer, and Arlington Cemetery. I will stay here again and can recommend this to you if you are visiting in Northern Virginia or metro DC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loist51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewAnderson, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for the great recommendation Lois! It means a lot to be recommended by a top contributor and added to the positive section of your long list of reviews. We look forward to seeing you again and if I may be of assistance before your next stay please feel free to reach out to me.

Best Regards,

Mathew Anderson
Property Coordinator
Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Courtyard
1533 Clarendon Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22209
ph: (703) 528-2222
fax: (703) 528-1027

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you need to stay in Rosslyn, the Courtyard Marriott is a great choice -- it's a nicer property than many others in the area in its price category (Holiday Inn, Residence Inn, etc.) and feels much more up-to-date since it's been renovated recently. Pros: non-smoking hotel, plenty of parking (though you have to pay for it), real Starbucks across the street (forget their in-house cafe downstairs). Cons: won't respect Marriott status perks (free breakfast, room upgrade) if you are on a government rate, rooms are a little on the small side, no club lounge, pricey if you're paying out of pocket, wifi slow. Would stay here again despite downsides, though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettybluebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewAnderson, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Happy Thursday Prettybluebike,

We're happy to hear you would stay with us again - we'll address the downsides before you return so your next stay will be excellent!

All Marriott hotels do not allow smoking in the rooms but we do have a designated smoking section just around the corner from the lobby entrance to accommodate you. We can point it out for you next time you are here. Our Bistro staff has regular trainings to stay up-to-date on proper techniques and procedures for the Starbucks we proudly serve but the Starbucks only 1 block from us does offer a more complete menu. In addition to our dedication to service, our wonderful location in the center of Arlington also gives you access to hundreds of different restaurant options to choose from within only a couple mile radius!

Many Marriott properties offer varying degrees of amenities and rates depending on the brand but I can assure you, as a corporate run hotel, we gladly provide the perks the Courtyard brand has available to every guest. Our Courtyard does offer rates that include breakfast but you are correct in that the government rate does not. However, sometimes our standard rates including breakfast are cheaper than the government rate so please check multiple rates before you book to save money! Upgrades are also based upon Marriott Rewards levels and upon availability. As a Platinum member, you can receive an automatic upgrade to one of our suite rooms if any are available! Do you have a Marriott Rewards number?

There is not a very large price difference between our standard and suite rooms compared to the value you get so it sounds like you would benefit from reserving the extra space. If you are a Gold or Platinum member you can also receive complimentary, faster internet speed or only pay $4.95 to get better use out of our Wi-Fi as a non-member.

We look forward to seeing you again and please call or email me at mathew.anderson@marriott.com if I may be of any assistance.

Best Regards,

Mathew Anderson
Property Coordinator
Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Courtyard
1533 Clarendon Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22209
ph: (703) 528-2222
fax: (703) 528-1027

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a basic hotel located at a convenient place in Rosslyn (walking distance to two metro stations). The facility is older but nicely appointed. The lobby area is very modern and has a restaurant/bar. There us a small gym with a few nice machines. There is also a nice indoor pool and hot tub - open evenings during the week. Our king room was fine although a little small. The room temperature struggled a bit but it was during a very cold snap. Parking is available in an underground garage for $11 a day.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HappyValley1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewAnderson, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Hi HappyValley!

It's nice to hear most of our facilities suited your needs for your stay. I know it was cold during your stay so did you get a chance to utilize our complimentary shuttle? We want you to stay warm! It sounds like the hot tub helped you warm up but we apologize for your cooler room temperature. Our engineering team would be happy to take a look at any maintenance issues you may have during your stay - if this was not taken care of during your stay, please give us a call so we know which room to look at.

If you should stay with us in the future, we do have suites available that offer a full living room with upgraded amenities such as extra closet space, a TV, sofa, microwave, a larger vanity, etc. The price difference between the standard and suite rooms is not very large so it is worth the money if you need extra space.

While we are happy you had a nice stay, we want your stay to be exceptional! We would love the chance to serve you again to show you our wonderful service so please feel free to reach out to me if you return. I look forward to hearing from you with your answers!

Sincerely,

Mathew Anderson
Property Coordinator
Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Courtyard
1533 Clarendon Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22209
ph: (703) 528-2222
fax: (703) 528-1027

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a great location with very, very affordable overnight self-parking for guests. I have stayed here three times in the last six weeks and have never encountered any real problems.

The staff are friendly -- the service is what you would expect for a Courtyard. The hotel is very clean, unlike some hotels whose housekeeping staff cut corners.

My only complaint are the in-room televisions, which aren't as big and lack the high-quality, crisp picture quality of other Courtyard hotels. The free wireless internet is more than sufficient too.

Just be sure to place a 'do not disturb' sign on your door, as the housekeepers start cleaning rooms at 8 a.m. I had them try to clean my room at 8:30 a.m. twice; once mid-week and another on a Saturday morning, when I was trying to sleep in after a long week of work.

All in all, this is an average Courtyard that offers an excellent value over the very expensive hotels across the river in Washington.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetraincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewAnderson, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

It's great to hear that you've stayed with us so much recently! I'm glad our location, staff and hotel cleanliness have provided enough value to keep you coming back.

I have let our Engineering Supervisor know of your complaint about the TV quality so he will take a look to see if any adjustments can be made. The housekeeping cleaning times comments have also been passed on to our Housekeeping Supervisor. To help better accommodate your schedule next time, placing a Do Not Disturb sign on the door is a good option but we can also accept a request of when you would like your room cleaned. Just let us know and we'd be happy to help!

A common line I like to say about our hotel is "You get all of the conveniences of being in DC without paying DC prices" so I'm glad it sounds like you feel similarly. Feel free to reach out to me at mathew.anderson@marriott.com if you're in town. We'd love to host you again! Good luck with the cold weather this weekend in Michigan.

Sincerely,

Mathew Anderson
Property Coordinator
Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Courtyard
1533 Clarendon Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22209
ph: (703) 528-2222
fax: (703) 528-1027

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We visited the Washington DC area for Thanksgiving and stayed at this property. It was very clean, the staff was friendly and the room rate was very good for the area. Their daily parking rate was also much lower than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewAnderson, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your good review Charles! This year's Thanksgiving was actually very busy compared to previous years so I'm glad you were able to enjoy the holiday with the rest of our guests. Just before I wrote this we had a guest who stayed with us Thanksgiving already return because she enjoyed herself so much so I hope we will get to see you again too. Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Mathew Anderson
Property Coordinator
Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Courtyard
1533 Clarendon Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22209
ph: (703) 528-2222
fax: (703) 528-1027

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel: Very friendly helpful staff. Located in a quiet residential area, close to the Metro. Indoor coffee shop ( breakfast and dinner only ) with a large variety of food at a very reasonable price. What I liked most is that during morning rush hour breakfast, the hotel staff helps to minimize the line of hungry guests. Very spacious clean, equipped and well maintained room (almost a mini suit ), bathroom with all the usual amenities. Advice: When arriving from DCA or Union Station, take a cab. Do not take the Metro to Rosslyn station because though it is close to the hotel, you"ll have to climb a quite steep hill – a very unpleasant "shlapping" experience ( The Yiddish word for carrying / dragging ) your luggage.

Room Tip: The rear rooms on the 9 – 10th floor (the highest ones) face very close the landing / take off trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raffi1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewAnderson, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your glowing review. I'm happy that the first thing you mentioned was our staff. Our number one priority is to provide every single guest exceptional service: from the way you are greeted, how your food and beverage is prepared, and down the the cleanliness of your rooms, every detail is significant to us. I'm glad our efforts helped your enjoy your stay.

To follow up on your advice, I have an even better option which will also save you the cab money. When you arrive at the Rosslyn Metro stop, simply call the hotel at (703) 528-2222, ext. 0, and take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. This will save you the "shlap". Our shuttle runs from 7:00am-10:00pm. I apologize you did not get a chance to utilize this service upon your arrival but we would be glad to pick you up next time!

Should you happen to visit us again, my name is Mat Anderson and I am the Property Coordinator onsite here. My main responsibilities include caring for the needs of our corporate, government, group booking, repeat stay, and extended stay guests.

If you should need anything for your future stays at our Rosslyn Courtyard, please feel free to use me as your point of contact. Hopefully we will see you again soon and thank you for choosing our hotel!

Sincerely,

Mathew Anderson
Property Coordinator
Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Courtyard
1533 Clarendon Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22209
ph: (703) 528-2222
fax: (703) 528-1027

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Arlington
Hyatt Centric Arlington
#9 of 52 in Arlington
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arlington Court Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn

Address: 1533 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Arlington
#26 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $77 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitalize on comfort and convenience at the newly renovated Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn. Located just two blocks from the Rosslyn Metro Station, our hotel gives leisure, business and government travelers direct access to experience the iconic Washington, D.C. You'll also be just minutes away from Arlington National Cemetery, where you can pay your respects to our nation's fallen heroes. Following a busy day, step into relaxation in our comfortable spaces. Complimentary Wi-Fi is provided to keep you connected to home and work, or stream your favorite movies and shows. Once you wake up, power your mornings with breakfast sandwiches and Starbucks® coffee at The Bistro, then make sure to return in the evening for tasty entrées and signature cocktails. Productive meetings and intimate celebrations can be easily hosted in one of our three event spaces. In your spare time, launch into a sweat-drenching cardio session at our newly expanded fitness center. Take your travels to the next level at Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Arlington Marriott
Arlington Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing