We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here for training class with 4 co-workers. We all thought our rooms were nice and liked the location. 10 minute walk to King st with many historical sites along the way. Only complaint was no free wifi in your room. Only available in lobby area.

Green Features: For every day you choose not to have your room cleaned, you received a $5 credit at the restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I was glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our great location in particular the proximity to Old Town and the great shopping and Many restaurants on King Street.
I trust you will visit again when your travels bring you back to Northern Virginia.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    266
    105
    54
    28
See reviews for
210
118
30
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

I selected the Sheraton because of its location near to my daughter's new home. I flew in from California for a week to babysit while my daughter and her husband get the house ready for move in.
The suite I have is perfect. The Sheraton brought me the crib I requested. The room has fridge, microwave and bedroom doors that allow my grandson to nap and I'm in the living room.
The hotel also has free laundry, free breakfast and evening snacks if you are on the 10th floor "suites".
I would definitely stay again. All the staff is friendly and professional.
I booked through hotels.com, but didn't feel they gave me the worst room and service. I'm pleasantly pleased and would recommend this room, with it's sofa bed in living room, large enough for a couple and two children.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcp650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to learn that you are a big fan of the hotel.It is great to have grandma help with moving and I am sure you will visit Old Town Alexandria often and if the daughters home gets too crowded, please come back to see us.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Fantastic lobby, great staff. Nice courtyard to relax in, right outside the lobby.

Elevators a bit small but there are two. We didn't have any problems with wait time or crowded elevators during our stay.

The suite is comfortable. We had a king bed in bedroom and a pull-out couch in the living room. Four big comfy pillows on the bed and two smaller ones in closet. There is also a flat screen telly in the bedroom along with a full-sized dresser and two night stands (each with a lamp).

The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors.

There in the living room area are: a flat screen telly, a coffee maker (and complimentary Starbucks coffee), a safe, a microwave, and a "cooling refrigerator". The cooling refrigerator says it will keep things cool but not cold. We turned it up to the highest setting and it kept our cold foods (produce, drinks) very nicely.

There is a hair dryer in the bathroom. And we liked that the tissue in the tissue box was SOFT and didn't run out too soon. :)

There are many restaurants, a few supermarkets (Trader Joe's and Giant), and a Starbucks within walking distance of the hotel.

We didn't get a chance to try the hotel restaurant but the hotel will give you $5 coupons each morning (except for your last morning) in "green coupons" towards food service if you decline service for your room.

Parking is available on the street in lieu of paying for garage parking. Just be careful of the street signs. Some of the streets only allow two- or three-hour parking in a 24-hour period.

There is a lighted tennis court on the next block behind the hotel. Not sure if it needs reserving.

The waterfront is within walking distance (two or three blocks) and a LOT of other tourist attractions (DC museums, memorials, etc.) are within 10 miles and can be gotten to on the metro trains.

The neighborhood feels safe. We walked it at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good morning Ell D,
thank you for completing a survey on TripAdvisor. I was glad to learn that you are a fan of the hotel and the many amenities we have to offer. Our location is indeed great with the proximity to the Potomac River, easy walking distance to many restaurants and stores including the convenience of a couple grocery stores.
I trust you will visit us again when your travels bring you back to Old Town Alexandria.
Regards,
Alfred J. Matter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for about 3 months. The room is always clean, and the employees are very friendly and helpful. They always work on my request immediately. I remembered I forgot my suite case at their Club Lounge. The worker there found it, and the front desk also called me to pick it up. All my important stuff including my wallet and laptop were all returned untouched. They saved my day. In addition, the hotel manager also likes to spend the time to talk and help the customers. Overall this hotel is the best hotel I visited. I will always go back if I have a project in DC area. Again, I have made my best choice to stay at this hotel.

Jeff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good morning Jeff,
thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. I am glad that you continue to enjoy our property and we are looking forward to your continued support.
It is always nice to hear from a fan of our property and the excellent staff we have.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel was very well-priced and attractive to me when I stayed in Alexandria. It is a fair walk from the heart of town but is located in a quiet area and close to the Potomac. It is a rather compact but cosy hotel. The front desk service was always good and the rooms impeccably clean. The in-room coffee maker came with Starbucks coffee sachets and that was pretty cool. The downside is that I didn't get a good view (it goes with the price I guess) and the bathrooms are showing their age a little. I would still recommend this hotel because it offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDOliveiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for completing a survey on TripAdvisor. I was glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and our residential location in particular. I appreciate that you recognized our excellent Front Desk Staff.
Unfortunately it is not possible to get a great view from all 247 rooms, please contact me for your next visit and I will try my very best to get you a room with a great view.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager
amatter@sheratonalexandria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redstone, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Sheraton Suites hotel was a nice, clean hotel with very friendly employees, especially Ekram. She greeted us each time we returned at night with a warm smile. She was very helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is several blocks away from a main street, so it was quiet at night.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hallway, so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: We typically do not require fresh towels and linens every day and we were rewarded for not asking for daily service. How cool is that?!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acbenesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the excellent service provided by Ekram.
I trust you will stay with us again in the near future when your travels bring you back to old Town Alexandria.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

First let me say - there was no free breakfast as they advertized and parking was convenient - but $28 a day, NO FREE Internet - $12/day - even in the lobby. AND there is no free cancellation of the reservation once you make it! When I talked to the gentleman at the front desk when we checked in he stated "we did not purchase that type of room" - if it was listed, I sure did not see it. Anyway, the room was a suite - TV, couch, microwave, bar sink, small frige, chair, nothing fancy but ok. Double doors leading into the bedroom - king size bed very soft mattress, tv and closet. It was "pretty" but wall paper was peeling in several places. All in all - we enjoyed our stay in spite of the hotel. Maids on our floor were very noisy in the early morning - I had to go out and ask them to be quiet. The breakfast was on special for $13 - which was nothing spectular in the way of a buffet but did include the coffe and juice. Not my first choice in places to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herselfkgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on TripAdvisor. Our lowest available rate is a non-refundable rate that offers savings for people that absolutely know that they will not change their plans. I am sorry that there was some confusion. Our parking rates and internet rates are posted on our website, being in an urban area with very limited street parking it is very customary by all urban hotels to charge for parking.
Please accept my apology for the wall paper condition in your room, I will try to identify the room you were in and look at any needed repairs to the wall paper. I hope you change your mind and take advantage of our great location and great staff when your travels bring you back to Old Town Alexandria.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Property: Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Address: 801 N Saint Asaph St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing