We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting menu”
Review of Eat Bar - CLOSED

Eat Bar
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Latin, Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“interesting menu”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

An tapas experience but with American standards. The menu has some really interesting options. I loved every item with beets in it. The cassoulet, while not like anything I have ever seen in France, was good. The corn dogs were a miss for me but my mom loved them. I thought meat did not have any flavor. The drink are fun combinations. They were out of chicken and I wish they could have told us that when we ordered as our waitress came back twice to tell us the items were not available after we ordered them. Also thee lighting is really dim. My dad had a real hard time reading menu. We saw another 'senior' at another table have the same problem - bigger candles on the table might help. My dad did think he was at 'hip' place though because of that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olgajane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Large Beer List and Eclectic Menu”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful little place right off of interstate 395, and I do mean little. Make sure you get there early on Friday and Saturday night to get a seat. A very popular place with the locals and its adjacent to its "big-sister" restaurant, Tallula. Make sure you check out the sliders, bacon popcorn balls, and home-made scrapple with fried egg and tomato jelly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrownHornetGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A neighborhood pub, with excellent food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Most friendly little neighborhood joints don't have decent food. Eat Bar has excellent and innovative small plates. A fabulous place to meet friends, or watch the game!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SESNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lite meal and drinks”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our first visit to Eat Bar and we will be back. Been to Tallula and Eat Bar captures what was really good when Tallula opened. Love the corn dog bites. The bacon popcorn balls were ok. Good happy hour on wine and beer. Nice place. Great service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TnRpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“out of the box food”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

good tasting food and drink with a wide selection. They have adventurous food if you are willing to try it. Happy hour drinks are priced well, but food in general is on the expensive side since portions are so small. Our server was very busy and left us hanging, but another staff memeber came along and was very nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing