We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable lunch”

Traveler's Fine Food and Drink
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Amherst
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: American
Description: We encourage creativity in our kitchen.
Restaurant details
Description: We encourage creativity in our kitchen.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Simple fare but well prepared and good service. Not much to see or do in Amherst, VA but if you are driving south on Route 29 around lunchtime, it is worth a stop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A wonderful surprise in the small town of Amherst. Completely charming bistro atmosphere in historic brick old downtown building. The menu reflects local produce, thoughtful combinations and excellent preparations, a modern interpretation of traditional cuisine. Nice wine list. Service was informed and attentive, even on this busy local college weekend. Really an unexpected delight of an excellent meal in this hospitable little country town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlerMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Va.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food and the waite staff was good. I had the oyster platter and it was really good. the prices were average. and there is plenty of street parking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, VA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food with great options”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food is always good. Usually short wait if any at all. Love the she crab soup. I have never had any I enjoyed any more than what is served at Travelers. Occasionally serves Bourbon Street Steak, which is my favorite. Reasonably priced. Waite staff is top notch. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tpgowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat in the town of Amherst”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We go to Travelers a few times a year. The menu has good variety and the food is consistently very good. We always get great service here as well.

We used to go to briar patch more often, but definitely prefer Travelers for this style of food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBrownHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traveler's Fine Food and Drink also viewed

 

Been to Traveler's Fine Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing