We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and delicious!”
Review of Oegadgib

Oegadgib
Ranked #38 of 119 Restaurants in Annandale
Cuisines: Korean
Description: Annandale's best Korean BBQ, complete with a shabu shabu, endless meat plate that they prepare table-side.
Restaurant details
Description: Annandale's best Korean BBQ, complete with a shabu shabu, endless meat plate that they prepare table-side.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This restaurant always seems to be filled with Koreans and students which attests to its authenticity and affordability. The all you can eat BBQ means dozens of small dishes are quickly brought to your table along with a pile of salad with the most addictive dressing I've ever tasted.
A variety of beef, chicken and pork belly are then delivered and the grilling begins right at your table. Food is delicious. Staff is attentive and helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Outstanding cuisine, excellent prices”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

By far the best Korean food I have ever had! Big portions as per US sizes, so totally worth your money too. Staff is friendly, but speak limited English. Been there twice in the last 4 days, and definitely will be going back for more!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zsofinyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This Is the best korean bbq joint in town the salad is fanominal. We get the unlimited bbq for 16$ can't beet that! Seriously

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_Huntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Money worth!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Very nice! Always order All you can eat BBQ. You can order different kind of meat for BBQ. They also provide sorts of Korean appetizer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melody_925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the Hassles”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

It's hard to find, the name is unpronounceable, the staff speak little English and the parking lot has bad lighting and deep potholes — the food, however, is worth all of the hassles.

It's hard to imagine that a restaurant with frontage on Little River Turnpike in downtown Annandale would be hard to find, but Oegadgid is hidden in back of a long parking lot with a vet and a Jerry's Sub Shop obscuring its sign.

The restaurant — once you navigate the potholes and find it — is very attractive and clean. The décor features white-washed walls and lots of exposed cherry wood and a fire place. This, and the pervasive smell of wood smoke, gives the place a rustic, lodge-like feel. It is also handicapped accessible, so I arranged to meet a friend who uses a handicapped scooter there. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty, watching the lot until she arrived, which proved a good thing since her scooter got stuck in a parking lot pothole.

The food is simply the best Korean food I've ever had. It strikes just the right balance between flavorful and fiery. The meal began with complementary soup and steamed egg. I don't like fish, but their seafood pancake which was crisp with just a hint of oiliness, is one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten. My friend ordered the Korean Barbecue ($15.99) which came with a seemingly endless assortment of banchan (Korean small dishes) that included many forms of kimchi, the ubiquitous pickled cabbage. There were several other pickled and fermented vegetable dishes, noodles, green salad and even a form of potato salad. The banchan was a fun exploration of the many splendors of Korean cuisine. The barbecue itself was sort of an anti-climax as the meat was rather tough. We ended up sharing because portions were humungous. My pancake and her barbecue could easily have fed four people and the total for the meal was under $25.

Language is a bit of a barrier here. When I asked the waitress for silverware she kept asking if I wanted pork and it took a while before I realized that she meant "fork." I would have liked to have gotten more information about all the fascinating food on my plate, but no one had enough English to explain the dishes to me. At the end of the meal, we both were given a complementary sweet rice drink. It took us a while to figure out whether it was a finger bowl or part of the meal. The staff was very good natured and obliging, however, so the language barrier never reached the level of frustration.

Oegadgid has a large, fully-stocked bar that takes up about a third of the restaurant. Selections include the national drink, a rice-based liquor called Soju.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GonzoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oegadgib also viewed

Annandale, Fairfax County
Annandale, Fairfax County
 
Annandale, Fairfax County
Annandale, Fairfax County
 
Annandale, Fairfax County
 

Been to Oegadgib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing