We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable & Quite Moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Entrance at Arlington Memorial Bridge, Arlington, VA 22211
(877) 907-8585
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$69*
and up
Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Arlington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable & Quite Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent a couple of hours at this treasured monument, & it didn't take long to appreciate the significance of where I was.

Arlington National Cemetery is steeped with history.

You get a lump in your throat when you pass President John F Kennedy's Memorial. It really makes you think in a dignified way what has passed before our time.

A very proud moment for me having visited this after many years of wanting to be there.

Worthwhile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hope, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Changing of the Guards-MUST SEE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The changing of the Guards is a very powerful ceremony. We also got to see the changing of the wreath. Beautiful. The cemetery is full of history and is breathtaking. There is plenty to see and they give you a great map to get you through. BUT eat before you go and bring something to drink especially if your are walking it all. There are no refreshments at all at this location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug4574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Lots of history and things to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is an impressive place to visit. It is a cemetery but it is also a place to see the history of the US and those that contributed. The walks are fairly easy and the grounds are well maintained. Well worth a visit when in Washington DC

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank walshy1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was my first visit ever to Arlington National Cemetery and every US citizen should have this experience. We took the subway which was quite easy with the station easily exiting at the cemetery visitor center. Since our time was limited and did not allow us to walk, we purchased the trolley tour ticket which was well worth it. We were able to see the changing of the guard and also the Lee Mansion. Again, this impresses on everyone the price of freedom. A must see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosesSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Take a guided tour if you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

News flash - This is a cemetery. There is no show, there is no shopping. It's a place to go and reflect on how blessed we are that there are people who have sacrificed their lives for us.

Having said that, each grave tells a story, and there are thousands of stories here. If you just walk around and look at tombstones, you will miss so much. I'm sure there are several tours available, but we connected with DC by foot and our tour guide made Arlington come alive, so to speak.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing