We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a lesson in customer service”
Review of Gray Ghost Winery

Gray Ghost Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nokesville, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Need a lesson in customer service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Haven't been back to Gray Ghost since they charged me for a tasting of their dessert wine when I bought a case of their wine. I used to go all the time, but to be so petty and charge $$can't remember if it was $5, but that did it.

Helpful?
Thank chambasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun spot to sample wines”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stopped for a wine tasting on our way to the Inn at Little Washington. The wines are good. We bought a couple of bottles, the Reserve Chardonnay and the Red Rose. Hospitable hostess and nice grounds.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BodieMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Nice little winery!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

After a few hours on the motorcycle on Skyline Drive, we decided to check out some VA wineries. We love sweet wines and know its hard to find anything that compares to the ice wines of Niagara-on-the- Lake, but we sample a few wines at Gray Ghost and came home with a bottle of Adieu! Very nice late harvest that is just sweet enough without being heavy and syrupy! Nice folks inside as well! A good stop for us!

Helpful?
Thank KeyLimeLover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Favorite wine”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I believe that Gray Ghost 'Ranger Reserve' is some of the finest wine in the world.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieValleyWeddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly Winery”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I went to Gray Ghost as part of a day-long winery tour. The people here were very friendly (and even took a picture of our group for us). Because we were a larger group they put us in a separate room for our tasting. Overall, it was a great experience and I enjoyed the wines as well.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAuntA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Ghost Winery also viewed

Amissville, Rappahannock County
Amissville, Rappahannock County
 
Amissville, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Gray Ghost Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing