We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly interesting”

DEA Museum & Visitors Center
Ranked #20 of 97 things to do in Arlington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An educational and historical trip through the lifecycles and effects of illegal drugs in America.
ARLINGTON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Having lived in Arlington for many years I finally decided to check this place out. I spent a couple of hours reading all of the display materials. I found the early history of how drugs came to this country and became an epidemic and the consequent growth of drug enforcement to be the most interesting. There is also a lot of info about various drug busts, including materials confiscated during these events. Turns out the DEA is now largely focused on prescription drug abuse and production.

I would not recommend this to families with small children or early teens since there is a lot of reading to do. Parking is located at street meters and mall garages nearby. Metro is a couple of blocks away.

This museum can be easily combined with a trip to the Pentagon and Air Force Memorials nearby.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Idgie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great FREE Museum!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Definitely not something I ever thought about before but one day I was walking by and saw the sign for the museum. Then I read about it in one of the local magazines. It is a nice museum. It shows the histroy of drug use in the U.S. over time and some of the associated problems. Just make sure to check out their website in advance though, as they are only open certain days / times.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Tons of things to see”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Lots of reading and exhibits for a small museum. You can definitely spend a minimum fof 30 mins in there. Cool to see what items they seized from drug dealers and old undercover wardrobes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Best things in life are often free!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Spent a good 2 hours there learning about drugs and its history. Free admission but note the days open online. However, I must say that the exhibition unfairly put the blame on the Chinese workers who brought opium into the U.S. in the mid 1800s when it doesn't explain that the British - along with the U.S. - were the ones who introduced opium to China in order to weaken the nation physically and mentally for the Opium War.

Otherwise, very interesting and worth a special trip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ariesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Come See What the DEA Does!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I pass this museum often and had always wanted to stop, then finally convinced some out of town visitors to go with me. I liked it!!! It was fun to see what the DEA does. I didn't know a lot about that agency before we went - for example I hadn't thought much about how the current focus is on PRESCRIPTION drugs, not street drugs.
They have some cool displays of things the DEA has seized over the years. Historical information on the history of drugs. Very moving books of letters written by people whose lives have been affected by drugs (like parents' whose children have ODed).
It is not your average museum, but a fun place to spend an hour!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank PriusGirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DEA Museum & Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to DEA Museum & Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing