We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be there”

Arlington National Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.98*
and up
War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour
Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is a perfect place to remind ourselves why we are all here as American. Visit, especially the Section 60 & surrounding area where you see funerals of yet young military personnel held everyday. Look at the lines and lines of stone heads, many of those are so new and bright under the sun. Touch and read those. Feel the unspoken words of those who sacrificed themselves for the country. It will be very inspiring. At least, it was for me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoodTimeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,724
    1,108
    153
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
2 reviews
“Lest We Forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was raised in Washington DC and after 38 tears made a visit home. Toured Arlington Cemetery to visit old friends and to take in the unspoiled beauty of the site. DC has changed but the serenity of Arlington National remains unchanged. A must for every visit to DC.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SilverSpringBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson,nv
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An awe inspiring sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Every American should visit Arlington...it is an amazing yet humbling experience to look at the acres and acres of military headstones. My suggestion is to take the tour available there because you get more information then you would on your own.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

When you understand the magnitude of this place, it really hits home what the true price of freedom actually is for this country. It is worth the few dollars to take the tour and don't leave without watching the changing of the guard. It is a humbling and amazing experience and not to be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank missrenees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An Arlington Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Imagine our surprise when we found not only the magnificent Arlington Cemetery in Arlington, VA, but we also found Robert E. Lee's home. The home was beautifully maintained, but our guide indicated that they were not always staffed enough to handle the vegetable and flower gardens out back. The docent who accompanied us was well versed in U.S. and Southern history, as well as background concerning many of those buried at Arlington. It is well worth the trip just to see the home.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edie Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing