We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean place to spend the night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amelia Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amelia Inn & Suites
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean place to spend the night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We chose this particular hotel because of it's location. Just a couple miles down the road is the Morefield Gem Mine and we had plans to get to the mine early the next morning. We did not have any expectations for our stay except to have a bed to sleep in.

The hotel looks nice enough on the outside. The parking lot is in need of repair where it transitions from the parking lot for the shopping strip to the hotel entrance. Otherwise, I have no other comments about the exterior.

The check in process was easy and we had our keys within a few minutes. We prepaid for the accommodations through Choicehotels.com. One thing to note: We purchased a room with a "kitchen" and was given keys to a room that did not have a "stove". When we went back to the front desk to straighten this out, she let us know that you can have a room with either a stove top or a microwave. You cannot have both. We opted for the stove top, but did not use it. The stove top consist of two electric stove top elements. No oven.

The room was ok. Several items needed repairs in the room... the high speed data port could not be used due to being pushed all the way in the wall outlet, and the towel rack above the toilet was about to fall off the wall. I will say, though, that the heat/ A/C unit looked brand new and worked great!. Bed coverings were ok but look they they will need to be replaced soon. I was a little surprised that the bathroom counter was granite! Bathroom sink was nice and deep. Shower pressure and temps also very good.

The continental breakfast was pretty good. Consist of little muffins, make-your-own waffles (my daughter loved this), cold cereal, juice, coffee, and milk. No fruits or danish. We appreciated this free amenity.

Overall it appears the staff are making good attempts to keep the place running as best they can. One last comment I would make... they use copier paper with hand-written notes all over the place. The signs really cheapened the place in my opinion. I would make an investment for more permanent signs.

Being right next to a McDonalds restaurant on a Friday night I was concerned about possible noise during the night, but this was not a problem at all.

I would stay here again if we were to find ourselves in the area.

Room Tip: Have a choice of either a stove top with 2 burners or a room with a microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonStaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
7
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel last night due to power outage from Hurricane Irene. I do not normally stay at Econo Lodge but most Hotels that had power were full. This one is brand new so we took a chance. I was very pleased with the Hotel. It was well managed, clean and had all the basic necessities. For the price it was a very good value. One tip though - Avoid the Mario's Italian & Pizza place next door. It was a rip off, the food was of poor quality and the place was dirty.
As for this Hotel if you are looking for clean , basic value this Hotel will suit you well!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRWilcox
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

The Econo Lodge is clean and basic -seems almost new. No frills but has everything you need. Its small, quiet and offers breakfast (we didn't make it to breakfast in time but McDonald's is just a hop away).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Spent one night in king room. Large room with king bed sleeping space at one end and full sofa, love seat, TV and desk arranged as living space at opposite end of room. Two large windows on outside wall with 2 air/heat HVAC units that worked well. No closet but ample clothes rod and shelf on wall in entrance for hanging clothes. Iron and ironing board also at entrance. Lots of cabinets in kitchenette area with sink, 2 burner stove, microwave and small refrigerator. Four-cup coffee pot with supplies for 1 pot regular, 1 pot decaf & 1 cup tea. One packet with 2 sugars, 2 sugar substitutes and 2 creamers. Large bathroom with single sink & good water pressure in shower. Basic toiletries provided; small soaps, shampoo & lotion. Only two bath towels and two washcloths in bathroom. Hair dryer not located in bathroom; must be picked-up at front desk. Living area clean, but hair on bathroom floor and in bathtub. Many spots on carpet in living area and spill (probably coffee) running down bathroom wall above trash can. Comfortable bed but the 3 pillows were stained. Complimentary breakfast was 2 types of cereal & milk, muffins, make-your-own-waffles, juice & coffee. Front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. These could be very nice accommodations, but it looks like the rooms are not being well maintained with routine repairs and cleaning. I would stay again - but wouldn't pay extra for the larger room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agamemnon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this two-story hotel to attend a nearby funeral, and while the occasion wasn't joyous, the hotel's hospitality and room were exceptional.

Our king-bed room was spacious and clean beyond what the big-named hotels offer at places I stay for business purposes.

The bed was at one end, two sofas and chair in the middle, and credenza with television and desk at the other end. A sink, refrigerator, cupboards, and counter were to the left, and lavatory in the left corner.

I brought my laptop to access the Internet, and that free connection was also great.

The only noise heard during our two-night stay was snoring coming from the room next to us (someone was tired beyond belief), but the hotel cannot be blamed for that.

Breakfast in the lobby consists of toast, muffins, waffles you make yourself, juice, and coffee. McDonald's is directly outside the hotel, and so is Food Lion supermarket, Family Dollar, and other assorted strip mall shops.

There's plenty of parking around the hotel which is just as well maintained as the inside.

This facility is absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pepper1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amelia Court House
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Burkeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
17.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harbour Pointe
23.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond - Brandermill - Hull St
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Inn & Suites

Property: Amelia Inn & Suites
Address: 15181 Patrick Henry Hwy, Amelia Court House, VA 23002-4700 (Formerly Econo Lodge Amelia Court House)
Location: United States > Virginia > Amelia Court House
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amelia Court House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amelia Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Amelia Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing