We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would recommend Westin instead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would recommend Westin instead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Alexandria a handful of times and become familiar with the area. The Sheraton is a brief stroll to Old Town and that is a plus. From the moment I checked in my stay was just less than the equivalently priced Westin. My biggest beef with the hotel is the terrible room they call a gym. It happens to share the same space as the pool and hot tub which makes it feel like you are in a steam room. I think there are 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, and 1 recumbent bike in this humid dungeon. No windows and just one tv. I have numerous other personal beefs about Starwood points and perks but I will just summarize to say that I'd pick the Westin if I had the choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Allison,
thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I appreciate the positive rating despite your dissapointment with our gym. Unfortunately once a hotel is built we do not have many options. I hope to have you stay with us again and enjoy the many positive aspects of the hotel.
Regards,
Alfred J. Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    250
    101
    54
    26
See reviews for
202
107
29
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice functional Sheraton. Nothin fancy or flashy, but it gets the job done. Great room lay out. Nicely appointed. It's started to look a little dates in some rooms. The club lounge has gotten much better the last few stays. Ok location, but a bit hidden. No major issues.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCFFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your experience as we always strive to improve on every aspects of the hotel.
I hope you will have another opportunity ti stay with us in the near future.
Regards,
Alfred J. Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice when visiting family in the area and enjoyed both of our stays. The rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. Everybody at the front desk was incredibly helpful and friendly. The only negative was that one of the two elevators was broken both times we stayed here and wait times were long. At one point, we even ran ahead of a group entering the hotel after a long day to make sure we got on the elevator before them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I was glad o hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Regards,
Alfred J. Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The suites are lovely and romantic. Everything is clean and week-appointed, a perfect place to order room service and hang out (comfortable beds, lots of pillows). The staff are incredible helpful and friendly, even helped me put together an impromptu birthday party!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are glad that you were able to relax and "hang out". It is nice to hear that we could assist with your special event. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Bed was comfortable. Room was quiet. Parking and internet were both expensive (a tactic for use on business travelers, who have caps on the room price, but are allowed to claim other incidental charges). One of the elevators was broken, I hope the management response to one of these reviews says it has been fixed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay yet, disappointed that the elevator issue caused you some discomfort during your visit. The elevator company has in fact made the necessary repairs. We hope that you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado, Usa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel was comfortable. Pool is only 3 feet deep for the whole length, but that was good for the little ones. Had asked for connecting rooms but were not able to get them due to a group being there. Restaurant was closed for dinner due to this same group. Ate across the street and had a nice meal. Breakfast was good, especially for a free buffet. Unfortunately, the wait staff seemed upset...perhaps because they felt they wouldn't get a tip????? We left one and always do so even when the buffet is included in price of the room. After all, they put juice and coffee on the table and got milk for the little ones and had to bus the dirty dishes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. Sorry that we weren't able to meet all of your dining needs but, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton on July 12th while visiting colleges in the Washington area. The Sheraton was only a few miles from the city and the airport. We were able to take the hotel shuttle to the airport and then hop on the metro to head into the city. This was a great feature if you don’t want to drive in and out the city. There is also a metro stop about seven blocks from the hotel. However, its not in the best neighborhood.

The hotel was very pleasant. The lobby is nice and the staff was great. They recommended a great steak place around the corner and were very attentive to our needs. The front desk clerk said we can park for free on the street as long as we move our car before 11 am. That wasn’t a problem for us. So we parked for free.

We stayed in a suite and it was nicely appointed. The living room was divided by French doors. However the white paper thin blinds didn’t give much privacy. The coffee maker with the tea/coffee was a great touch. Overall it was good hotel and offered a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadicfemale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Alexandria
#14 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Property: Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Address: 801 N Saint Asaph St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing