We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good!”

Main Street Cafe & Coffee
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Altavista
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Altavista's #1 restaurant and destination dining experience in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Whenever I am home visiting family, I make a point to visit Main Street Cafe at least once. I really enjoy their menu and still remember banking there when we were first married many,many years ago! It is a treat to have somewhere to go that you can go and enjoy something that is not fast food and take your time to visit with friends. They give you quality meats on your sandwiches and don't cut corners. Really glad Altavista has it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burlingtonnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for your loyalty to come see us every time you're in town! We love being a part of the Altavista community and its rich history. We work very hard to not cut corners here, and it's good to know that it shows. Keep coming back and seeing us, and we'll keep cooking really good food for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy meal”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We headed to Main Street for lunch after reading about it on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. A varied menu with many combinations and all made to order. Very tasty and quick - a definite cut above your standard sandwich shop (particularly in a small town). Bonus for me - many tea selections. A definite winner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdlmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, July 28, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. Our tea selection rotates seasonally, so be sure to come back and see what's in stock next time you're down in our neck of the woods. Right now we're brewing Teatulia Lemongrass, Ginger, White, Green, and Chamomile teas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing panini's”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is ranked number 1 on trip advisor for a few reasons; there's not many places to eat in Altavista, it's freaking amazing, and good selection of fresh things.

Although, we waited a little while for our food, it was completely worth the wait. I had the Main Street Club, warm turkey breast, bacon, lettuce, tomato, ref onions, and melted mozzarella cheese all toasted as a panini. It was fantastic.

When I am back for business this is the new best lunch place.

You gotta go!

Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, Kyle. We pride ourselves on the quality of our ingredients, but that's no excuse for slow service. We're constantly looking for ways to improve, so thank you for pointing this out. We hope you'll come see us again next time you're in town, and don't hesitate to let us know if your experience isn't up to par!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As other reviewers have said, Main Street Café has a great selection of sandwiches. The breads they use are wonderful - fresh and tasty. There were 4 in my group. Two of us had the Rueben Panini. If you like Rueben sandwiches but don't want the "fried in butter" on the bread, this is the sandwich for you. The corned beef was SO tender!! The marbled bread added nice flavor to this classic sandwich. One person had the veggie wrap. It was huge. She could only eat half the wrap. The fourth person had a BLT. The bacon was very flavorful as was the sourdough bread. The only downside was slight. Their desserts consisted of cookies or blueberry scones, no pies, cakes or other gooey, decadent items. But the cookies were really good! YUM!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReikiForAllBeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! Our Reuben is grilled with olive oil, a little garlic and oregano - definitely better than frying it in butter. Thank you for the feedback on our baked goods, too. We will be expanding our selection of desserts in the coming months as the holidays approach. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“High quality”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an odd (but nicely odd) place, a sandwich shop attached to a mostly-Vera Bradley gift shop. Regardless, the sandwiches are fresh, made to order, inventive and served quickly. Also, it's a very, very good bargain. Still, a little odd - but again, in a good way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Manager at Main Street Cafe & Coffee, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and your honest feedback. We are definitely in a niche in our area, and it is a bit unconventional to turn an old bank into a restaurant and gift shop, but we hope that we are using that quirkiness to our advantage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe & Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Cafe & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing