We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Frequent trips to the Residence Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Ct
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Frequent trips to the Residence Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Residence is a hotel that we stay in frequently, since our daughter lives in Arlington. It is a very convenient location and within a short distance to DC. We have always had good service, pleasant personnel and would recommend the Residence Inn to any traveler in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schoolsout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    172
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
185
65
27
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is a few blocks away from the Rosslyn Metro station and a Safeway grocery store. Across the street is a Starbucks.

The room we got was a studio with a full-size fridge, microwave and dishwasher. We were able to buy groceries at the Safeway and eat cheaply and comfortably during our holidays.

The breakfast included in the price was very good with lots of choice, fresh and tasty.

We found the hotel ideal for visiting Washington, D.C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have traveled to 47 of the 50 states and four of the seven continents, and this was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Although their stated pet policy mentions only weight limit and a maximum number of pets, they told me when I arrived that there was a $100 non-refundable pet fee. Since I couldn't afford to pay twice what the room was supposed to cost, I asked them to cancel my reservation so I could go elsewhere. They first told me it was out of their hands b/c Expedia booked the room. When I called Expedia and they immediately agreed to cancel the reservation, the Marriott clerk still refused to release the charge on my credit card. Both he and the manager made it quite clear the money was all they cared about. They are indifferent to customer satisfaction. Because of the hotel's location, they probably get a lot of business customers who aren't paying out of their own pockets and don't care what the charges are, but if you're an individual traveling alone on a budget, these are not the folks you want to be at the mercy of. Their contempt for customers is stunning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our son goes to Georgetown and we always stay at the Courtyard. Because of the spaciousness of the suites and breakfast, I prefer Residence Inn brand but somehow I didn't realize that there was one in Arlington/Rosslyn. We had free Marriott vouchers so all we had to pay was the $14 parking.When I looked on line for prices for our next visit in May, they were $250, which is out of our price range. The room was lovely--a separate living room and bedroom which really helped in the morning when my husband got up early. We didn't use the kitchen but it is always nice to have a fridge for leftovers from dinner and a microwave for reheating same.
Pluses: 1)Great accessbility to both the Metro and the circulator bus which takes you right to Georgetown and beyond and leaves every 10 minutes. $1. Safe, fast, easy. Area felt completely safe for walking even at midnight. About four blocks or less from Metro--10 min walk.
2)Yummy free cookies at front desk day and night
3) Clean suites, spacious, very comfy beds, quiet hotel
4)Nice dining area--clean, lots of seating
5) Did not use the workout area, but my husband said it was just fine
6)Nice patio area off of the dining room for warm weather seating
7)Starbucks literally 5 steps away across the street
8)Fast free wi-fi
9)Parking garage safe and lots of space

Minuses:
1)TERRIBLE coffee both in dining room and near front desk. Please improve your coffee!!
2)The bathroom has the fan attached to the light and the fan was rattly and noisy, which wakes up anyone sleeping the bedroom. Might be helpful to have a sliding door between the sink area and bedroom so you could turn on the light to brush teeth without waking up anyone.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor in the front at the very end .Room 518. Only complaint was that in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this Residence Inn for 5 nights, from a Thursday night through a Monday night. We found the location very convenient to public transit, the airport, and places to eat. The hotel has a great breakfast and large rooms which made our longer stay more comfortable. Here is how we found our stay:

Access
We arrived on an afternoon flight at National Airport and found accessing the hotel by public transit very convenient. Once exiting the gate area of the airport just follow the signs to the Metrorail. At the entrance to the Metrorail Station there are machines that sell passes and farecards and there is an attendant that can assist you in purchasing a pass. We bought a SmartTrip Card with a 7 day fast pass rail pass, since we planned to do a lot of travel on the Metro. Then just board a Blue Train towards Largo Town Center or an Orange Train towards New Carrollton and get off in 5 stops at the Rosslyn Station. Trains heading towards the City are on the upper platform, so once you get off the train head towards the exit. The long escalators out of the station exit towards Fort Myer Street. Between the escalators is an elevator that exits between Moore Street and Lynn Street. If exiting the station onto Fort Myer take a left onto Fort Myer and then take a right on Wilson Blvd. On Wilson take a left onto Nash and you should see the hotel on the right, about a block away.
If you would like a weekly bus pass on your SmartTrip Card, there is a Commuter Store in the Mall above the Rosslyn Station that you can use to add it to your card. Bus 38B is near the hotel and can take you back and forth to Georgetown.

Dining
The hotel has a free hot breakfast every morning, and the selections are better than most Residence Inns. Some of the choices during my stay was French Toast, Breakfast Burritos, and a Breakfast Hash. Every morning they had waffles, toast, bagels, scrambled eggs, breakfast meats, cereals, and fruits. The breakfast area even had a Pepsi soda fountain. The hotel does have a dinner on Monday through Wednesday nights, but we never had it as we were out and about at dinner time. There are many quick service restaurants within 4 blocks of the hotel including Ruby Tuesday, Chipotle, McDonald's, Chop't Salads, etc.
There is a Safeway supermarket with a deli on Wilson Boulevard about 2 blocks from the hotel if you need groceries. Since each room has a small kitchen, there is a refrigerator to store your groceries. The front desk has printed directions they can give you to most nearby locations (ie. post office, grocery, subway).

Room
We were in Room 902, which was a 1 Bedroom Suite. The bedroom was pretty big and had a queen size bed. The bathroom had a tub and a large vanity area. The closet had a safe.
We were staying with an infant child and had a crib set up in the living room area of the room. The kitchen had a full size refrigerator with a ice maker, a small stove top, a dishwasher, and a microwave. Any hotel in Arlington is going to have some plane noise from National Airport. While the hotel was pretty quiet, if you want total quiet, bring some earplugs.
The hotel had laundry rooms on the 3, 4, 9, and 11th floors. The washer and dryers use tokens, so before going to the laundry room visit the first desk for tokens.

The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from the Marine Corps Memorial so this is a must see.

Room Tip: Our room was a bit warm, but if this is a problem the windows open for circulation. While the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlabamaTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms were lcean, the people were very nice. Location is excellent, 3 blocks from the metro right over the river from DC. The neighberhood is quiet at night, if you want walkable stuff, stay a little west in Ballston. The room was near the end of it's life and the bed was not that good , they should remodel within the next 3 years. We were there short term, but I could stay a few weeks, especially with the close commute....

Room Tip: High floor >10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would recommend this hotel any time one has business in the Rosslyn, Arlington VA area. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is also convient to resturants and shopping. Plus the breakfast and dinners are included and a great way to have a meal and not have to get out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
#26 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn

Property: Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Address: 1651 N Oak St, Arlington, VA 22209-2707
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Arlington Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing