We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You could do a lot better for $65” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Relax Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Relax Inn
Save
You added Relax Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You could do a lot better for $65”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Steamy, stinky, fightin, refrigerator was broke. They gave me tape to tape it close. The bathroom was the cleaniest spot in the whole room. The room wasn't that big so that should tell you something. Plus I think they stealing your credit card info.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slopinjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was the scariest, dirtiest, nastiest place I have ever stayed in. Actually we did not really stay in it. We left after about 2 hours after which time our skin was crawling! The bedspread had blood stains on it, the entry door looked like it had been kicked in numerous time, it was splintered and you could see light coming through, the bathroom is indescribable. I asked the owner for another blanket thinking maybe a clean blanket to lay on would suffice and he gave me an old torn up electric blanket with all the wires in it. The truck traffic was horrible and we left there and ended up driving down the road a bit and sleeping in our car. At least that was clean! Never ever again will we try a Relax Inn anywhere!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank April58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I spent four nights here while waiting for an apartment to be ready to move into. Yes, it's an old motel with a lot of deferred-maintenance issues, but it serves its purpose. There were several things in the room that hadn't been repaired for a long time, and the towels and washcloths were certainly of the cheapest quality. But for $60 a night in the DC area, what do you expect? The room was clean, there was room service every day, there was a small fridge and microwave in the room, free wifi (though a bit slow), good air conditioning, quiet at night (even though it seemed to fill up with blue collar workers every night), and I slept well every night there.

The location is pretty good to drive into Old Town Alexandria and convenient to shopping centers just a ways south on the Richmond Highway. It's right at the Beltway, so easy to get to.

The office was a bit of a mess, and not as clean as the room itself. Front desk help not very friendly, but not rude either. There were usually a few people loitering around outside, but no problems with security that I could see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjsalexva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

It's a so-so motel in a so-so location. Bathroom could've been cleaner...they don't check on if you need new washclothes or tissue or towels and carpets could've been cleaner...grafitti in closets and drawers for clothes, etc. were dirty. I'm not against staying here again per se BUT I'd prefer going somewhere else and wouldn't really recommend here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

My boyfriend and I travel a lot with his job, so we stay in a lot of hotels. This one has been the worst. The staff was friendly, but the rooms were awful! There were no locks on the windows, no door on the bathroom, not even a curtain in the bathroom window. The ceiling was cracking and falling apart. The room was relatively clean, but not well maintained. The cost of the room was cheap....it's true...you do get what you pay for, literally!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#16 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn

Property: Relax Inn
Address: 5963 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Relax Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing