We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Moving”

Arlington National Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.98*
and up
War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour
Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Moving”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I over planned my day and didn't make it to Arlington until 5:30 on a day it closed at 7. Fortunately, I did make it in time to see the eternal flame burning at Kennedy's grave and to watch the last changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unkown. Both are well worth visiting.

The sheer number of gravesites is sobering and I have seldom felt such gratitude and patriotism as I did walking the grounds at Arlington. I recommend it to any and all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wildiris117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,819
    1,112
    153
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must See”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Chilling and awe-inspiring, I can not imagine anyone visiting ANC and not being affected by its vastness, beauty and historical importance. The first thing I felt when we actually entered the grounds were chills and this quiet respect on a level I have never felt before. The Changing of the Guard at the Tomb of the Unknown was probably the most memorable experince I have had. There are no words to really convey the experience because all in all it feels very personal. A must see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KRUdvare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful and Dignified Resting Place”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Take your time to appreciate the calm and the beauty of this National Cemetery. The attention and care of the grounds are amazing. I am fortunate to have a relative who lives several blocks away and was able to take several walks here. It is a beautiful arboretum, along with a dignified resting place for our fallen service men and women. There is no running or cycling in the Cemetery and this keeps the peace.The Iwo Jima monument is especially magnificent during late afternoon and early sunset.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank paintermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Extremely overwhelming”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This site was huge! It's an overwhelming place to walk around and just be in the presence of our nation's fallen heroes. We unfortunately wore sandals and flip flops so we didn't get far. We did see Kennedy's grave but it was a far walk to the tomb of the unknown soldier. I guarantee we'll visit again and next time we'll were our sneakers!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pear B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
165 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is definitely worth the trip (it's accessible by Metro, but much easier to get to by taxi if you don't mind the extra cost). We particularly enjoyed visiting the JFK gravesite and, of course, the Tomb of the Unknowns. The latter is treated as a separate attraction on TripAdvisor so this review is for the rest of the park. The rolling hills covered with gravesites makes quite an impact and it reminds you just how many men and women died to defend this great country. A wonderful place for remembrance and reflection.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dc4opera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing