We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe-Inspiring”

U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Day Tour of Arlington Virginia
More Info
$45.00*
and up
DC After Dark
Ranked #3 of 97 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Commonly called the "Iwo Jima Memorial," the statue is a depiction of the famous raising of the U.S. flag on Iwo Jima and is dedicated to all Marines who have given their lives defending that flag.
Ontario, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awe-Inspiring”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Do not miss this memorial. It is amazing in detail and splendor. It brings to memory not only the struggle on Iwo Jima but the spirit and sacrifice of our marines throughout this nations history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,497
    377
    58
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Memorial in DC”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We found this to be the most impressive monument in DC. We visited it twice. Once at sunrise and once after dark. It impressed us both times.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank H. Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Country”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Memorial makes you remember what our country stands for - how & why - and gives you great proud in our military, specifically the Marines.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Found by happy accident”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We missed our turn to head back to Virginia after visiting Arlington Cemetery and got on the wring road. All of a sudden on my left I saw the memorial! It took a few tries to loop back around & find the entrance (it really should be better marked), but am glad we did. IT IS HUGE. The sculpting is amazing, The detail! Made me proud of Marines every where. PLEASE try to find it, you won't be sorry. I think you could walk there from the cemetery, but we did not see signs anywhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fab50Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
702 reviews
509 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
“Breath-taking monument with great view of DC from across the Potomac.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

PROS: free 1 hour parking; moving memorial; right by tulip gardens; situated in a hill which offers great background views of the Capitol, Washington monument and Lincoln Memorial, Jefferson memorial; right beside Arlington cemetery.The expansive lawn offers great spots for a picnic.

CONS: about a 30 minute stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing