We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery
Book In Advance
$68.98*
and up
War Memorials and Arlington National Cemetery Tour
Ranked #1 of 85 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Veterans of every American war from the Revolution to the country's most recent conflicts are buried at Arlington, which was officially declared a military cemetery in 1864. Among the more than 260,000 dead are three unidentified service members, buried at the Tomb of the Unknowns, and John F. Kennedy, whose gravesite is marked by an eternal flame.
Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Of course this is a very moving place to visit. Take the trolley ride around the cemetery. There is no way we would have been able to see as much as we did without it. They will also take you to see the changing of the guard, which happens every 30 minutes and give you a chance to get off the trolley to see the Kennedy's grave site. Overall, it took about 45 minutes and made three stops.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shoppin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,090
    1,001
    141
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tolleson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place was very peaceful. We did the bus tour that took us to the three stops. Since we had kids it was necessary, but it cost money. Watching the changing of the guard as very neat. It had such detailed precision. My children were moved during the ceremony. We spent just over 3 hours there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4QueeensandaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basiglio, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An oasis of Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

War and then Peace!
The hills covered by white tombstone are impressive.
The only thing not good is the precence of some huge stones (for the people who paid for). At the death all soldiers gave the life for the nation without any difference in census.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank maria pia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful and HUGE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Two words to describe this cemetery: beautiful and HUGE!! It is quite a long walk to see the different sites and if you go on a hot summer day like I did, it makes the walk seem even longer!! Make sure you bring a bottle of water!! I suggest looking at the map online and picking the sites you want to see ahead of time so that you can be sure to set aside enough time to check everything out. One of the "Must See" is the changing of the guards at the tomb of the unknown soldier that happens every hour, you definitely don't want to miss it!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iLive4Adventuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“must not miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On my recent visit to Washington I took the metro to Arlington cemetery and went on the hop on hop off tour great attraction and well worth doing. The cemetery is full of history don't miss the grave of War veteran and film star Audie Murphy the crew from the space shuttle Apollo and of course the eternal flame of also stick around for the changing of the guard this was a stand out attraction and one not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Arlington National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing