We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great brunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Grill And Diner

Luna Grill And Diner
Ranked #370 of 836 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian Friendly, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a local favorite place to enjoy Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and Brunch. We focus on providing great food with great service for your enjoyment! Look us up on our website, Facebook, and twitter to see daily and weekly special menus and offers!
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a very good restaurant. I would have given it a higher rating for its quality but it isn't the most creative menu. We generally eat there for brunch which is where it shines the most. Good service and lots of outdoor seating.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank StacyAnn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Food was ok but hostess went above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I came in on Monday morning with my father, a WWII veteran, as soon as we came in we were greeted and led to our table. We had asked for coffees our server seemed uninterested in assisting us. To my surprise, the hostess had refilled my fathers coffee and shook his hand thanking him for serving our county. Both my father and I were very touched by the gesture with that aside whatever we needed she was very helpful she refilled our coffees, she brought us our condiments, and she even brought us our check when our server disappeared. The food was great however the hostess made our Veterans Day very enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Coswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“A diner feel with better sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Shirlington boasts a great strip of restaurants. You can find about anything along their 2-block stretch. We chose the Luna Grill on a whim. The décor is ok. It feels a bit like a diner, but the food was better. Our table ordered an Asian salad, gyro, and another sandwich. It was all very good. Service was friendly. I wouldn’t describe it as a “must do,” but it’s a safe choice for sandwich fare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BLT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What happened? Going downhill big time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We've taken Luna Grill off our list of old standbys. It used to be that you could rely on Luna for a good, low-key, comfort food meal any day & any time. "Rely" was the operative word too because you could get the same good food at good levels for years & years. The management and servers cared about the place and the customers. Overall it was an enjoyable experience. However, on our last visit we noticed a few things: Totally new staff, booths & tables were dirty, hostess was chewing gum, servers were doing the things you see not to do on those restaurant makeover shows, plating was non-existent (just plop the food on the plate), quality of food wasn't as good (soggy fries, sloppy sandwich assembly). Maybe the place was sold? Under new (not as good) management? We noticed all the artwork on the wall had changed. Whatever's different, we didn't stay to ask but Luna Grill has sadly come off our go-to restaurant list. We mourn the loss. :-(

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seschneids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place for family lunch after Arlington Cemetery service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I searched the Internet for a great place to have 14 family members eat lunch after my dad was honored at Arlington National Cemetery on Sept. 13. I found Luna Grill and Diner and called Juanita, the general manager a week ahead. Even though she doesn't usually take reservations, she made one for us. And were we glad!! The restaurant is located in the heart of the delightful Village at Shirlington, just a couple miles south of the cemetery off I-395. It's a busy area, but there is free parking below the restaurant. Most guests sit at wooden booths in the restaurant, and there is an area at the back where Juanita arranged tables that just fit our group. Juanita and her servers took excellent care of us! The menu offered everyone delicious options. We would all go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Grill And Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing