We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Very Moving Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of the Unknowns

Tomb of the Unknowns
Arlington National Cemetery, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$110*
and up
Arlington Cemetery Plus DC Monuments Tour
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guarded around the clock by the Army's 3rd infantry, this memorial in Arlington National Cemetery honors unidentified American soldiers from the two World Wars and the Korean War.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Very Moving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was very moving - seeing the structure and then to experience the changing of the guard. Very sombre and well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,117
    208
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
146 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although this place is packed with tourists, you would never know it from listening. The crowd maintains a respectful hush while watching the guard on duty go through his paces. The ampitheater inside is worth a look as well. A MUST SEE while in DC.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dc4opera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Heavy on the heart....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It really is very heart wrenching to know there are so many that are unknown, I think this is an amazing tribute to all that have given up their lives for our freedom. Being here has really made me even more grateful for all the men and women who have given their lives for our freedom.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcjetskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reverent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were very fortunate the day we visited Arlington National Cemetery. We were visiting a couple of days after Memorial Day and were treated to quite the reenactment at that Civil War Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Period costumes and old musket salutes were featured. Close to noon, we ventured over to the main Tomb of the Unknown Soldiers and a were just in time for the epic changing of the guard. Totally unexpected and quite the incredible honor to witness the change over.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SageWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlyle, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Viewing the changing of the guard is something everyone should see. It's very impressive and an honor to watch these men guard the Unknown.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hylite49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tomb of the Unknowns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing