We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, nice portions, service was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shooter McGee's

Shooter McGee's
Ranked #145 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Landmarks / Van Dorn
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
258 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Good value, nice portions, service was good”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our first choice was closed for lunch, good thing for us as we were very pleased. Nice place, we'd come back..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Small, Very Cool...”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not too much to say about this, except: Cold Beer, Great bar food, QUICK and Courteous service. The night I was there a kid showed up and played acoustic guitar covers and the people sung along. Excellent crowd, very laid back. PERFECT place to grab something to eat and blow off some steam after a hard day at work. All walks of life would feel comfortable in there. I know I did ---

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank qjlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Neighborhood find”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our table was ready when we arrived. Had great service and all five of us liked our meals. Outstanding food from a neighborhood bar. Ribs were particularly good. Were surprised when they offered a free dessert for a special celebration without prior arrangements. It added a special touch to the meal. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iminphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the extra steps past Reynolds Street!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we moved our oldest daughter into an apartment in Alexandra, we were happy that there was a little sports pub/”watering hole” right around the corner (Reynolds Street Bar & Grill), so we went and tried it out. What a disappointment! Dead atmosphere (on a Saturday evening), poor/slow/unfriendly service, and marginal food quality … but the beer was cold (something positive to say). A week or two later, the daughter advised us that she found another place … Shooter McGee’s … while out on a run, and said it was just a half-block further down the street, and she would check it out on the upcoming Friday. Her report was “two thumbs up,” so we were anxious to give it a try during a Friday evening visit a couple of weeks ago … and we concur!
We were there during “happy hour,” and sat at the bar and enjoyed the adult beverage and food specials. The wings (hot & spicy) were very good, the steak & cheese egg rolls were OUTSTANDING! (I was fortunate to wrestle one of them away from the daughter.) The chili nachos were better than average (as far as nachos go), with a bit of a “kick” in the flavor.
The bartenders were quite friendly and very attentive … and the clientele were personable, making us feel like we had known these folks for some time and had planned to meet them there that evening! It is a small enough place where you can mingle and meet in order to share the experience together; a neighborhood bar & grill that we wish was in walking distance of our home over in Maryland.
There were not any football games on at that time, but there are plenty of TVs in the bar area to get a good mix of games and have several in your view from any location. The dining room area is small/cozy, and there is a “tiki-type” set up for outside seating when weather (temperature) permits.
Most certainly we will return to Shooter McGee’s whenever we make the trip over to see the daughter. And I will not be surprised if someone remembers me!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reccenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERIE
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly, loud football sunday”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Felt like I was home, but the teams being cheered are not my local ones!!!!! Knowledgeable server on various beers. Good appetizers. Seems to be a local favorite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shooter McGee's also viewed

 

Been to Shooter McGee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing