We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Memorial in DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial

U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial
Book In Advance
$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
Ranked #3 of 86 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Commonly called the "Iwo Jima Memorial," the statue is a depiction of the famous raising of the U.S. flag on Iwo Jima and is dedicated to all Marines who have given their lives defending that flag.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Memorial in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We found this to be the most impressive monument in DC. We visited it twice. Once at sunrise and once after dark. It impressed us both times.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank H. Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,306
    337
    51
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Country”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Memorial makes you remember what our country stands for - how & why - and gives you great proud in our military, specifically the Marines.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Found by happy accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We missed our turn to head back to Virginia after visiting Arlington Cemetery and got on the wring road. All of a sudden on my left I saw the memorial! It took a few tries to loop back around & find the entrance (it really should be better marked), but am glad we did. IT IS HUGE. The sculpting is amazing, The detail! Made me proud of Marines every where. PLEASE try to find it, you won't be sorry. I think you could walk there from the cemetery, but we did not see signs anywhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fab50Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
635 reviews
473 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 813 helpful votes
“Breath-taking monument with great view of DC from across the Potomac.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

PROS: free 1 hour parking; moving memorial; right by tulip gardens; situated in a hill which offers great background views of the Capitol, Washington monument and Lincoln Memorial, Jefferson memorial; right beside Arlington cemetery.The expansive lawn offers great spots for a picnic.

CONS: about a 30 minute stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Semper Fi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Who doesn't love our beloved Marine Corp. This memorial is the statue of the Marines raising the flag at Iwo Jima. This is in Arlington and close to the cemetary, its not in DC so if you are taking th Metro to Arlington, VA you can visit the Marine Corp memorial, Arlington Cemetary and the Pentagon all within a few train stops. All worth it....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank christmastree15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing