We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient place but nothing wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Efficient place but nothing wow”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed there for 8 days. First of all the staff were great and friendly and the hotel does aim at pleasing the customer and that's why I couldn't give it less stars.
The suites and furniture and carpet are all in great condition and it is very comfy place. I did not particularly like the location as there are so many other hotels in the Crystal City area which is just 2 miles away.
The cleanness in the hotel is NOT a given... you have to kind of "request" it through complaining... The first two nights my wife complaint that there is so much dust in the room and they do not appear to vacuum at all... Even they did not clean the bathtub..Housekeeping probably passed by the room for 5 minutes just change sheets and towels do a quick wipe on the desk and leave... but when my wife complaint, they really paid attention and the room was very clean afterwards.
Parking is underground and cost $25 a night!! it is not good value unless you get a special deal with the hotel for about half that rate..I did and that did it for me...
The size of the room is not wow... compared with other extended stay concept like Hyatt House or Residence Inn, and there's no kitchen but just a microwave and coffee maker... but overall it was not an annoying experience... I can not complaint because I got an amazing 33% off pre-paid rate through the website which made it an amazing value... for that I would definately recommend, but once you cross $140+ a night then you have so so many options in the DC metro area to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments as we appreciate the opportunity to improve. I want to personally apologize for the cleaning problems you experienced as all of our rooms should be given the same attention every day. We do have a special green program that only calls for replenishment of a few things but if you do not activate this option the entire room should be cleaned each day. I am sorry we let you down but I am glad you brought this to our attention so we could fix this. Our parking fees may seem high but we are very competitive in the area and the underground, secure garage is one of the best in Old Town. Overall I am glad you enjoyed your visit but I would love to have you back again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    281
    112
    58
    31
See reviews for
218
129
31
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
179 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I rated this stay as 'average' for a Sheraton---not comparing it to any other hotel chain. We spent 3 nights here this month. I have come to expect more from Sheraton than slow wifi internet, one elevator operating that takes 15 minutes between arrivals at the lobby floor and inability to raise the temperature in the room when it is cold. The smallish chest of drawers needed to be used with care as when each drawer was pulled out to insert things, it would nearly fall out. There were kids running up and down the hall on either our floor or another above us. All I know is I could here it in the evening until it subsided. These are the principal issues with this property.

The good points: comfy beds, microwave, clean room, frig, two flat screen TVs in room 820, average bathroom amenities, free PCs in the lobby (also with slow internet), a little store where you can purchase things, close proximity to a Giant brand grocery, free boarding pass print out (but to print anything else is going to cost you). Shuttle service from the hotel to King Street in Old Town was fine except for a bit of miscommunication between the front desk and bus driver. Also, transport between airport to the hotel and back was good. Personnel were helpful.

I guess I have come to expect more from a hotel where I need to conduct business.

Room Tip: End room, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback as we truly appreciate guest comments both good and bad. I want to apologize that the hotel was not in the condition we expect as the elevators were tied up quite a bit during a sold out weekend and the young adults were sometimes hard to corral although they were very well behaved. All of our rooms do have thermostats for temperature control and the Wifi speed should be more than enough, however we are always glad to have our maintenance and IT tech's assist when we know about a problem. The chest of drawers are not suppose to be unattached and you can be sure this will be an immediate project for our staff. I am glad there were many other things you enjoyed and would love to have you back so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Best Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We held a family reunion at the Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria over Labor Day weekend. Sales Manager Samantha Moskal worked with us to give our family an affordable rate -- with free parking and a hospitality suite -- in a lovely hotel. The staff is well trained, courteous, efficient and pleasant. The hotel itself is attractive and comfortable. The accommodations and its location made for a very successful reunion. I highly recommend this hotel.

Judy Doyle

Room Tip: All of the rooms are small suites and quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words and for recognizing Samantha and the entire staff. It is truly on honor and a pleasure to be able to work with such a great family.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went there for my Dad's 70 anniversary reunion with his WWII 309th Fighter group. They treated us all with respect and the place itself is totally wonderful. Clean rooms, friendly staff and just a comfortable, beautiful hotel.

If I ever get back to Alexandria I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCHS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are thrilled to hear about your experience and glad we could be of service. Thank you very much for sharing and we truly hope to see you again very soon!!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Management and staff who are professional, and know how to run a hotel!

Three night stay with spouse and wife + plus two older teens in a one bedroom Club Level suite. Room was spotless, with upscale furnishings, nicely decorated. Bed in separate bedroom was very comfortable, and even fold out sofabed was acceptable - though had to move living area chair to access separate bedroom "main door" when sofabed was opened. (Note that double bedroom door is glass panes with curtains) Large desk in living area was nicely placed in front of window in living room - plenty of natural light with large "almost to the floor" windows. Full bathroom was nicely done with marble, good design with one door leading to the bedroom, the other to the living area. The living area had its own TV, a small refrigerator, and bar sink. Again, the entire place was spotlessly clean!

Stayed on the Club Level on the 10th floor - snacks, bottled water and fountain soda / coffee all day. Really good "continental" breakfast (cereals, lots of fresh fruits', yogurts, bagels, muffins) in the morning. Just the bottled water and snacks for my kids saved a few bucks in itself. The "Club Room" is a large sized room on the 9th floor, with the food area, plus a nice lounge for sitting / watching TV, and a computer / printer.

Although the hotel is about six or eight blocks north of the King Street area, looks like an easy walk - though we used the hotel shuttle for drop-off and pickup. Going to DC took about 20 minutes on the Metro - and the Braddock Road station is about a 10 minute walk away. (An all day Metro pass was $ 14 per person.) One evening we drove into downtown DC (Verizon Center area) for dinner - was only a 10 minute trip by car, though parking in DC was around $ 20 after 5 p.m. (Basement self-parking at the Sheraton was included in my room rate package - had in/out privileges, otherwise is $ 22.)

My daughter used the pool and fitness center, said both were good. Restaurant and bar looked very nice, though we didn't use either. Lobby was also very clean and nicely decorated. (Come to think of it, the basement parking garage was spotless as well.)

All staff - from the "Breakfast Lady" in the Club Room; to the hotel Desk Clerks; to the Housekeeping Staff; to the Shuttle Bus Driver - were very friendly and helpful. I think everyone here has "read the Memo" on being professional and friendly.

The only minor quibble was Sheraton's daily $ 10.95 charge for either wireless or wired in-room internet, though guests could use the computer in the Club Room or the ones in the Lobby. (Or like us, use a smartphone.) But come on Sheraton, every "B-List Hotel" like Quality Inns or Travelodges' now offers free wireless internet.

Nonetheless - a great hotel. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Club Level Packages - can save a bundle on breakfast, drinks, and snacks when you have a 16 and 18 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LIGINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Wow, thanks so much for your feedback and the pleasant details about your stay. You pretty much touched on everything and while we do get some feedback about the internet fees this area still does provide the service for a fee where many suburban hotels do not. It is never our intention to overcharge and the nominal fee generally covers the basic maintenance and upkeep for the equipment. Technology is moving so fast I am sure this will change in a flash. Thanks again for telling our future guests about your experience and please do come again!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a must stay hotel if in the DC area. You can park your car in the garage and their van will take you to the Metro Station and pick you up when you return. They make you feel wanted and do all that they can to make you feel wanted. It is advised to upgrade to the "CLUB" level as they provide 24 hour snacks, drinks and a breakfast every day that changes every morning. The beds are to die for and you sleep so well you would think you were on a cloud.

Room Tip: Up grade to the "Club" level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks so much for this important feedback. We want all of our guests to know how nice it is to stay with us and also about our Club Lounge which is a great value especially for families. Please do come back and thanks again for your comments!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here three nights on business - friendly staff, good large rooms and a really good location. Try T J Stones bar and restaurant just round the corner. I strongly recommend this hotel. Plenty of free newspapers and good taxi pick up service for both Reagan and Dulles airports.

Room Tip: All room locations seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
I could not have said it better and thanks so much for staying with us. Business or Leisure we agree this location, value and spacious suites cannot be beat. We hope to see you again real soon.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Property: Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Address: 801 N Saint Asaph St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing