We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Room, Nice People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Alta Vista
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and were happy with our choice.
The gentleman at check-in was friendly and informed us about breakfast and WiFi.
We chose a whirlpool garden tub room and were impressed with the size of our accommodations. The room was huge. We loved it.
Realizing that it is hard to keep a garden tub room fresh and clean, we found that it met our very high standards. The carpet was in good shape with no odors. There were no signs of mold, mildew, or water damage. Bedding was clean and comfortable. Our room contained a refrigerator which worked well.
The breakfast bar included scrambled eggs, biscuits, sausage, cereals, fresh waffles, and much more.
Although right off a US highway, the hotel was quiet and away from most traffic.
Expect to drive a few miles up the same road to get to a restaurant or store.

The only negatives items were the outside door at the end of the hall had a broken mag-lock that left the entrance unsecured.
The whirlpool garden tub had several jets and moved lots of water but did not aerate the water. We looked for an air adjustment but saw none. Perhaps it just moves water. It was still relaxing, welcome relief at the end of the day.

If we ever return to Alta Vista we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryinStoneMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thanks for such a in-depth review! That takes time and recollection that we are so grateful for. We are pleased that you had a great and relaxing stay away from home. We know how important it is to be at ease and enjoy a good nights rest if you can't be at home. We have been in the process of trying to rectify the rear entrance door issue. Of course this is on the priority list of repairs/replacements. We want all of our guests and staff members to feel safe and secure while on the property and we strive to make sure this goal is met. We hope that you will return when in our area again and want to wish you and your family a wonderful and prosperous New Year! Thanks again for such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 209 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is an easy place to find away from the main highway. It is in a safe area away from anything. The office staff were friendly and suggested a great place to have dinner (Perry's). There is a gas station across the street and down the way. I will stay here again. The rooms are clean and nice. Overall it is a quiet easy going hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for leaving a positive review and glad to know that you enjoyed "Perkys". Come back again if you are in our area. Happy Holidays and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Friendliest staff I have ever encountered at any of my hotel stays. I travel a lot for business and
I had good stay. Do not usually leave review but I felt really appreciated so decided to leave a review for this hotel. Good size large rooms with microwave and refrigerator and comfy beds which are most important for me. nice touch ups with recreation area and hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We are so pleased that you had a great stay while here on business. Being away from home is a stress in itself and its satisfying to know that there are places that you truly feel welcome. Happy Holidays and we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised, the non smoking room was actually was nice. We had stayed at this hotel about 5 or 6 years ago and it was horrible, swore we wouldn't be back. Seems that the new franchise is working out well. The hotel is clean, the halls even smell good. The hot breakfast was fresh and hot! Definitely will stay again at this property.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for leaving us a positive review! We are striving everyday to improve our standards so you may have a pleasant stay when away from home. Let us extend a Happy Holiday wish to you and your family and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel deserves a 5 because my high expectations were not only met, but beyond exceeded. The room was very clean, and the shampoo smelt great! Even though the hotel seemed full, I slept peacefully through out the entire night. Also, having a flat screen was a plus. Overall, great southern hospitality and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphyRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Just read your review for us and we would like to thank you for leaving us such a nice review. Thank you and we certainly hope that we can serve you if you are in our area again. Happy Holidays to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This former Holiday Inn Express is a great deal. The staff was very kind and attentive to all our needs. The room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast was good, with lots of choices. If you are driving 29 between NC and Charlottesville, this is a good place to stop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thanks for the great review and the time it took to leave us a positive one. It is so satisfying to know that we are satisfying our guests. We look forward to serving you again in the future if you return to our area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place was very clean and the breakfast was really good. There was something for everyone. The front desk service was great. We had a mix up with our reservation, which was made through a different companies web site; but Bonnie quickly fixed the problem and even got our 2 rooms right across from each other. She also recommended a great pizza place for dinner. Bonnie was friendly and efficient. The only thing missing from this hotel was a pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaPapa540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj s, General Manager at Days Inn Alta Vista, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for a great review and taking the time to leave us one. We strive everyday to ensure that you have a great stay with us while traveling away from home. We look forward to serving you in the future. Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altavista
0 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
14.5 mi away
Camber Inn
Camber Inn
#1 of 2 in Gretna
225 reviews
14 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
146 reviews
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#13 of 23 in Lynchburg
313 reviews
11.8 mi away
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
#6 of 23 in Lynchburg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alta Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alta Vista

Address: 1557 Main St, Altavista, VA 24517-1160 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Altavista)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Altavista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Price Range: $54 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Alta Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Altavista Hotel. We re minutes away from Liberty University, Lynchburg College, and Randolph Macon Women s College.Take a visit to Appomattox Historic Park, Avoca Museum, or Blue Ridge Parkway. The Blue Ridge Parkway connects the Shenandoah National Park in Virginia to the Pisgah National Forest in North Carolina. There is so much to tell about the Blue Ridge Parkway, its many natural wonders, constant array of spectacular vistas and cultural mountain communities along its slopes, coves and valleys that this profile is a mere scratch of the surface.At Holiday Inn Express Altavista Hotel your wish is our command. Come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Alta Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alta Vista Hotel Altavista
Holiday Inn Altavista
Altavista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing