We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great View of Washington, D.C.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial

U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial
Book In Advance
$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
Ranked #3 of 86 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Commonly called the "Iwo Jima Memorial," the statue is a depiction of the famous raising of the U.S. flag on Iwo Jima and is dedicated to all Marines who have given their lives defending that flag.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View of Washington, D.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

No other war memorial captures the essence of the teamwork and cooperative spirit necessary to prevail on the battlefield as does the Iwo Jima Memorial. A great testimony to the 6,000 + Marines and sailors who gave their all capturing Iwo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Figmo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,308
    338
    52
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
414 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Five Marines & One Navy Sailor Stand Tall.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not until looking at my photos of the memorial, did I realize how moving the statue is. Zooming into the faces, hands on the pipe, front & back & the placement of the boots. Here is group of marines & one lone sailor raising the U.S. flag without cover, death at any second. Did these men think not to raise the flag. NO.

From a distance or up show this is one strong impressive memorial. 32 feet in height in bronze erecting a 60 foot pipe, holding the U.S. flag.

There are four information stands;

Making a Memorial.
The Flag Raising.
The Battle of Iwo Jima.
The History of The U.S. Marine Corps.

Making a Memorial tells how several life-size figures were used to construct the memorial, all from the Joe Rosenthal photo. The also shows the giant calf of Michael Strank and face of Rene Gagnon.

The Flag Raising is about the raising of a smaller flag, then the decision to raise a much larger flag.& how one photo captured the moment. Also are photos of all five marines & the sailor.

The Battle For Iwo Jima explains the necessary reason for taking the island, a landing base for damaged B-29 bomber returning from Japan. Also the length of battle & cost to both sides.

History of the U.S. Marine Corps mentions the first amphibious marine landing during the Revolutionary War, war of 1812, Boxer Rebellion in China, WW1 France, the Pacific Theater, Korea, Vietnam, Persian Gulf to Afganistan.

Just under the rim of the top, around the entire memorial is every engagement, with time & place, from the beginning to present, that the marines took part of.

I noticed very few words were spoken, probably out of respect to the monument & mariners. if words were spoken they were on the quiet side.If anyone wants to know if the United States is dedicated to a strong cause, this monument will show the world that the U.S. will never back down.

Finding the memorial is not an easy task. The monument is located on the far north side of Arlington, outside the cemetery. See my review of Arlington Cemetery for the quickest & shortest route. I took the long & winding route, however the time & exercise was worth the walk. My only regret was not taking more photos.

This memorial is one of three must see sites at Arlington, with President Kennedy's grave and Arlington House. If I ever return to Arlington, this monument will be first on my list.

Jack L, Syracuse, New York.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely lived up to my expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I have always wanted to see this memorial after seeing the iconic photo it is inspired by. In my mind it was going to be big and it didn't disappoint. Definitely my favourite memorial in DC!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wetyankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Spectacular visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just a very poignant and impressive memorial. I am so glad I finally was able to visit this part of Arlington

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“through the eyes of an adult”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

this site has even more meaning when viewed as an adult if anything it looked even larger than when i visited as a child. inspired memories of youth and tribute of thanks to those who had fallen, worthwhile to bring the young for them to learn about our nations' heroes

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bracha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing