We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great value if you're looking to explore the Old Town area. It's walking distance but a little far- a cab ride is about $12. The rooms are very spacious. The staff is very friendly and attentive. My only complaint is the complimentary shuttle never seemed to be in service whenever we wanted to utilize it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments and I am glad you had a nice stay. Our shuttle is often in use and we have many commitments that make it difficult for us to be ready at all times. Thanks for your understanding as we are always happy to arrange for taxi service and point you in the right direction.

Best Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    249
    98
    54
    26
See reviews for
199
105
29
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I live in NYC & go to DC often for fun.

We have stayed in quite a few hotels but this one is in a really cool area.
Alexandria VA has lots of cute shops, food & a waterfront! It's really charming here.
It's only moments away from DC, & you can even take the metro from here!

I recommend this hotel, it's clean & very comfy (the pillows!! :).
And it's a good destination for weekend travelers with kids (like me).

Go see Mt Vernon!!! George & Martha lived there!! Really nice place.

Room Tip: All suites! All good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allybeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I could not have said it any better as we strive to be just what you said, "Always nice." Please come again and we hope to keep up the good work!

Warmest Regards as always. :)

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

* The coffee is normally not free, but if you put the "no housekeeping" tag on your door, you can get a voucher for the hotel cafe, which you can exchange for two free cups of coffee if you have the gumption to just hand that over and dare them to ask you for the fifty cents.

Comfy room, good location, short walk to the transit station at Braddock Rd. There's a CaBi bike share station nearby. It's a short walk to King St or there's a shuttle. I liked it. My dad was upset there was no free HBO or free parking, but this is a nice hotel in the city, not a Motel 6 on the highway somewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments and opinion about the hotel. I am glad you had a nice experience and hope you will visit again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's your basic Sheraton. Nothing too fancy or elaborate, but definitely clean and comfy. I stay here 5-6x a year for work and it's always a great stay. Looks like it was updated a few years ago. My only complaint is that the showers are so powerful that they hurt, and cause wind to make the shower curtain flap around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikelogan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Please let us know when you are here next time so we can look into our water pressure. While the hotel offers all the amenities of a Sheraton we like to point out that our hotel is all-suites so our guests have more room to play. Again, thanks for your feedback and we look forward to having you back very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As our plane broke on the tarmac at DCA. The airline put us up here for the night. it was a great experience everyone at the hotel was very sympathetic to our situation, and we had a great "extra night" in Dc because of the staff.

Room Tip: try to get one facing the river. very pretty. and a quick walk to the water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjfullhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. The Sheraton is a great place for a last minute layover and we often help out stranded travelers. Hopefully your next visit will be with us at the start!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were here for a family reunion. The location was convenient to be able to walk to restaurants and the Metro station. Reasonable price for a very clean and nice hotel. There are also restaurants in the hotel. Each room has a bedroom and sitting area with a small cooler and microwave. Definitely check this out when you are in town!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind words and for staying in Old Town at the Sheraton Suites, where you belong!

Best Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was in town visiting family and was hoping to find a hotel that was conveniently located. This hotel was convenient to Old Town (but may be a bit far to walk for some, there is a shuttle that runs in the evening to King Street) and Reagan National. I picked up a rental car from the airport but returned it before checking out so the airport shuttle (which runs every 30 mins) came in very handy... it picks up at #5 and #9 at the arrivals curbside. Not sure if the shuttle will take you to the King Street Metro station though. If you want to rent a car, there was an enterprise rental counter in the hotel lobby if you need to rent a car to take you out further such as Williamsburg or Mount Vernon.

We had a suite with a king bed and a pull out sofa with a flat screen TV in bedroom and living area. The room also had a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and sink which were all good to have for our stay. The rooms are nice but just be aware that although there is a door between the living/seating area and the bedroom it was a french double door with window and lace-like curtains so you could see if the was light was on in either room. Wasn't too bad but would have preferred a full door so we wouldn't bother each other watching TV or staying up later. Otherwise both beds were comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. We are SPG gold members so we had free wi-fi and it worked well especially since we had a number of devices ... iPhones, iPads, computers, etc. One feature I would have liked to have in the room was a safe, I could have left it in the safe at the front desk but decided to take all my mobile devices with me.

Our package included breakfast buffet which was nothing special but a typical breakfast ... waffles, eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausages, oatmeal, cereal, pancakes, fruit, yogurt ,etc. It was enough for us to start the day with a full stomach.

Depending on what I was planning to do, I would stay here again but getting to the Metro may not be easy. Parking your car is not cheap but it is comparable to other hotels in the area. You can park yourself which was not an option in another Old Town hotel we stayed out a couple of years ago(valet only).

Room Tip: Had room 1001 and was relatively quiet but there was some construction noise from a building site ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments and for sharing the details about the hotel. You will be happy to know the hotel will be adding safes to our rooms very soon. I am glad you had a pleaseant visit and hope to see you again and very often.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Westin Alexandria
#15 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Property: Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing