We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pentagon Tour - A Big Nothing”
Review of The Pentagon

The Pentagon
Book In Advance
More Info
$499.00*
and up
US Army and Pentagon Tour in Washington DC
Ranked #8 of 94 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The headquarters of the United States Department of Defense are housed in the massive Pentagon, whose five wedge-shaped sections represent the five branches of the U.S. Armed Forces.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pentagon Tour - A Big Nothing”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I went on the Pentagon Tour today. It was an enormous waste of our time. We were told to be there 1 hour before our tour started. When we showed up at the appropriate time we were told to go away for a half hour and come back. The tour is 1-1/2 miles walking through Pentagon corridors where they have display cabinets, placards, 911 quilts, etc. on display. However they never stop for more than just a moment to let you look at anything. The commentary by our tour guide seemed primarily to be about how large the Pentagon is, even how many phone calls they make and the number of toilets. We were also told about all the shops and services available in the Pentagon complex - even a Best Buy, CVS Pharmacy and their own video rental shop. At the finish of the tour we walked away feeling like we didn't really see anything interesting and the little we learned we could have read in 2 paragraphs in Wikipedia. I would certainly not recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank AverageAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    255
    160
    56
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 796 helpful votes
“Go with the right expectations and you will not be disappointing”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Be grateful that a Military building, the HQ of the USA's Military and Department of Defense offers public tours in the first place and go with the right expectations and you will not be disappointing. This is not Disney World. There is no walking off where you want to. No taking random pictures where you feel like it and really nothing that is going to excite you or fire your imagination.

People seem to go with the expectation that you are going to be allowed to tour all the sensitive parts of the building. To be shown: "This is where at a touch of a button we can command the entire Naval Fleet to fire on any given target". It is not going to happen people!

What you will have is a speedily talked and walked through and recited tour of some of the mundane aspects of life at the Pentagon. This is where we grab a coffee and have a donut, this is where we can rent DVDs, you can fit x number of football fields along this hallway. There appear to be some interesting historical exhibits along the halls ways as you walk through but since you have to keep moving, you don't get to read or take anything in.

You get to spend 2 minutes at the 9/11 memorial inside the building which was the final resting place of the fatal plane which struck to pay your respects.

For what it was I just enjoyed being able to set foot inside the Pentagon and took nothing away but this experience. Book in advance as far as possible as the background checks takes a while due to the volume of requests. You may only get notified you are allowed to tour days/ the day before you request to do it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank walshyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Neat experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not exactly what I was expecting from the heart of America's military might. The tour was outstanding, given by one of the young airmen, soldiers, sailors, or marines on the honor guard. It only covers the public areas and doesn't seem that long until the tour guide tells you how many miles you just walked through the halls. Just don't be expecting to see thousands of people walking around. There's a lot you don't get to see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank notleo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
462 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good glimpse into the Pentagon”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The public tour is a good glimpse into the Pentagon, and you get to briefly see some of the displays that litter the hallways of the building. The tour guides are very competent and knowledgeable, but you just don't have time to see everything or read what you do see on the tour. so my recommendation is that you do the public tour and then try to find someone who works there that you or a friend knows and get a slower, more in depth tour. Even if they don't know much about the building, if they are willing to take the time, you can see and take it all in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Limited views and photographic memories only”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is not until you drive or walk around The Pentagon that you realise just how enormous and grand this building is. Based upon the reviews we did not opt for the tour however, you can appreciate how 23,000 employess can fit in one place. With exception of photographing the 9/11 memorial, there is little point in taking your camera: numerous do not take photograph signs, CCTV and plenty of armed police are at hand as a deterrent. Although somewhat dissappointed at our visit, necessarily, we realise this is a highly sensitive national command base, which is protected accordingly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pentagon also viewed

 

Been to The Pentagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing