We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military Service at Arlington”

Arlington National Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Arlington National Cemetery Guided Walking Tour
More Info
$13.50*
and up
Arlington National Cemetery Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$68.98*
and up
War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour
Ranked #1 of 97 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Military Service at Arlington”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My Uncle had requested a Military service. He had no idea it would be at Arlington. I'm sure he would have approved.

The service is incredibly solemn. A representative meets with the family beforehand in the visitors center. They talk about some of the details that will take place. Our representative was knowledgable and led a comforting hand. In our case, we had a Rabbi who would officiate at the actual ceremony.

After meeting with our representative, we drove in a small procession to the site where the service was held. Soldiers met us there. Everything in the service was done with reverence. They fired three shots and a soldier played taps. Our Uncle had chosen to be cremated so his ashes were placed in a vault where the Rabbi recited the mourners prayer. It was a beautiful mix of religion with mostly Military overtones.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank phaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,059
    1,148
    162
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Definitely check this out it is well worth the trip. It is amazing seeing all the tombstones all around you. Also you have a great view of Washington, D.C. Don't miss! There is a lot of walking but it is worth it

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2explrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Must visit for every American”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Every American should visit this site at least once in their life to pay their respects to the men and women who have served this country. The whole place is hallowed ground, simply walking through it will change you forever. Visit section 60 to honor the veterans of OIF and OEF.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cichosz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Perfect Tribute”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My first visit since 8th Grade reinforced my appreciation of this national treasure. The silence as visitors contemplated the Tomb of the Unknown was so impactful. The same for the respectful pilgrimages to the Kennedy grave site and nearby burial spot for Robert, Teddy & Joseph. There is now an excellent app that highlights particularly notable grave sites. This visit was on a sunny, brisk Veterans Day weekend. Solemn, beautiful and humbling.

Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sacred Ground”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Of all the places to see in the Washington D.C. area, this is the one thing you should see. Being in the military many years ago, the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknowns is one of the most moving experiences I have ever had, and to see the rows of white tomb stone markers is very emotional. The Kennedy graves are interesting to see, but to me did not compare to the Tombs of the Unknowns.Fort Myer is also a very interesting place, the homes of many Generals and the home of the 3rd infantry, the Presidents Honor Guard and Guards ot the Tombs of the Unknows.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank caddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing