We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Everything was great. The only complaint I have is the breakfast is not very good. fake eggs, only one waffle maker and kept running out of food. Improve on this and you will be an Excellent hotel. My family and I were there to participate in a family reunion in Lynchburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gamecock2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here as a "home base" for some activities in the area, seeing Lynchburg and Red Hill. The pool was still open and it was a lovely weekend, so we spent some time just reading and relaxing in the sun.
The room as clean, but the bed was a little too soft for our taste. It did include a microwave and good-sized apartment fridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank-Staunton-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This was hard to find because it is on top of a hill. But we kept on until we found it. The desk clerk was so helpful in making us comfortable and the beds are great. A good nights sleep. They even helped us find the best place for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel needs to increase their general maintenance around the facilities. The landscaping was untended throughout the property and the liquid being caused by a leak in the main hallway right by the front door was being collected in a garbage can for our entire 3 day stay. They had had an issue with a room air conditioner and had taken it right outside the front entrance where it sat for days while it awaited maintenance or cleaning or whatever was needed to fix it. It is obvious that the staff has little energy when it comes to their jobs and it really shows in the facilities. The hotel is just showing signs of neglect and lack of interest from the personnel and owners which is a shame because its location make it a convenient place to stay while in the area.

There are no restaurants to walk to in the area but there is a small convenience store at the bottom of the hill that is convenient and there are lots of restaurants at the next exit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Staff was very nice and helpful. Hotel is an older one and somewhat dogeared in places, but it was clean. Room was comfy and pool area was nice. Breakfast was good and restocked. It could use some renovation, but that did not take away from my stay at all. Overall, I would return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank ohplease40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The burial of a good friend was the occasion that brought several of us together in Altavista. The inn is close enough to the freeway (between Lynchburg and Danville) to find easily and far enough away so you don't hear the noise. We found the desk staff of this inn very, very helpful and accommodating to our particular needs - holding a room for us when one of our number was late in arriving (the motel was full for the weekend), allowing us to check out two hours late, helping us locate the church and cemetery, even providing us with tape, paper and marker so we could leave a notice on the church door directing people from out of town to the cemetery. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed with all the usual amenities. The hot breakfast got us off to a good start the day of the service. While the inn is older and could use some refreshing, it was very clean and comfortable. I can't imagine I will ever be in Altavista again, but if I am I will plan to stay at the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vancouverval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights on a recent trip out east. The Inn needs some TLC, a deep cleaning and some maintenance issued dealt with. Internet access is extremely slow, so much so that I could not do any work on line at night. Early in the AM access was ok. Saturday morning breakfast was not as good as Friday mornings. With limited amenities, we felt the price was a bit much for what you receive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altavista
0 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
211 reviews
14 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
14.5 mi away
Camber Inn
Camber Inn
#1 of 2 in Gretna
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 24 in Lynchburg
361 reviews
11.8 mi away
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
#6 of 24 in Lynchburg
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South

Address: 1558 Main St, Altavista, VA 24517-1159 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Altavista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Altavista
Price Range: $50 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altavista
Altavista Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing