We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Blocks Off the Main Drag, Totally Worth It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Overwood - CLOSED

Overwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Reno Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Two Blocks Off the Main Drag, Totally Worth It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I had the bbq shrimp and grits ($14). I love grits but live in the west so don’t pretend to be a connoisseur, but the cheesy, garlicky grits at the Overwood were perfect, and topped with bacon wrapped, bbq sauced shrimp and a mushroom gravy. You would think that would be a mess, it wasn't. Or if it was that was some kind of good mess! Because it was morning and we were on vacation, we were forced to wash down brunch with bloody mary’s ($7.50) which were equally awesome. The Wife stuck to eggs, potatoes, bacon and toast. Not much room for mistakes or creativity, but the potatoes were good and, at her request, they overcooked the bacon perfectly. As if that were possible. (She doesn’t read my reviews, so I can critique her food faux pas). We were very happy we left King Street to find the Overwood!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3barblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    91
    26
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Decent food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant, a couple of blocks off the main drag of King Street in old town Alexandria. The food is not particularly unique, but it is generally well-prepared and the prices are pretty reasonable. My son and I ordered the surf and turf special - lobster tail and a thick cut of sirloin for about $25. The steak was prepared to perfection; the lobster tail a little bit overcooked but still very good with lemon and drawn butter. Homemade fries and coleslaw on the side – not fancy, but tasty and very filling.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Coupons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were drawn in that evening by coupons that Overwood had mailed. Typical coupons of 'buy one entree get one free' up to $12 value. We were two couples at the same table, however only one coupon would be honored. What difference does it make if we sit at the same table or opposite sides of the restaurant, or dine at different times? Give us two checks, if you must, to keep your bookkeeping straight. Or how about listing "only one coupon per table" on the coupon. Both the waitress and manager missed a chance for completely satisfied customers.
Food was okay.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dano49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fine meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I went to Overwood on a Saturday night (8 March) with a group of 12. In spite of the large crowd of us on a Saturday night the service was very good and my meal was especially tasty. I had an excellent house salad and a sirloin steak that was well done - just the way I like it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“wanted to love it, but just didn't”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went to try Overwood, drawn by its location in Old Town Alexandria and family-friendly reputation. Middle of a cold Saturday afternoon with hardly anyone there. Instead of being able to relax over our food, our meal was interrupted multiple times by our trainee server, the server's supervisor, the manager, etc., all asking at different times if we "liked it." We were given our check when we were less than halfway through our meal and the check turned out to be for someone else's meal. We couldn't understand the rush when there were only a handful of tables occupied. The food was ok but not remarkable.
We wanted to love it, but don't think we'll be back any time soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnicksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overwood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing