We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of the Unknowns

Tomb of the Unknowns
Book In Advance
$110.00*
and up
Arlington Cemetery Plus DC Monuments Tour
Ranked #2 of 85 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guarded around the clock by the Army's 3rd infantry, this memorial in Arlington National Cemetery honors unidentified American soldiers from the two World Wars and the Korean War.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Moving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited DC and Arlington for the first time in May 2013. We knew we had to visit Arlington National Cemetery and the Tomb of the Unknowns. We went late on a Saturday when it was cloudy and a light drizzle. What a moving experience! The men we saw with the Honor Guard were very impressive. While this is a solemn event, it is very touching to see how everyone there is quiet and respectful during the changing of the guard ceremony.This is a must-see if you are in the area. Along with the changing of the guard, we saw two sets of middle school students present wreaths to be laid at the tomb. It was a proud moment for me as an American. As another reviewer wrote, 'the rows and rows of white tombstones helps you understand just how many have given their lives for our freedom.' That is so true!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,314
    228
    29
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We paid for the tour bus and I highly recommend it, the cementary sits on 600+ acres.

Watching the changing of the guards was beautiful. It makes you very proud to be an American and I think if you're not you appreciate it just the same. Amazing

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank veronak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't miss when you visit Arlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very emotional experience. Dedicated military who out there 24/7 in all weather. Be sure and wait to see the changing of the guard.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank brucedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solomn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Everyone should witness the solomn changing of the guard. It is worth the wait -- I believe it occurs at the top of the hour. What a testimony to those who have fought for our freedom. and the rows and rows of white toumbstones helps you understand just how many have given their lives for our freedom. God Bless our Troops and God Bless America

Helpful?
1 Thank 7Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take your kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Please take your kids and show them what honor and respect mean. These men give their all too fully honor those who rest here anonymously and honor the memories of those who served and gave the ultimate sacrifice. They take this duty as seriously as anyone ever could and give 1000% to it. They have guarded the tomb through blizzard and hurricane, for decades and it is and extreme honor and commitment of lifestyle. Go, learn, observe, show your respect, and teach the next generation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tjb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tomb of the Unknowns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing